We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch meal”
Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lunch meal”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went here for a bar meal when our son was over from abroad at Xmas. My wife and I got fish and chips and after one bite both of us realised it was cooked form frozen. My son got a burger which he also said tasted like it was cooked from frozen. The place was pretty nice but the food alas very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I apologise that you did not enjoy our dining experience in our bar, we pride ourselves on our service and food here at the hotel and as such I was distressed to read your review. All of our produce is sourced locally and served fresh.

I have highlighted the feedback to our kitchen Team and have addressed any issues as a matter of urgency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    121
    86
    54
    55
See reviews for
167
164
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here on boxing night with my husband,our room was stunning,bathroom was out this world,big sunken Jacuzzi bath with tv on wall great wen soaking in the tub.staff so friendly and helpful,breakfast was great apart from the square sausage was disappointing.....great value would recommend to try ....will be back thanks to the Torrance hotel :)

Room Tip: ask for room 8 its stunning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjaclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor, the team here at the hotel work hard to ensure that every guest’s expectations is met and where possible exceeded. I have passed your feedback regarding the square sausage to our head chef.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel & hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great location, Great Venue, Great Meal and would recommend a visit anytime.

We all Had a lovely day at the Torrance on Christmas Day. The food was fantastic (well done to the Chef and his team for the hard work and preparation and for giving up their Christmas day for others) The Venue is very welcoming and the owners and their team of staff should be very proud of what the've brought to East Kilbride. Thank you from all of us for the hard work and effort you and your staff put in to making Christmas Special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrybumpkin060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review regarding your experience here at Christmas, we were delighted to be part of your festive celebration this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Torrance hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We got married here in October this year. The wedding coordinator Louize was fantastic throughout the planning & booking so we were really excited about our big day.
Few problems with rooms for guests ... reception dont seem to communicate with anyone else so our guests were being told the hotel was fully booked, reception staff rude & unhelpful & guests all told different prices despite us agreeing a price for rooms with Louize. It was really embarassing & frustrating resulting in many guests booking hotels elsewhere in East Kilbride. Eventually Louize sorted the situation a few days before our wedding.
The day itself went really well, apart from Louize being off so we had to explain everything to the duty manager ... should the wedding coordinator not be there on the day?
Anyway we had a fantastic day, few hitches ... no butter, salt or pepper on top table, centrepieces not done as asked, bride & groom name cards missing so someone wrote on some blank place cards & gifts for top table all piled into one bag so was difficult to get gifts out during speeches.
Anyway we had a great day and the staff couldnt have been more helpful. Room used for drinks while main room turnaround was too hot ... really should have turned heating off while room had so many people in it.
The problems didnt start till the next day when we tried to get our stuff back ... I had read reviews on here about wedding cakes & favours being thrown out so made a point of asking for everything back the next morning as we were checking out. I thought I was given everything until the following day when I had a chance to go through the box ... top tables favours missing, ribbons, boxes & extra favours missing ... favours included malt whiskey miniatures, jeigermeister miniatures & chocolates shipped over from Arran. When we contacted Louize she was clueless ... no one could find the favours and other bits which had been cleared off top table and the extra favour boxes etc all gone! We were told on the day everything from the tables would be kept for us as they wanted us all out the room quickly for the night time turnaround. This never happened though so many of us have no momemtos from the wedding :(
After a fight Louize agreed to compensate us with some miniatures and apparently we will receive an overnight stay for our 1 year anniversary ... will see if this happens next October.
I wouldnt say dont use The Torrance as we did have a wonderful day but I wouldnt recommend it either ... Louize was helpful until she was in the wrong & would become very argumentative & defensive. She believed nothing was her fault despite her being in charge of organising everything. No one would accept any blame and reception staff need more training on communicating with each other & manners.
Such a beautiful venue with a huge amount of potential.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank michybbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your wedding here at the Hotel. We are delighted we could be part of your wedding & glad you enjoyed your day.

We apologise regarding the feedback with your missing wedding items. Unfortunately the hotel cannot be responsible for personal items & we were happy to source and find as many of the left items mentioned as possible from our honeymoon suite and function room.

Once again I am delighted you enjoyed your day and hope we can welcome you back here at the Torrance hotel on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Thank You Torrance staff for your time and attention when I visited with a group of 14 seniors recently for dinner before visiting the nearby theatre to see 'The Steamie'
Staff were happy to grant my request to honour the reduced fish tea price despite the fact we arrived outwith the specified time frame. We enjoyed our visit and would definitely return when we next visit the Village Theatre in East Kilbride.
The price of the food was reasonable, tasted fantastic and the complementary jugs of water was very much appreciated.
We will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aweebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor, we are delighted you took advantage of our special offer menu; we will continue to offer these special menus throughout the year and hope that you will use the Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at The Torrance as part if a large family group. The room was very comfortable and a good size. We requested an additional single bed for our son who was sharing the room with us. This worked very well and the room was easily big enough for this. The furnishings were very nice - a very contemporary feel to the room. The bathroom was lovely.

We also had a big family meal while at the hotel. 24 of us had an evening meal in the hotel's conservatory and the standard of the food was very good. The staff were all great - and didn't mind that we were still at the table at midnight - very accommodating. We had breakfast in the conservatory the next morning - so someone was working hard to reset everything for us in the time in between.

Thanks Torrance - very good indeed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor, the team here at the hotel work hard to ensure that every guest’s expectations is met and where possible exceeded.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel & hope to welcome you back at the Torrance hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Just back from The Torrance after a lovely lunch with the family, really nice and plentiful food and very smart and attentive staff. Great value and a gem in EK, looking forward to visiting again for an evening meal. Oh, and decent background music too, pretty rare!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cleggmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawn F, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted to contribute to the local community here in East Kilbride. Our staff pride themselves on exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming here at the Torrance Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
605 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
679 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Property: Torrance Hotel
Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing