We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Crutherland House
Nearby Hotels
$91
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Torrance Hotel(East Kilbride)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Busby Hotel(Clarkston)
$133
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redhurst Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orchard Park Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bruce Hotel(East Kilbride)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,523)
Filter reviews
1,523 results
Traveler rating
521
463
269
174
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
463
269
174
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breaklovely groundsspa areasauna and steam roomspa staffon arrivalleisure facilitiescountry parklovely hotelrelaxing stayan overnight staybed and breakfastevening mealwedding receptionexecutive roomrestaurant stafffollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
1,443 - 1,448 of 1,523 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our second stay in this hotel which is in a handy location for East Kilbride and city centre. Rooms are clean and fairly well appointed although the TV's need updating as they were tiny old fashioned things! Staff very pleasant and housekeeping service is always very prompt. Usually busy at weekends with weddings but we have stayed in the same part of the hotel on 2 occasions now and no noise was heard from revellers afterwards which is a bonus. Big disappointment is the small things that make all the difference from an good hotel to a great one:-
We booked for dinner the other night and were given a lovely seat at a window but the view outside was of a big blank patch of grass(which had been half mowed) and not a flower or shrub in sight. It doesnt take much to transform a garden view with a few flower pots or basic landscaping. The same could be said for the immediate outside grounds - a bit of floral colour wouldnt go amiss. Also, attention to details on the dining tables were much lacking. They were sparse faux wooden tops which would have looked much better with a nice crisp white tablecloth and a small flower bud vase or candle or both(especially in the evening as the atmosphere was a bit 'cold'). Food was just OK but pricey. On our last morning we asked for an early breakfast to catch our flight home. We were offered a continental breakfast only and this needed to be room service as the kitchen wasnt going to be open. They charged us £3.00 extra for this despite having prepaid for full bed and breakfast which was a bit unnecessary. That said, the staff were very friendly, rooms were very clean and the pool and spa were a bonus. I think the Macdonald group will have to 'up the anti' on the smaller details now that they have competition on their doorstep with the Carnbooth Hotel just opened up the road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My friend and I arrived here for a night's stay and to use the beauty spa for treatments, rooms were nice and clean, but we had mainly travelled for the spa. I booked this over 2 weeks ago and confirmed at the time for all our treatments, I got a call that morning at 11am to say our treatments were suppose to start at 11am and why weren't we there! I called straight away to inform them they had made a mistake and our treatments were at 12pm! I asked to speak to the manager as I wasn't happy she said there must have been a mix up and could only apologise but if we could come just now we wouldn't get our full treatment but they would squeeze us in, not even an offer of a half price treatment because of this we just left in disgust after that! My advice is to check and double check your times for the spa if you are thinking about visiting this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc0tlandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We had to stay over in Glasgow to meet my son. We chose this hotel as a special treat as it looked realy nice. It was clean but no different in design as any motorway services room which was disappointing, just more classic furniture. The main problem was the room service and restaurant. We were going to eat in and booked a table. When we went down to eat the place was full . I was cramped and full of a coach party. We cancelled and went to a local Indian restaurant which was realy nice. The following morning we went down to breakfast early , it was full again with the coach party. People were waiting for a seat and complaining. We were in a hurry so had to eat in the lobby. We would have ordered room service but it cost £3 per person for breakfast and £5 per person for dinner ,which we felt too steep and should be free considering the food is not cheap. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumblemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a really nice hotel. The decor is a wee bit dated, lots of wood panelling and quite dark, but still really cosy for all its a decent sized hotel. Great safe parking right outside the hotel, and its set in its own grounds on the outskirts of East Kilbride, so readily accessible to the motorway, Glasgow and the South.
We were in a family room on the ground floor, nice size, double bed and two single beds, still plenty of room, nice clean bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space with iron/board and splendid tea and coffee facilities.
We were really close to the Spa and swimming pool, they were fab, really safe for the kids and even a few toys for them to chuck around the pool.
The food and drink was lovely. The childrens menu is super, and lovely that it was a wee bit different from the normal list most parents can all reel off at a hands turn lol, with plenty of colouring pencils and paper on hand, the restaurant staff understand and treat the kids as guests in their own rights. Our food was delicious, in fact had difficulty choosing as there was so much that sounded lovely. Drinks, this is my only gripe, a glass of white £8.25, come on, there is no need for that, £30 for a bottle of pino grigio. Lager was an ok price and the soft drinks too, but I would whine about the wine, no pun intended.
We will definitely go back, the hotel was great value for money, and we used Tesco vouchers too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed with my husband on a 4 day break. This was our second visit and we really enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful . Food was nice and restaurant staff very pleasant. Room was clean and serviced every day. Bed very comfortable , the only drawback was our particular room looked out over a roof and there was noise from a generator or fans which were situated on it. TV was also a bit dodgy but we didnt really need to use it anyway. There was a wedding in the hotel every day during our stay but these did not interfere in any way with service in the bar/loung/restaurant at any time. In fact we enjoyed the atmosphere and it livened up the hotel in the evenings.
Stayed in Forest Hills Hotel in Aberfoyle last year and would put this hotel way ahead in every way. Will be staying here again hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews