We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Torrance Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bruce Hotel(East Kilbride)
$83
$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Busby Hotel(Clarkston)
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redhurst Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$76
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
362
150
108
64
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
362
150
108
64
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitecocktail masterclassjacuzzi bathgreat nightfood was lovelytwo coursesbirthday partylovely hotelwedding receptionfrom start to finishwaiting stafffunction roomwedding venuesouptribute nightcooked breakfastconservatory
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 753 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on business in a King Room. From the outset the staff were warm and welcoming with a wonderful "can do" attitude. Nothing was too much trouble, quite rare these days.

The hotel has obviously undergone a very extensive refurbishment programme, very Malmaisonesq. The rooms were beautifully presented, modern with quality fittings and whilst quite small the bathroom was stunning....only downside were the towels were also small!

I ordered from the pre-theatre menu and had room service with no additional cost, another plus! The chicken liver parfait was probably one if the best I have ever eaten, not sure if they make it or buy it in, but delicious, for main I had liver with mash and onion gravy, cooked beautifully and delicious.

I would not hesitate staying at The Torrance again. Well done for getting it right!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments on our lovely hotel we are pleased your stay was so good.
Our food is all freshly cooked inhouse and I will pass your comments to the chef and to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I visited the Torrance bar on Saturday night with my friend for a drink. It was very busy and we could not find a seat straight away. We ended joining another table as they allowed us to sit at the end of there table. A table next to them became vacant and they offered it to us. We sat there a good half hour, when a waiter approached us to state the table was reserved and has been since 7pm. It was 8.45 at this point and no reserved sign was visible. He was very obnoxious in his attitude towards us. When I asked where the reserved sign was he poked about the menu and came up with a piece of paper stating reserved and advised someone must have put it there. He then stood over us with his cleaning materials waiting for us to move. I then complained to another member of staff who advised you are able to call during the week and pay to reserve a table. I have never heard anything so crazy in all my life, its a bar. I will never frequent this establishment again and will make sure as many of my friends and family are aware of how this Hotel treats its customers.

Room Tip: Do not bother, choose somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your review.

We have investigated your comments following your visit to the Torrance Bar and would like to comment as follows; every week within the bar there are a number of guest who reserve tables for a particular time, however on various occasions we will have customers who will remove the ‘Reserved’ sign and sit at the table . However as these areas have been reserved by guests we do generally have to ask the customers sitting on the table to relocate to another area within the bar. We apologise if you feel that the attitude of the member of staff was not to your liking, however staff do usually have to wait until the customer moves so we can get the table/area cleaned as quickly as possible to ensure its ready for customers who have already prebooked the table/area.

The deposit that we take from guests is to book an area/table within the bar on a Saturday night for parties as this is the busiest night we have and can’t allow areas to be closed off all evening without the customers deciding then not to show. The deposit ensures that the area will be utilised and when the customer arrives they are refunded their deposit that they have paid prior.

We are very sorry if you feel you had a bad experience. However, should you wish to return in the future please call us and we can pre book you an area/table within our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel within the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have been to the Torrance hotel and drank in the bar on several occasions. This is the first time I have been treated in such an unpleasant manner. My friend and I decided to have a drink in the Bar on Saturday evening. When we arrived we shared a table with a group of people. Within 20 mins a couple had decided to leave and asked if we wanted the table next to where we were sitting. Fantastic!!! we thought...after sitting down for more than half an hour. A rather unpleasant waiter came up to our table and abruptly said you will need to move as this table has been reserved at 7pm. (at this point the time was 8:50pm) we advised the rather irate waiter that there was no reserve sign. He then proceeded to go to the back of the menu and produced a reserve sign. (he looked at us in disgust assuming that we had put in there). He then proceeded to stand over us with his cleaning product waiting on us to move. I have never came across such an obnoxiuos attitude within the service industry. We left the bar totally disgusted after spending our money and time!! WILL NEVER BE BACK!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear guest thank you for your review.

We have investigated your comments following your visit to the Torrance Bar and would like to comment as follows; every week within the bar there are a number of guest who reserve tables for a particular time, however on various occasions we will have customers who will remove the ‘Reserved’ sign and sit at the table . However as these areas have been reserved by guests we do generally have to ask the customers sitting on the table to relocate to another area within the bar. We apologise if you feel that the attitude of the member of staff was not to your liking, however staff do usually have to wait until the customer moves so we can get the table/area cleaned as quickly as possible to ensure its ready for customers who have already prebooked the table/area.

The deposit that we take from guests is to book an area/table within the bar on a Saturday night for parties as this is the busiest night we have and can’t allow areas to be closed off all evening without the customers deciding then not to show. The deposit ensures that the area will be utilised and when the customer arrives they are refunded their deposit that they have paid prior.

We are very sorry if you feel you had a bad experience. However, should you wish to return in the future please call us and we can pre book you an area/table within our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel within the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Visited for lunch for husband,s birthday first visit and will certainly return Jordan was our waiter and he was a very pleasant young man good menu choice as my husband is on gluten free diet he had home made soup and a lovely chicken risotto two courses for 10pds 99p nice decor and a outside area would go back when weather warmer to sit out

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jinty478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments which I will pass on. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Went for a lunch for chas birthday, happy happy, do a great 3 courses. For 13 pounds, Very tasty well worth a visit ,food was good,service Was a bit slow or wear we in a hurry. And it seemed slow not sure, but would return overall all good,

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen E, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments we are glad you had a nice lunch and will return.
Our food is all freshly prepared and makes for a leisurely lunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews