We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and gloomy”
Review of Torrance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torrance Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dated and gloomy”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Although the restaurant and bar have been refurnished half of the rooms are not, I new this was the case when booking so specifically asked for a new room which I was assured I would get only to find this was not the case and I was in an older room which was dark and gloomy, tatty and dated the corridor leading to my room had areas of carpet missing and wooden planks in its place very unsatisfactory, I actually felt like I was staying in a completely deferent hotel'

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B23z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

As you stated in your review we have advertised the rooms as being in the middle of refurbishment and the rate that you paid reflected this.

All our rooms are being refurbished on the 29th April to the same high standard of the rest of the hotel.

Many thanks for your positive comments regarding the standard of the rest of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Torrance Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    123
    90
    57
    56
See reviews for
169
174
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Torrance. 3 adults and 2 children under 3yrs. The staff were amazing. Kevin the breakfast waiter and the receptionist were helpful, friendly and lovely. The room was massive and we were offered fresh towels and sheets every day. The staff were lovely with the kids. The receptionist gave me a tour of the honeymoon suite which made me want to get married again. We had a lovely get together in the bar for the quiz and it was great fun. Can't recommend The Torrance enough. AMAZING!!

Room Tip: If you want a treat, the honeymoon suite is well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rexy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and many thanks for such a positive review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Honeymoon Spa at the Torrance Hotel on Saturday 16th March. It is 5* luxury. The bedroom area is downstairs with a large TV at the end of the bed, then up the spiral staircase there is another room which includes a sunken Jacuzzi, flat screen TV, sauna, steam room with shower. Even the mood lighting is remote controlled.

After we spend the afternoon in our private Spa we ate in the Conservatory area, I had salmon and my husband had fillet steak, the staff were very friendly and attentive, the food was piping hot and very tasty.

After dinner we made our way in to the bar area where we enjoyed listening to the resident DJ.

We had a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed with lovely feather and down duvet and pillows.

A full cooked breakfast for my husband and tailored veggie breakfast for me was the cherry on the cake to a very very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

stayed Easter Sunday having never stayed in this hotel. check in was quick, room was very clean though due to be refurbished. Had no hot water but when spoke with reception it was rectified immediately, so helpful even visiting the room to make sure it was fixed. great nights sleep. Dinner from the 'set menu' had lots of choices for 1 'fussy' eater! Waiting staff so friendly! Food great. Breakfast was a beautiful full Scottish, lovely and fresh, poached eggs no problem! Very central and new decor was beautiful. We attended the Soul night, excellent. would defo recommend this. DJ Stevie Lennon was on great form, would visit again if in the area many thanks. The manager was very helpful and hands on. Function room was gorgeous, with underfloor lights on the dance floor, Beautiful

Room Tip: apparently there is a fantastic honeymoon suite with all the luxury touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waiting4God
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and my daughter had a booking for 3 nights recently and found our visit very pleasant. The staff were friendly and approachable. Kevin the general assistant who served us breakfast every morning, was one of the nicest people you could ever meet. Nothing was too much effort and he went out of his way to make sure we were well looked after. The food in the restaurant was first class and the prices were very reasonable. Our flight out on the last day was very early and the night porter ensured we were made a hot drink and some breakfast before we left, again an example of great service.
The only criticism we have is that the room we stayed in did not have suitable sound proofing. We could hear the guest above who was very noisy when walking up and down. We appreciate that the rooms are due to be refurbished over the next year and we would not hesitate to stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room number 8 due to noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joycep894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a brilliant night at the Torrance Hotel. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced. It was a bit slow in coming out but there were loads of people there so that was maybe expected. Perhaps the management could take food orders before people arrive so they are prepared. Décor was lovely and the ladies toilets were to die for with plenty of space for your handbag. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Gael (the party girl) had a great night and we couldn't have wished for more. I would have given it 5 stars if not for the waiting for food. The Korean Lionel was great too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deacon_Brodie1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review .

Many thanks for your fantastic review and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Torrance Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross,

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was in the restaurant last night for a 70th birthday meal. In total there were 12 of us and we were eating from the the 3 course £21-95 set menu. The food itself I found very nice. I had the haggis, neeps and tatties in a filo basket and the only complaint was that the haggis was a bit on the cool side but it was very tasty. Main course was a medium cooked steak and it was cooked perfectly for me. Desert was sticky toffee pudding and it was really nice. The complaints were regarding the length of time it took to serve each course. We were advised on arrival that there would be a slightly longer than normal wait for being served due to the number of large sittings. Slightly longer than normal was a gross understatement!! We waited almost 20 minutes to be served our main course. Now in my opinion, if you know you are going to have a large number of sittings, you bring in the staff to accommodate that. The waiting staff were fantastic and I couldn't fault them but they needed more staff in the kitchen. A well run restaurant wouldn't have this problem

Overall, the food was nice but it wasn't worth the money. I can think of other restaurants that would've gave you nicer food and you would've had more for your money. This is a overpriced restaurant and I won't be back. It does look fantastic after its refurbishment though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Cameron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrie R, General Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Here at the Torrance Hotel we pride ourselves on producing a high standard service and quality of food and at busy times such as a Saturday night we feel that 20 minutes wait for a main course is not excessive.

Regarding the cost of the food we are very competitive in the local market and £21.95 for the 3 course menu that you chose was a group menu based on 10 people or more and the dishes contained on this menu are our highest priced starters and mains. However I would like to confirm at the time of booking you were offered a choice of 3 group menus with the cheapest starting at just£14.95 per person.

Many thanks for the positive comments regarding the quality of the food you said you received on the night.

We thank for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Torrance Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Garrie Ross

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
623 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
683 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Property: Torrance Hotel
Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing