We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flatters To Deceive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Crutherland House
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 7, 2007

Stayed for one night in February & it's not an experience I want to repeat in a hurry.
My bedroom was, at best, average. The wall mirror was propped on the floor, the room was dusty (especially the 2 bedside lamps), lighting not very good so that it was difficult to do any work at the desk. Worse though was the bathroom: the grout between the tiles around the bath was black and the shower head was black with damp. I also didn't appreciate the collection of hair behind the bathroom doors.
The public areas were cold.
I used the pool in the leisure club, but noticed that all 3 showers in the changing area had no soap or shower gel.
Food and drink was overpriced: I had a glorified toasted ham & cheese sandwich with fries at a cost of about £12, with a large glass of white Rioja at £7.
Breakfast was good with a cold buffet & hot food cooked to order, but was probably not worth £16. When I was at the buffet I had to ask for orange juice, which was very good, but surely @ £16, a waiter should be keeping the selection replennished.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,438 - 1,444 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2007

A fine building set in within is own extensive grounds, I stayed here for one night on a business trip. It was very quiet when I arrived and check in was swift and effecient. I was given clear instructions on how to find my room, but with two other staff seemingly unoccupied in the background, it would have been a nice touch if someone had shown me the way. The room was spacious, clean and everything that was meant to work, did work, including all the lights. A well thought out hospitality tray was particularly welcome. The bathroom was very well lit and had plenty of towels. Not wanting a full three course dinner, I opted for a light meal in the lounge - although as all tables were taken they allowed me to eat in the bar. The "light meals" menu proved to be extensive and reasonably priced and what I had was very good. Back in the room I enjoyed a great nights sleep in a most comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was (as with all MacDonald hotels) a delight. Two young waiters, seemingly unsupervised, had the place running like clockwork - well done to them. Again, check-out was effortless. A "Carers Fund Donation" of £1.00 was added to my bill (I have had this at other MacDonald hotels).
A note to the hotel management. If this is going to be done then there should be some sort of hand-out explaining what this is about; what the charity does, why MacDonald support it and how much guests have raised in a given period. Most people will gladly support a charity if they know what its about. To merely charge without explanation is simply bad manners

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewDoughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

Stayed here in jan o6, with my best friend for my birthday.
I was impressed with the buliding on arrival, however check-in was very slow, but the receptionist was very nice. Room old fashioned but comfortable and nice size. Complained about the rather overdone potatoes on first night and was totally ignored, as if i had not said anything or the waiter had selective hearing, second night was better though. The swimming, sauna, and steam room area, was nice and tranquil. We went DB&B and the waiters tried to charge us for our dinner, although this had already been paid up front, seemed to be no communication with any of the staff. Bar area seemed a wee bit run down, but it was ok. Barman was a character who made us laugh. Prices in the bar, are very expensive, this was a major downfall especially if you are considering a longer stay or a wedding or private function. Would perhaps go for lunch, but not a stay over..

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank versace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

The hotel has a long driveway up to the reception, this makes the hotel peaceful. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The hotel staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful. The hotel bar is comfortable and of a decent size. The resteraunt food is good and the service is above average. This hotel is handy for hamilton races and there is a theme park near by. The local town is also not to far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank blue-travller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hamilton
16
Reviewed July 13, 2006

I recently stayed at the MacDonald Crutherland House Hotel in East Kilbride. It was the best break away i have had in years. The hotel is set in the countryside, it has 37 acres of grounds surrounding the hotel making your stay very peaceful and relaxing. It is also a 5 min drive to Esat Kilbride town center and a 25min drive to Glasgow city center. Or a bus or taxi drive away.
The reception area is very large and open but at the same time relaxing and homely. The rooms are very spacious and have extra large bathrooms. Which is GREAT!!! The food was fantastic and my boyfriend has to have a gluton free diet and the head chef went out his way to make sure there was a large selection for him to choose from.
The Bar service was also fantastic. Yes the drinks are on the expensive side but hey what's a bit of money when you are in an excelent 4 star hotel with excellent service and surroundings.
The staff where all great. expecially the reception staff the girls were all young and went out there way to help you at every step. Anything you ask for you get it, and in good time to!
I highly recommend that you all try this hotel because it is the Best.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Attended a wedding at this hotel and stayed the night with my family. On arriving at the hotel around 3.30pm we were told the room was not quite ready but would only be a few minutes. Wrong this was more like another 30mins, but being part of the wedding we didn't want to make a fuss... Rooms were lovely and the meal we had for the wedding was delicious. Having said that the bar prices are totally rediculous. £4.60 for a small glass of cheap wine...Come on!!! I've stayed in London hotels and never paid that kind of money for a wine and nearly £5 for a vodka and coke..What a rip off!!!
Breakfast in the morning would have been great as there is plenty to choose from but the hot choice was cold and I mean cold. Yes we should have complained but again didn't want to cause a stir.. After breakfast went for a dip in the pool which was nice and had well equiped changing rooms. All in all this is a nice hotel but thankfully all I was paying for was the room which was a bit steep even with a discount... Too expensive for a wedding as you need to think of your guests paying for drinks, rooms etc.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

Having stayed in some excellent MacDonald Hotels, my wife and myself were prepared to overlook the disparaging reports already posted on this site and judge for ourselves.
We now wish we had heeded the warnings of others.
What could be a pleasant welcoming driveway up to the hotel has been spoilt by painting large boulders at the side of the driveway a tacky white colour.
The enterance hallway which houses the reception area is bland and austere. However the young reception staff are friendly and helpfull. Our bedroom on the ground floor was large and well presented with a bright modern bathroom.
There are a number of steps from reception to access the bedrooms, the restaurant and function suite, which renders the hotel unsuitable for those with walking difficulties or disabled,
The hotel is a popular venue for weddings on Friday/Saturday/Sunday. Breakfast is served from 7am -10am Sat/Sun in the small restaurant. We arrived at 9am and had to wait in a queue for an hour to get a table.
Drinks of any variety are expensive in any hotel . In Crutherland house they are an absolute "rip off" ... Gin £3.95, very small tonic to go with it £1.65 . Pint of Guinness £4.15, Pint of beer £3.85, half bottle of very average wine £12.75 and the biggest rip off of all... SMALL 350ml BOTTLE OF HIGHLAND SPRING WATER £2.50.
If you want breakfast in bed there is an additional charge of £14.95 perperson.
One positive is that the hotel does have a well equipped liesure facility.

The hotel is not suitable for the disabled or those with walking difficulties. Is best avoided at weekends because of weddings and alcohol is best consumed if someone else is paying for it.

NOT UP TO WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT OF A MACDONALD HOTEL.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank eyespyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
714 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
412 reviews
2.3 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
761 reviews
15.1 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.3 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Crutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range: $86 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing