We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Executive room ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room though Avios points to stay for 1 night as we were attending a wedding in Rutherglen. Greeted upon arrival by very helpful Natalie on Reception.
We were allocated room 103. Lovely and modern, clean with large bathroom. Well stocked mini bar (no price list though which was off putting).
Nothing was a problem for the staff. Ice bucket was brought up on request and replacement hair drier for the one that blew up on me. Friendly and attentive staff really helps to bring this slightly tired looking hotel back to life.
Visited the spa which was lovely and hot.
Bed was super comfy and nice touch to have pillow menu. Best night sleep in a good while.
Breakfast was average. Loads of tables with dirty plates on and had to wait for fresh food to come. But it tasted good. The restaurant was drab and needs a good refurb.
Over all we had a really good stay.
Only reason why this is not 5 star is due to breakfast.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LouJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

Your comments regarding breakfast has been passed to our Head Chef for further investigation. I am pleased to read however you were pleased with the service received from Natalie on reception, you comments will be shared with her.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 729 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel has very good staff, who work hard to try to please everybody. Stayed three nights and the hotel was full of business people. Yes the hotel does need updating which is probably in the pipeline. The room had everything you would need including an iron and ironing board. The restaurant was pleasant, good choice of food and wine, although the drinks was expensive. Service could be slow because the restaurant was understaffed. Would stay again now we have found the fabulous bus service into Glasgow. Cannot praise the public bus service enough, the bus stop is outside the hotel £4.10 for an all day ticket to anywhere, saves a fortune.. Glasgow a great city full of friendly people and lots of lovely places to visit. A special thank you to the Restaurant Manager who always had a smile and was so helpful to us.

Room Tip: If possible book an executive room free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I visited this hotel one Sunday in August. It is the fourth or fifth time I've visited and on previous occasions it wasn't too bad. Yes the hotel is dated but the bed was comfortable and staff friendly so I decided to stay again.

Arriving around tea time on the Sunday there was plenty of space in the car park and I did not have to wait long to be checked in. The member of staff confirmed my booking as room only when it had been booked to include breakfast. I was then asked if I had the confirmation as the system said room only, this appeared to fix itself by morning however as I was not charged for breakfast on departure although it is the first time I have ever been asked to prove what I had booked and paid for in a hotel. I was offered some points or a free drink at the bar as a member if the loyalty scheme and was pointed in the direction of my room.

The room itself was very big, lots of space although the work desk was shoved in the darkest corner, why is anyone's guess. The furniture is now past it's best with scrapes etc on the wood. The bathroom was also very big with a separate shower although the silicon around the base of the shower was again last it's best and black in places. It really should have been replaced about six months ago. From reading the responses to other reviews it's clear a refurbishment is currently in place, although I think the rooms really should have been done first rather than the function rooms.

Then to food - when checking in another member of staff told the receptionist that they were just going to shut the restaurant and out the coach parties (three coaches) in there and everyone else can eat in the bar. Not a major problem if there was a table in the bar higher than fourteen inches off the floor. So clearly the business of the coach sorties takes priority over regular paying guests. Fair play these guys have paid their money the same as everyone else however this was a joke.

I went to the car to collect something and when returning to my room I passed what I think is the reception for the meeting rooms and there were two members of staff having a heated debate about the moving of the coach party so clearly someone wasn't happy with this move.

So I decided to order room service instead, decent choice on the menu what I thought was exorbitant was the £4.50 tray charge (Central London Holiday Inns are only £4 and don't shut their restaurant on a whim) but what was laughable and unfortunately I didn't notice it before checking out was the 10% service charge. This took a burger and chips (no drink) to over £20 - I would have been cheaper taking a taxi to a local pub. It is worth pointing out that the food was very good, there is no complaints there, however it was not worth £20. There was a mini bar in the room, however there was no tariff so I didn't even bother with that.

A decent nights sleep was had, there were no disturbances and the bed was very comfortable. In the morning I went for breakfast as soon as the restaurant opened which was maybe a good thing as the three coach parties had started to descend by the time I was leaving and it was very busy.

Overall it was a really disappointing stay and I probably will not be back. The breakfast issue thankfully sorted itself but should not have happened. Had the restaurant been closed and there were decent tables in the bar this wouldn't have been a problem but to then close the restaurant and effectively charge £6 for someone to walk down a corridor with a tray is a riot when the hotel have reduced the options available. There are nicer IHG hotels in the Glasgow/South Lanarkshire area, up until now I preferred this one due to the location but will definitely consider others first in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am extremely sorry to read that you experienced issues during your stay. Please be assured that your comments are taken seriously and passed to the relevant teams for immediate resolution.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

my husband and I stayed at the hotel 15th august, I checked trip advisor before we left and there were a lot of negative comments. im very pleased to say our room 236 was fabulous, clean ,everything worked . the staff were friendly and helpful, the swimming pool etc was great towels and toiletries a bonus. breakfast was very well cooked and presented, great choice for every food palate they even had soya milk and natural yogurt fresh fruit so that was me sorted. and of course the traditional cooked breakfast to please the hubby . will book again when visiting family .thank you holiday inn east Kilbride.

Room Tip: room 236 was quiet clean and very comfortable. shower very powerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is dated and the room was in a very poor condition and not very clean, there was an empty Pringles chips box and used tissues under the bed... The sofa bed that was made as a second bed in the room (which we did not use as it had been made by the hotel by mistake) had a disgusting blue cover with suspicious stains all over...
Although the staff were very nice, they were less than efficient. At check-in, we informed them that the safe was locked, nothing could be done before the following Monday as there were no maintenance staff on at the weekend and when Monday came, despite reminding them, no one came to sort this out or communicated back to us.
Breakfast is a complete shambles, we went both towards the starting and ending times at different dates and the buffet was always empty, the dishes were dirty, clearly they were put in a dishwasher but never dried as they were all full of suspicious water. The quality of the ingredients was also very poor, offering only black olive bread for breakfast, what's that about? The fruits were from tinned cans and the juices would clear any blocked drain!
Do not take me wrong... I understand the limits of offering from a two stars hotel (I would not give them more, even that is generous) but at over £130 a night on the Saturday, they are really taking guests for idiots! Enough of these hotels who overcharge us just because there is no decent competition in the area!!!
Btw - the staff at the gym where not very welcoming either...
I only stayed there because I had to and would never go back, even though I am a member of IHG club...

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ptatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am extremely sorry to read that you experienced issues during your stay. Please be assured that your comments are taken seriously and passed to the relevant teams for immediate resolution.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

As a Gold Holiday Inn member I have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inns across the UK.. this is by far the best of them all on all aspects.. Food was amazing, restaurant decor very nice, relaxing, Staff very friendly and welcoming.. rooms and all public areas very clean and fresh. I normally stay at Dakota but having tried this Hol Inn I will definitely be back. cannot wait. thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daisy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a tired, unfriendly and woefully poor place to spend a night. As a regular holiday Inn customer, I have to say that this was one of the worst experiences of said company I have ever had the misfortune to experience. Rooms are basic/tired and fraying at the edges.Resteraunt menu is very limited to everything with chips and the Wi-fi is diabolical. All in all if it wasn't for the leisure centre & pool I'd have walked without paying. Do yourselves a favour... Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank srebmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am extremely sorry to read that you experienced issues during your stay. Please be assured that your comments are taken seriously and passed to the relevant teams for immediate resolution.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
2 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
436 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,487 reviews
2 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Peel Park) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow East Kilbride (Nerston Toll) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn East Kilbride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn East Kilbride

Address: Stewartfield Way, East Kilbride G74 5LA, Scotland (Formerly Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range: $76 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn East Kilbride 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride, with its air conditioned guestrooms, is centrally located in the bustling town of East Kilbride just 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. The motorway network is easily accessible too, as are Glasgow International & Prestwick Airports. East Kilbride has lots to do; visit East Kilbride Shopping Centre, one of Scotland s largest, stroll the cobbled streets of the old village or there s Calderglen Country Park. There s also golf, ten pin bowling, a cinema and ice rink. M&D s Theme Park and Hampden Park, Scotland s National Stadium are close by too. Why not head to Glasgow for Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Glasgow Science Centre or some of the best shopping outside London. If you re in Glasgow or East Kilbride on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 400 delegates plus high speed Internet access throughout the hotel create the perfect working space. Complimentary for guests, our impressive Health Central Leisure Club, with its indoor pool, is perfect for unwinding. Our restaurant brings casual, relaxed dining to East Kilbrides restaurant scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn East Kilbride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Hotel East Kilbride
East Kilbride Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing