We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stirrups Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very pleased!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We (myself, my husband, 2 children aged 5 & 2 and my mum) stayed here for 3 nights (Sun - Wed) in 2 interconnecting rooms. We were visiting Legoland which was only about a 5 minute drive away.

Check in was quick and uncomplicated, we went to our 1st floor rooms and the boys were delighted with their activity packs. The Molton Brown toiletries are a lovely touch, as were the tower fans in each room as it was very hot. There are no locks inside the bedroom doors, only a security chain which our children quickly learned how to unhook and they managed to get out on a few occasions - good in event of a fire, but not good with a toddler escape artist!! We ate dinner outside in the garden. The meal arrived reasonably quickly and was enjoyed by all, although we definitely noticed the southern prices!

There are signs in reception and it is noted in the hotel info in the rooms - please be warned - DO NOT LEAVE YOUR CHILDREN UNSUPERVISED NEAR THE POND. There were about 9 children playing around the pond, some aged only 2 or 3 with parents sitting over at the picnic tables. This is too far away. Our 2 year old fell in the pond and we were sat on the bench beside it. In the SECONDS it took my husband to pull him out, he was face down and motionless. Frightening. The hotel has warned it's guests, it is not their fault, however perhaps they may have to consider some kind of fencing or CCTV? The receptionist was quick to fetch us a towel but no accident form was filled in.

Housekeeping was faultless, everywhere was clean and there was always an abundance of clean towels. We had no problems with noise of any kind. Breakfast was wonderful, plenty of choice, no waiting and the cooked breakfasts were yummy.

The staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't say this was a 3* hotel, more a 4*. We were very pleased with our find and we thought it was good value for money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    109
    20
    13
    1
See reviews for
123
99
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have stayed at Stirrups on several occasions and eaten in the restaurant on even more. The staff are always friendly, welcoming and attentive. This time we stayed in room 2, on the ground floor, which was extremely comfortable, quiet & not too hot, even though it was a warm & humid night. As always, we had a delicious meal in the restaurant, with an equally good breakfast the following morning. This definitely won't be our last visit!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 on the ground floor are very quiet. Definitely our favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just spent 2 nights here while visiting Windsor and Legoland with my mum, sister and 2 year old daughter. What a lovely find! Very friendly welcome at reception, clean, comfortable, spacious rooms, mine with a travel cot set up and ready. Nice Molton Brown toiletries in the bathrooms too! Great grassy grounds for kids to play, much needed for my little girl. Really good food in the restaurant, including a good choice on the kids' menu. Staff so accommodating I think they'd go out of their way if you had any specific requirements. Bar staff were more than happy to fill my daughter's milk cup both nights when I took her to bed. No-one minded her charging in and out of the restaurant in between courses, everyone very child-friendly. Only niggle were that the pillows could have been better... Still, wouldn't stop me from staying here again or recommending to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroZuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for a group trip to legoland. What a gem! The hotel is idyllic and the gardens are lovely. We had 3 kids in our party and the large garden was superb for them run around in.

The restaurant is nice and the food we had was excellent.

The biggest positive was the the staff. The ladies serving drinks at the bar, checking you in and ordering food were all amazingly well organised, efficient and. Welcoming.

We all agreed that the hotel was pretty much faultless.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munch_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a really good 1 night stay after a long day at Legoland. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Big field at the back for the kids to play on. Rooms were clean and comfortable and a good size. The food in the restaurant was delicious. Overall very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good comfortable hotel for an overnight business stopover . Ideally located for Bracknell, Windsor and Slough.Free Wi-Fi and comfotable bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: 104...in front of hotel. a little noise from the main road and passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishka02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel ihas managed to preserve the feel of an old country mansion very well, without appearing outdated. The rooms are not extremely large, but have everything you need (TV, free WiFi, safe, but no air-conditioning). The bathroom was very modern, spacious and clean. The building being quite old, you will hear the stairs and the floors squeak as others guests pass your room. It's good that the hallways on each floor have a lot of doors, as the doors of the rooms (which for some strange reason all have the doorknobs installed at knee-height) are very poorly soundproofed. The restaurant downstairs serves excellent food and is staffed by a very competent team, guaranteeing quick and friendly service. In the same restaurant breakfast is served in the morning, both continental and English; both offering a decent choice of foods. The only thing I found somewhat annoying is that even basic things like bread/toast have to be ordered with a waiter. I personally like my breakfast to be quick and hassle-free and fail to see the need for a waiter to deliver things like bread. Anyway, overall I had a very good stay here, so if you like a somewhat rural setting in an old house, this hotel won't disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracknell
3.6 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#6 of 7 in Bracknell
1,957 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
1,036 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grange Bracknell Hotel
Grange Bracknell Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bracknell
516 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.9 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirrups Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirrups Country House Hotel

Property: Stirrups Country House Hotel
Address: On the B 3022 Bracknell Road | Maidens Green Village, Bracknell RG42 6LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirrups Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maidens Green Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stirrups Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirrups Country Hotel
Stirrups Country House Hotel Bracknell, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing