We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Kilbride
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Craighall B&B
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for a night, and then came back on our return trip before flying back to australia. A great place to stay. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom is also a good size. There was a good breakfast selection and it was cooked to perfection. Heaps of easy parking and close to sight seeing places. The little extras just made our stay more welcoming. Laura had the kettle boiled for when we arrived and nothing was to much trouble (even offered to post some items for us free of charge). Would definetly recommend this bed and breakfast to fellow travelers.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A thoughtfully converted farmhouse set within a beautiful garden of mature trees, expansive lawns and topiary hedge. Pretty countryside yet easily accessible to Glasgow- our hosts offered to run us into the local station (20 mins into Glasgow)
Laura and Richeys' hospitality could not have been warmer, nothing seemed to be too much trouble,our hosts insisted on driving us, some distance, to a wedding reception we were attending. A great breakfast, offered at a time to suit us,-after a late night, we opted for 10am!
We were reluctant to leave their delightful spaniel, the horses, and the cat,-a stray that had obviously recognised the exceptional hospitality on offer, and had moved in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Speldings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've spent a lot of nights staying in B&B's in and around Glasgow/Lanarkshire in the last year and this was definitely my best experience - after staying at South Craighall last week I'm annoyed with myself that I hadn't stayed here earlier!. The accommodation is first class, furnished to a high standard - extremely comfortable and relaxing (its a rural setting so nice and quiet) with some really nice well thought out touches (Molton Brown soaps etc) and possibly the best shower ever. Really friendly family and such a warm welcome- a real find - tremendous value too. Laura's cooking is outstanding and the garden is extensive and well kept - such a pleasant way to spend a summers evening. Easy access to the M77 and Glasgow City Centre 20 mins or so away. If only all B&B's in Scotland were to this standard......

Room Tip: the rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you ever want a real home from home feel, this is the place for you. It's idyllic, picture postcard pretty, with all the comfort of 5* luxury. Couldn't believe we had stumbled upon such a treat! The accommodation is top of the range and the grounds would make Alan Titchmarsh proud. Wonderful warm and friendly stopover at an incredible price. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWilson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was motorcycling through Scotland last week (May 10th) and booked an overnight bed and breakfast stay with Laura in her renovated cottage in East Kilbride. What a job she has done. It is 5 star throughout and the location is superb. The grounds are a gardeners paradise and with Josie the family spaniel always around you will never feel lonely.

Laura is a wonderful hostess and definitely prefers the finer things in life. This is reflected throughout her home from the exquisite kitchen where guests dine to the underfloor heating and top notch decor throught the rooms which would not look out of place pictured in any interior design magazine.

However there is one downside - Laura doesn't know how to make a small breakfast. So if you enjoy a hearty Scottish fry then South Craighall is for you. Having stayed in many bed and breakfasts throughout Europe I can safely say that this is one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyMac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
2.7 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Nerston Toll) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Craighall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Craighall B&B

Property: South Craighall B&B
Address: Jackton Road | East Kilbride, East Kilbride G75 8RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Craighall is a farmhouse built in 1750 and recently refurbished. We have two lovely bedrooms, a double and a twin with their own private bathroom.We are close to East Kilbride and are only 7 miles from Glasgow's City Centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Craighall B&B East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing