We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Crutherland House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
GreenLeadersBronze level
WARWICKSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family visit”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were very nice but at times it seemed scripted. Room was clean and comfortable. Bar food was a bit too much money for a sandwich which was rather large, 3slices of bread.
They did not make enough of the Hotel grounds, we discovered a lovely walk by the river.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SammyRussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBreheny, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear SammyRussel
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am sorry to read that the sandwich was not to your liking. Please be assured that I will certainly speak with the kitchen brigade and let them know your feedback.
I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed exploring the hotels grounds and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best regards
Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    439
    239
    159
    86
See reviews for
346
559
39
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Staff at check in were really nice and quick. Loved the Shortbread touch too.

The grounds here are lovely and were decent to go for a little run as it was sunny.

Some good points:

-Huge Pool
-Nice big gym with loads of cardio equipment and weights - Although some stuff was broken and dangerous if I'm being honest
-Rooms real spacious
-Nice real iron and ironing board - no dangly wired or attached to wall fuss.

Improvements to be made
-Not one single fan in the whole hotel? The rooms were boiling and my windows screwed shut. I had to move rooms with little apologies and was not happy at all. When I complained at the desk, i got a shot "I'll let the duty manager know in the morning" - Basically, get lost - not god guys.
-Dated decor and fittings - Dark wood and floral carpets? Really? it's 2014


Would I stay again? Sorry not in a rush.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Basurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

stayed here last night as we were going to a wedding reception nearby. the room was very spacious and we a great night's sleep due to the comfy bed and pillows. We did not have time unfortunately for dinner but we had a meal in the lounge before setting off to the wedding reception - i chose to have a burger and was told that it would take 25 mins - it was certainly worth the wait. Delicious., Surprised at the comments of previous reviews because all staff we met were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty, piping hot and plenty of choice. One slight downside to our stay was the journey!! We were travelling from the centre of Glasgow so it should only have taken 30 minutes. In reality it took well over an hour . We used the sat nav but the road was closed and we ended up going round in circles trying to find the hotel. If these roadworks are going on for some time a suggestion would be for the Hotel to try to put up a temporary sign pointing in the right direction. We tried to phone the hotel but others must have been doing the same as it was not answered.

Room Tip: we had a basic double room which was very quite (201)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and it was even better. Lovely rooms, quiet with everything you could want including TV speakers in the bathroom! The bed was lovely and comfy and we had a good night's sleep. The facilities are excellent with a pool and spa as well as lovely walks around the ground. I think we will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pashld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machrihanish, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just spent two nights in the hotel we were attending a wedding.Staff were very helpful and caring The rooms we booked were spotless had a great sleep The wedding its self was amazing the food was of excellent quality and the service. Ive read a lot about the bar prices i didnt find them to be that expensive if your looking for a £2 pint your better of going to a local bar You get what you pay for The kids used the pool and steam room the staff were very helpful We will return for a weekend break.

Room Tip: We had two rooms didnt have a view of the gardens but i wasnt planning on sitting looking out the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a family celebration in east kilbride and it was my birthday so my husband treat me with a stay here,i have very mixed review and wish to be fair to the hotel as our stay was really mainly blighted by one particular member of staff, check in was at 2 yet our room was nt ready until 245- we are not moaners and just went and had a walk in the gorgeus grounds we came back and the room was ready so off we went wanting to have a nap after our long journey this was not goin to happen as our room was right behind the recycling bin which was used continuesly, it was very warm so shutting the windows was not an option so i rang reception and askedto move rooms(no problem) they sent a very sourfaced man who looked quite annoyed if im honest who gave me new keys - when we looked the room was only a few doors down and therefore had exactlythe same issue!!?i rang reception and explained we needed to sleep and had hardly been moved she said ok shed send someone up - ten min we stood in thecorridor noone came so welost patience and went down, i was ragin bythis time 4 clock and was met again by the unpleasant man who had the worst attitude /customer care ive ever come across - i said we had been waitin inthe corrider and he snapped at me they were tryin to sort another room out very angrily - i said we havent hada room yet since 2 and he said oh yes you have !! i replied no our room wasnt ready on check in, we went outside and he came (no apology no smile) and gave us new keys a d an upgrade (couldnt see why it was an upgrade) and left, made me feel very uncomfortable, the room was fine away from the rear of the kitchen (106)we couldnt sleep by this time as we had massages booked for 5 and more or less had to get changed and go for them,spa was lovely the girls who did our treatments were lovely and friendly, dinner was delicious except i couldnt believe it was the very same fella serving us which i really didnt want to see him again he had a very odd demeaner - i think my advice to him is go on a customer care course its not acceptable to be rude amd bad tempered in the service industry, and to remember your representing the hotel ,breakfast was just ok sausage raw, poached egg lovely i was just glad that the same fella wasnt there serving me!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank charlyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely hotel, we stayed in Woodlands Room, very comfy bed, everything immaculate. Restaurant and lounge bar food and service excellent apart from very fatty bacon for breakfast! Used spa and had a relaxing facial, Nicole did a great job. Claire on reception was so helpful and friendly, an asset to the company. Only gripe was that when we paid the bill we checked and saw that we had been charged for 2 nights of £40 per couple for dinner when we'd only booked the deal once. The receptionist then adjusted the bill and told us that they always charge and wait for the client to point out the error! How many people end up paying because they haven't checked the bill!

Room Tip: Woodlands room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hipswinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
692 reviews
2.3 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
632 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
649 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Crossbasket Castle
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Crutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Property: Macdonald Crutherland House
Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing