We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

my husband and i stayed for 5days and had the best service we could have wished for the management and staff were first class . The meals were very good and plenty of choice could not fault them the rooms very clean and we stayed in a newly refurbished room on the first floor done to a very good standard we would have no problem recommending to our friends thanks to the bruce hotel and david urquart travel we had a smashing break

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our rooms have been upgraded and work is in progress for the remainder. We do pride ourselves on first class customer service and we also have an excellent team of chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Bruce' in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    78
    55
    54
See reviews for
79
108
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Bruce. All staff were very pleasant and the food was lovely. Added bonus was the Night Club in the cellar. Many thanks to Mr Douglas Douglas (he was so good they named him twice) for the warm hospitality shown to us all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments.We are committed to delivering the highest standards of service and food and are delighted to hear that we have succeeded in these aims during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once again in the not too distant future.

Jim McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

just back from a coach tour with david urguhart to the bruce hotel ,what a great hotel,you were made to feel welcome from walking in to going out ,northing was to much trouble .staff very friendly and helpfull,rooms clean and comfortable,food was great..Douglas was a great host and made us very welcome and gave us some great laughs ,they all put themselfs out to make our stay a good one.IWOULD highly recommend this great hotel,and cant wait to go back .thank you for a great stay .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulaw485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Hope to see you stay with us again the next time you are in Scotland. Many Thanks Douglas Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I can't say a bad word about how we were treated at this hotel, staff were warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, food good and good selection, rooms very clean and presentable.
Was made to feel welcome from stepping in the building, would not hesitate to stay here again, exceptional value for money.
Thank you again for making our trip to scotland one that will be remembered for a long time and for the right reasons.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306 on the 3rd floor, was a twin room and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you to everyone for your wonderful reviews. We are striving to make the Bruce Hotel the best it can be.However we can`t do this without your help & reviews. Anything you may need to make your stay more comfortable & enjoyable my Staff & myself will try our very best to satisfy your requirements.Thank you once again to our new & exicting customer base in helping us make the Bruce hotel the wonderful experience it is. Many Thanks Douglas Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ignore bad reviews on this hotel. Just back from coach tour and this hotel was perfect. Staff friendly &helpful. Good choice at breakfast &evening meal.Rooms spacious and clean.The owner Douglas is a really nice guy & made us all feel very much at home.Well Done The Buce Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floppytwogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas D, Owner at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so very much for your great review. We are trying so very hard to make the Bruce Hotel something different and your kind and helpful reviews help us in our quest to succeed. Many Thanks Douglas Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from a five day holiday with David Urquhart travel. Hotel room decoration and cleanliness was very high standard. Evening meal very good with plenty of choice. Something to suit everyone. There was one night there was nothing I liked but I was offered an alternative of my choice. The staff could not do enough for you. The buffet breakfast was excellent again with plenty of choice. Although there was no entertainment advertised this was put on for two of the four nights we were there. It's was the first time they have had a coach tour stay and although it was a learning curve for them, they handled it exceptionally well. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back. We stayed in room 112. The only reason i have not scored the swimming pool and fitness centre is we didn't use them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bruce Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks Anne for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The hotel has recently changed ownership and is undergoing a refurbishent programme, I'm pleased that you like what we've done this far.. I also appreciate your comments regarding the staff as excellent customer service is always our primary focus.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here for 3 nights and it was the worst 3 nights of our lives. The hotel is a death trap and a serious Health and Safety problem. We stayed in a room on the 1st floor and were directly above a nightclub which went on till 3am, then they spilled outside and were fighting. The room was £50 per night per couple, it wasnt worth £5, it was grubby, the bed sheets were stained, toilet seat cracked,hole in the wall in bathroom and can see the plumbing, toilet flush was broken and stuck inside the wall, bathroom mirror fell off the wall and could have seriously hurt 1 of us. The hairdryer gave my girlfriend an electric shock then blew up and started belching out smoke. There were divits in the wall and the room had the smallest old tv we have ever seen. The bar was MEGA expensive, pint of lager and glass of wine was nearly £9. Food is rubbish and cold. We told the staff when we left and handed them the hairdryer and they were not interested at all, the manager Mr McCann is useless and has a dont give a dam attitude. They also took money from my account without my say so and never gave me a receipt or itemised bill.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE ITS THE WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Joebro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
676 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
604 reviews
15.7 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Property: Bruce Hotel
Address: 35 Cornwall Street, East Kilbride G74 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bruce Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please allow us some time to bring the old lady back to its Halcyon days. We are making our way round the hotel & night club and re furbishing as we go .Reception has been totaly changes. We have re instated a new restaurant GUY`s on the first floor with some amazing house specials. Our Grand ball room has also had a face lift as is the conference suites.Please try our new SKYE Lounge & Club perfect to party thr night away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing