We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patched up Windows” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Patched up Windows”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Bruce hotel for five days, and i have to say i wasn't impressed with the service nor the quality of the rooms. First thing that struck myself was the windows. They'd sealed the windows with Newspaper cuttings covered with masking tape. I can't understand the logic of this. Was it some ill fated idea to plaster tha anals of local history over our hotel room, was it that they had run out of money, or did they not care of the presentation of the room, i siding toward the latter. And to top it off i couldn't even open the damned window..

The manger checked the room out, saying that the window would need to be replaced. Sound logic he had there! If he had known, and lets face it i think he did. that the window needed replacing then they should've shut that room down, until they had fixed the windows, and redecorated the room: wallpaper was peeling, and torn from the walls. this is my problem with this hotel, they knew the room was unsuitable for use by anyone, especially for someone who has disabilities, and numerous health complaints, such as myself. But yet they flat out refused to move us to a more suitable room: suitable being clean, and presentable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    87
    73
    51
    50
See reviews for
75
99
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visiting East Kilbride and new of the Bruce Hotel with its central location within the town so thought I would give it a go.
I was not disappointed.
I had organised to stay at the hotel for 3 nights, arriving on the Friday.
On arrival, the staff at reception were very welcoming and getting all my details confirmed as quickly as possible so I could get to my room. The room I had was everything I needed it to be, clean supplied with refreshments and TV.
And value for money.
Lovely restaurant and function suite which had entertainment on while I was there.
As in some previous feedback, it was visible to see that all members of staff were happy to assist with any concerns or information I required.
Overall, would I stay at the Bruce Hotel again? Yes I would.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraemeS778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the hotel itself. We are constantly striveing to perfect a better product for our customers and feedback such as yours proves invaluable in this respect.

Many thanks once again

Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday to sunday break booked through David Urquhart travel and have to commend them for finding this up and coming hotel. Though our room was a little dusty it was comfortable and everything else was excellent. The owner is one of the most hands on we have ever met and reception , lounge and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. Best food we have had in long time. Would recommend to anyone wanting a wee weekend break, we are planning to visit again, a tribute night which looks good value perhaps.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us you thoughts on the hotel and staff alike
It is only through taking objective criticism and praise on board that we can hopefully perfect our product which will benefit both customers and staff.

Once again many thanks

Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 5 days at this Hotel. On arrival we were met by Jim McCann, the Manager, This was the start of a wonderful experience - given our room number, we went off to find it, and what a pleasant surprise! The room was large, and I do mean large, with a king-size bed which was made up and presented as only a professional could do. There was also a 2-seat sofa and an armchair in the room. OK, the bathroom was not large, but certainly more than adequate, and both rooms were spotlessly clean. At dinner that evening we were welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine, and enjoyed an excellent and well-presented meal. The standard continued for the rest of our stay, and on our final night we returned to our room after dinner to find a gift of an orchid had been placed on the dressing table. All of the ladies in our party received either a rose or an orchid, and all agreed that it was a lovely touch at the end of our holiday. All of the staff that we came into contact with were pleasant, cheerful and willing to help - we couldn't fault them in any way. We rate this as one of the best Hotels we have stayed in, and would recommend it to anyone. On our departure Mr McCann came on to the coach to thank us for staying there and to say he hoped to see us again in the future, and he most certainly will if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: We were 2nd floor, front (210).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevorsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I would just like to thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments regarding both the hotel and the staff at the Bruce. We have recently undergone a refurbishment which is still ongoing and it is very fufilling for both the owners and the staff alike to receive your input both on the refurbishment and training to date.I trust we will have the pleasure of another visit in the near future.


Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

a few days i will always remember. My stay at the Bruce Hotel was the best Hotel I have stayed in. Many thanks to all the staff who worked so hard as nothing was too much trouble the food was excellent.The hotel is near a shoping centre if shopping is your thing. Good entertainment in the club downstairs and bar prices are cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our efforts here at the Bruce and are glad that you enjoyed our refurbished facilities as well as the high level of service which we aim to deliver at all times.

Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

my husband and i stayed for 5days and had the best service we could have wished for the management and staff were first class . The meals were very good and plenty of choice could not fault them the rooms very clean and we stayed in a newly refurbished room on the first floor done to a very good standard we would have no problem recommending to our friends thanks to the bruce hotel and david urquart travel we had a smashing break

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our rooms have been upgraded and work is in progress for the remainder. We do pride ourselves on first class customer service and we also have an excellent team of chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Bruce' in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Bruce. All staff were very pleasant and the food was lovely. Added bonus was the Night Club in the cellar. Many thanks to Mr Douglas Douglas (he was so good they named him twice) for the warm hospitality shown to us all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments.We are committed to delivering the highest standards of service and food and are delighted to hear that we have succeeded in these aims during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once again in the not too distant future.

Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
0.5 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Peel Park) Hotel
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Property: Bruce Hotel
Address: 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bruce Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please allow us some time to bring the old lady back to its Halcyon days. We are making our way round the hotel & night club and re furbishing as we go .Reception has been totaly changes. We have re instated a new restaurant GUY`s on the first floor with some amazing house specials. Our Grand ball room has also had a face lift as is the conference suites.Please try our new SKYE Lounge & Club perfect to party thr night away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing