We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards have slipped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Crutherland House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The fabric of this hotel is good but but guests should have a discount whilst they sort their internet connection (none for 2 days and 2 hours spent on the phone to BT Openzone). We ended up taking a trip to a proper MacDonald's for their free internet connection, as it was not working for my two colleagues either..

In addition we had the Fire Alarm go off at 1.30am as a result of a meeting room getting too hot in the sun (cods-wallop). The photocopied letter had all the inkling that it was run off from the last time.

And the staff seemed less than interested in sorting issues out. Lastly they charge £3 for using a credit card when paying on a £200+ bill and charge for a bottle of water in the room on a £95 per night rate.

I do feel bad giving 1 out of 5 but I would certainly do my best to influence staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen N, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear StephenCKendal

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel.

Delivering the highest standards of service is at the heart of our core values and I am sorry that this was not the case on this occasion.

As requested in response to your email if you would like to call me I would be delighted to discuss the points that you have raised personally.

Thank you once again for your comments as it is only through feedback such as this that we can maintain and improve our service.

Regards

Eileen Newman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    427
    237
    148
    84
See reviews for
335
542
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 24th Wedding Anniversary and on paper the Crutherland House sounded a nice place to stay. My husband upgraded us to a suite and that itself was very nice situated at the front of the hotel.
* Very comfortable bed and wonderful sleep which unfortunately was spoiled all three mornings we were staying at 7.14am and again at 7.35am by a pump going off right outside our room on departure we informed the receptionist got the feeling that she already knew about it, don't think we were the first to mention it!! :-(
* Monday early evening asked for fresh milk to have with coffee we were making in our room, we waited 35 minutes and phoned down again before we got it.
* Monday evening dinner we ordered wine which wasn't chilled, we had to have ice in it not quite the fine dinning experience we had hoped for.
* Each morning we had to wait while our breakfast table was set for us although we were booked to have breakfast.
* Unsightly cigarette butt's in the sand planter right at the entrance to the reception which were not cleaned out during our stay.
* SPA
1 Spa staff not at all cheerful everything seemed to be too much trouble for them
2 Used cotton bud and other litter at the entrance of the Spa and also bird poo on the windows
3 Changing room floor in need of a good clean
4 Shower cubicle was blocked not allowing water to drain away, this was also reported on the 13th May by someone else writing a review :-(
5 Lights in steam room broken and covered in black and yellow tape
6 No plastic bags for wet swim suites
*FIRE ALARM
We had a evacuate our room at 1.15am on Wednesday morning when the fire alarm went off NOT A PROBLEM we waited outside with other guests while two fire engines arrived and officers went to deal with the problem, it would appear that there wasn't a fire however we were not told that by anyone, in fact no one from the Fire Service or the Hotel spoke to us no reassurance or information was given to us and we all just went back to bed wondering what just happened.
We hardly ever go away but thought it would be nice for our Anniversary to say we were disappointed wouldn't come close!!!! :-(
It wasn't all negative the dinning room staff we friendly and helpful and the Highfield Suit was also very nice

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen N, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Heather R

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel. Please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to our usual high standards.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to speak to me personally regarding your visit and I would like to assure you that I have taken your very valuable comments on board and discussed them in detail with the Managers of the departments concerned.

Thank you once again for your very constructive feedback and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Eileen Newman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my son and my daughter in laws wedding on 1st june and it was perfect from start to finish.The venue,the food,the service and the weather all made it a perfect day.
A massive special thanks to Laura who coordinated everything and to whom nothing was too much bother....thank you so much.
Also the bar staff were very friendly and professional.....sorry cant remember his name!!
Thanks to all for making the newlyweds day one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen N, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Lynne G

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your son and daughter in laws wedding with us in June.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your day and I will be sure to pass on your very kind comments to the team here and to Laura in particular.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel in the near future.

Regards

Eileen Newman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight following a wedding at the hotel. Down side was room wasn't ready at check in and told to return in half an hour, as many others at the same wedding were also staying I soon realised that many many rooms weren't ready so rather than waste a beautiful day back and forth to reception I opted to leave it until after the dinner and speeches to get my room. Service was polite and efficient but felt it was more because that was there job rather than a wish to make you happy, not a bad thing just expect a bit more from 4 star. Room was comfortable and exceptionally clean well equipped with tea coffee iron and ironing board. Location is excellent with stunning ground and a feeling of being miles from nowhere whilst being 5 mins from main town. All in a great place for a quick getaway and excellent wedding venue. Would return again if I want to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albalass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen N, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Albalass_9

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel.

Please accept my apologies that your room was not ready on arrival, this is exceptional and not indicative of our normal high standards.

I was pleased that you found the service to be polite and efficient and the room comfortable and clean. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team here at the hotel.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel in the very near future.

Regards

Eileen Newman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Would highly recommend the Crutherland House for a wedding.The staff were all very professional and the actual meal second to none!Their timing was excellent and they got the function room turned round for dance in a very short time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzy227125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen N, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear lizzy227125

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following the wedding that you attended at the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel.

I was delighted to read your very positive comments and will be sure to pass them on to the team here at the hotel.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Regards

Eileen Newman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Crutherland House, which is set in beautiful grounds, unfortunately I never had time to use the leisure, dining or bar facilities. I can therefor only comment on the accommodation, which was very good, the public areas were well presented as were the grounds surrounding the hotel. I was there for two days and room service were also very good in the short time I was there.

I would imagine this would be a wonderful venue for a wedding or weekend breaks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen N, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mick D

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

We have a passionate approach to hospitality and I do hope that on your next visit you will have the opportunity to experience some of our other facilities.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Eileen Newman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

9 FEMALES!!! , celebrating a 21st, 40th and 50th!! Was fantastic, we were looked after, given rooms together and the food was fantastic. Given the crowd, the lovely staff gave us a private room for dinning and our own personal waiter (don't think we will see him again, hahaha!!). We were treated like Royalty!. Would really like to commend Kirsty, at reception for her attention to detail (look out for her twin in the restaurant) and also Aileen for her personal attention to detail with regard to looking after our party. Thank you to both!! xxx. Well Done we will be back

Room Tip: All rooms are good, nobody heard us partying!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen N, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Trish M

Many thanks for your very positive comments following your celebratory stay at the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel in May.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your very kind comments to the team and Kirsty and Aileen in particular.

Many of our guests enjoy celebrations in our private dining rooms and we always receive very postive feedback.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Yours sincerely

Eileen Newman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Crutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Property: Macdonald Crutherland House
Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing