We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Former colleagues reunited” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Former colleagues reunited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I visited the restaurant with four of my former colleagues. We usually meet every few months and try different restaurants and hotels. We enjoyed the pre-theatre menu. The starters we chose were either melon or soup; main beef stroganoff or risotto; desserts were icecream and cheesecake. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal with clean plates all round. The service was excellent and the staff are to be complemented. As we all live locally, we didn't need to use the hotel facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful evening within the Torrance hotel, I have passed on your comments to all of our restaurant staff.

We look forward to welcoming yourself and former work colleagues back to the hotel in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    109
    76
    47
    50
See reviews for
148
145
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LANARKSHIRE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Myself and 2 friends had dinner here on Thursday 12th June. Its the first time Ive been in, since refurbishment, and I have to say place is looking fab, very modern and chic. Sadly the Quiz Night wasn't on due to the football, however , the dinner was lovely, and I have to pass comment on the very pleasant, helpful, and professional staff working that night, ( Jonathon, Mark & Heather, -think that was names) , excellent customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDISTRUTHERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely evening within the Torrance hotel and enjoyed your meal. I will pass on your comments and thanks to the staff who served your table on that evening.
we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is one you will be impressed with. many new upgrades, which include new bathrooms, beds and decor. Has everything including a great meeting area for business and family gathering. You'll be impressed with the high celilig and very big rooms. Super clean and large TV,closet and beds. They offer professional service and good food. Everything in one place for business or family travel. A Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidetracked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay with us in the Torrance hotel.
we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel within the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ate there last night with a party of nine. We have eaten here before and had a great time. Sadly last night was not to the same standard, service was poor and the meals can only be described as average pub grub. They were obviously short staffed and more concerned in the wedding function upstairs. It will be a while before I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly many thanks for taking time to write a review following your visit to the Torrance Hotel. We always welcome feedback whether it be positive or negative to allow us to continue to raise our standards.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit particulary relating to the service you received, we can confirm that we were extremely busy on the night in particular, however our staff members are trained to ensure that the level of service they give is to the same standards at all time whether we are busy or not (however things may take that little bit longer). Separate staff is brought in for the wedding in the Function Suite therefore this would not have any impact to the number of staff serving in the restaurant.

We are very surprised to hear your comments re the food describing it as "average pub grub' as we have a large range of dishes which you would expect to find on an 'a la carte menu' and the feedback we receive from customers is always very positive. However, as every dish is cooked fresh to order this is likely to cause a delay in the time it takes to prepare your meal particularly if we was busy that evening.

We hope that you are not put off revisiting the Torrance Hotel again in the near future particularly due to all the pervious good experiences you have had. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Normally I'm a "hotel is just place to sleep" kind of person, so tend to go for cheap, cheerful & safe. I chose The Torrance due to the location to a friend I was visiting & the train station, and was not disappointed in having to spend more than I normally would. My room was amazing and the staff were really friendly. They didn't even mind me asking for changes to the breakfast selection. What would I change? I ate in the bar rather than in the restaurant so perhaps a couple more vegetarian options on the bar menu wouldn't go amiss but other than that I loved it & would definitely stay here again. I stayed a week, and my last night was a bit noisy until 3am but there were 2 hen parties that night & so not really the hotel's fault. It definitely would not put me off staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20oodanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and the staff met your needs.
We always appreciate our customers feedback as it helps us to improve our service within the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Torrance hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Decided to go back after our original "teething problems" review, only to find some of them have not been ironed out. We opted for just main courses and the helpful waitress informed us that as we were having steak and a burger this could take around 20 / 30 mins, this was okay with us as we were happy catching up. However, the 20 / 30 mins soon became 45/50 mins then another member to the waiting staff came and explained the kitchen had a problem with the ticket machine and were not receiving orders, it took approx another 10/15 mins for food to arrive at our table, once it arrived it was okay, the burger was a tad on the dry side, the fish and chips had too much batter on the fish, but perhaps I am just being picky. All in all for a local hotel restaurant it was okay, as our meals arrived late however the wedding in the function had started their festivities and all we could hear was the loud bass from the band/DJ and people stamping their feet dancing, could be a little off putting if you were having a romantic dinner, we headed to the bar for a night cap and found that the weekly quiz was taking place. Overall, we would go back again and give it another try and hopefully there would be no problems with ticket machines

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjip_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review below, following your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel.

Firstly we would like to apologise regarding the waiting time that you incurred on your visit. The waiting staff were correct to inform you of the waiting time for your order which included a steak and homemade burger, however as explained on the night, we confirmed that we encountered some technical difficulties with the printer in the kitchen. The waiting staff did not pick up that the orders were not going through to the kitchen printer until they realised tables were waiting longer than normal for their order. Once this issue was noticed, the staff and chefs acted in a quick and efficient manner to try reduce the waiting time as much as practicable. Our Restaurant Manager, at the time also visited each and every table to explain the issue that we encountered.

Following review of this issue, we have now implemented measures to ensure that the same issue doesn’t happen again. We hope that this doesn’t deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for our anniversary and the room was beautiful. Spacious, well decorated and had a spa bath which was awesome. Tv in the bathroom which looked like a mirror was pretty cool as well. Reception staff were all really nice and friendly.
Had dinner in the restaurant which was really nice. There was a hair on my plate but when I said to Will who was our waiter, it was took away and a full new dinner made really quickly. The manager came over and apologised which was nice and we ended up with two free drinks. All the restaurant staff were again very nice and helpful. We went into the bar for drinks after dinner and it was really busy. Wasn't too much problem getting served though and the staff seemed to handle the queues well. Properly mixed cocktails were a nice bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review and your kind words. I'm pleased to hear that Will managed to sort the issue out quickly and that you were able to enjoy your evening.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Torrance Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
4.9 mi away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
11.9 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Property: Torrance Hotel
Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing