We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“takes a lot for me to review but service lets the hotel down...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Bracknell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“takes a lot for me to review but service lets the hotel down...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Where do I start.... It takes a lot for me to leave a review but I was so disappointed with our stay at this hotel. We booked this as a special treat for our sons 4th birthday as we were going to Legoland in Windsor.
Ok to start with finding the car park was not easy but when we eventually found it and went to check in we were pleasantly surprised, check in staff were very helpful and all was looking good. With 2 very excited boys we went to our room, which was room 119 on the first floor. Very clean and even though it was clearly a twin room with the beds pushed together we were happy with the room and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and take advantage of the Kids eat free with paying adults (we thought as the kids ate free the £19.95 for a adult was not too much to pay).

That is when our opinion of this hotel changed (I would say quickly but seems with the service here nothing happens quickly!).
We were seated at our table and our two boys went for a play with the other kids whilst we had a look at the menu’s (the menu seemed to have a good choice and our kids were having fun so again at this point we were really pleased with our choice of accommodation and restaurant), we then waited for almost around 20 minutes to see someone to take our drinks and meal order, we then ordered and after waiting for just under an hour my husband decided to go to the bar himself to get the drinks as by this time the kids needed to be fed and we could not leave them any longer, we sent them to the buffet that came free with our meal and they wanted a drink with their food (must also add that there was only 2 chicken nuggets in the buffet so they ended up having plain pasta with a tomato sauce that looked like it had been there for so long no one wanted it, we did mention this to the staff but again not a lot happened).
Our starters arrived nearly 1 hour after ordering and to be honest we only ordered pate and Chicken Soup which could have easily came from the local supermarket anyway (My husband soup was so salty he needed a drink but with the service being as it was that would never happen). The main meal was not as described but I cannot fault the taste. We were happy to leave the restaurant and can honestly say we were not looking forward to the breakfast but we both hoped that it was just a rush on service that evening (as that is what we were told on several occasions by the waiting staff, even though the restaurant was not full at this point).

Breakfast the following morning was just as dreadful as the evening meal the night before, we were told by the person on the desk where our table was by a dismissive hand gesture. Our two kids (who were totally oblivious to the whole thing) wanted cereal and to their disappointment the only option they had was All Bran or Alpen which is really not a 4 & 7 year olds choice. When we asked the staff all we were told was no we do not have anything else! There was no cups on the table and even though we asked nothing was brought until someone came round and asked did we want tea or coffee and we said we had no cups. The toast was cold and very chewy so our kids did not want that either, the juice was not filled up but what there was seemed to be watered down and the cooked breakfast was not great (there was no baked beans on our first visit to the buffet and when they were actually replenished and we tried to find something that looked edible to gave to our children all we could offer them was very fatty under cooked bacon or sausages).
I believe everyone (and places) deserves a second chance I just hope the Grange Hotel get their staff situation sorted as the hotel is lovely but PLEASE sort your restaurant out it really lets you down.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    210
    120
    36
    12
See reviews for
192
55
13
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Work trip. Good price. Nothing exceptional but good value. Too many kids running around to make it nice for "workers". I'd rather stay in one of the out of towners as I drove to restaurants each night I was there anyway. Water from the bar was more expensive that you would think.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beermatt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Bracknell Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make your review. I am sorry the hotel was not quite your cup of tea but hope you may consider staying again on a future occasion, maybe once all the children are back at school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Grange is right in the middle of Bracknell, has ample parking, comfy beds, nice staff and decent sized rooms. Wifi works well and is free. I only had room service once but it was nice
The car park is hard to find the first time, their hard push for family packages for the surrounding attractions mean that there are kids everywhere, rolling around the floor in reception, running around the chairs in the bar, getting loudly excited until late in the next room with the noise coming through the connecting door. Why not separate families from business guests? The hotel is big enough. The two groups don't always mix well as neighbours.
The breakfast is meh, the bacon is bad. The bar serves some beers out of cans, it's not brilliantly equipped. Each room has a TV but you won't be able to use it until you've got "the knack," all of our group had the same setup with one not able to figure it out at all during her 5 night stay. The gym is not a gym.
I've stayed in much worse hotels, the beds are decent, the staff are nice etc, the little things are what let it down. The breakfast, the TV's, the uncontrolled kids everywhere, the having to wrestle with a new soap packet every day that would serve well as a wrapping for anything you don't want kids or the elderly to have access to, the complimentary shampoo and wash are not nice, - most of these things are trivial but they add up and over a week can become tiresome.
So on balance, I don't know. I'd stay here again for a night but not a week. Work picked up the tab so I don't know how much they paid but if it's any more than £100 I'd be surprised.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

booked a taxi from Heathrow through the hotel, Bracknell cabs, very punctual, very helpful. travel took 1/2hr thou on way back an hr as road very busy.
Check-in was hassle free & room was ready even thou we arrived 1/2 hr early. Kids got cookies and juice on arrival. Staff all seemed friendly and helpful.
On a Legoland break so had booked through their website.
Room was large enough for 2 adults and 1 child, en-suite, air-con was good, in-room safe & mini bar which we didn't touch!
Breakfast was included, plenty of variety, cereals & cooked options, served straight away, no waiting for a table.
Didn't eat evening meal in hotel though kids eat free for each adults purchasing at £19.99. We ate at the Weatherspoons across the road (The Manor)
Hotel on top of the shops if needed, bus station around the corner.
We stuck with Bracknell cabs for the week, with a party of 8 it was very handy. (20min trip to Legoland)
Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with my wife and 3 kids. We booked through Legoland website and choose this based on price.

We've done 2 previous Legoland breaks and on both occasions booked 4 star hotels and we're really happy.

This hotel sadly did not match up to either the Crown Plaza Marlow or Crown Plaza Heathrow.

Good Points:-
Room was big with separate living area and kitchen. More like a studio flat.
No noise whatsoever on a night.
2 TV's so kids got their own.
Staff were very attentive, polite and helpful.
It's 5 min walk to a cinema, bowling, retail park and supermarket.
It's excellent for Legoland. Not the nearest but as your heading in from south of Legoland the traffic and queues were nothing.

Not so good points:-
There is only one bar which is small and having 3 kids means you don't blend in. We tried to sit outside on the terrace but this is really tired and scruffy.
The food is average and could offer more and better choices.
May sound snooty but where the hotel is situated is an eyesore comparative to the beauty of the tree lined Bracknell Forest and surrounding areas. The hotel is purched above a 1960's man made town centre and shopping quarter, with at least 3 multi story car parks surrounding it. There are no views so don't expect one.
The hotel attracts lots of Ascot goers and stag/hen do's. We did expect this to be a pain but can honestly say we were not disturbed at all. The only questionable bit was the gang of well dressed ladies on a hen do wheelding a variety of sex toys in the bar and reception. It was funny to be fair.

Overall the hotel cost us £800 for 4 nights B&B with 2 days Legoland tickets. We enjoyed it. The kids enjoyed it. I think it's a fair option but I would much prefer to spend a bit more and stay in the Crown Plaza Heathrow and benefit from more bars, more food options and a pool too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Bracknell Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. Your comments have all been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Me my girlfriend and our two kids stayed here for 3 nights.we found the location under construction and revamp around the hotel.but when inside it was very grande and clean and all staff were friendly and helpfull.room was made up every morning and spotless.also food was nice.deffinatley stay again

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Bracknell Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and trip to Legoland. I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here on the 3rd and 4th of July for 2 nights. The standard of the hotel was as you'd expect, very clean, comfortable. Where I thought this hotel really excelled was in the quality of the staff. The friendliness and helpfulness was fantastic. They really went out of their way to meet any of your requirements. Also, it's very well located for exploring all the surrounding ae which has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Bracknell Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good to hear you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be exceptional. I hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracknell
1.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#6 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bracknell Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bracknell (Twin Bridges) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Bracknell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Bracknell Hotel

Property: Grange Bracknell Hotel
Address: Charles Square, Bracknell RG12 1DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange Bracknell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in the city center, adjacent to Charles Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Bracknell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Bracknell
Bracknell Grange Hotel
Grange Bracknell Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing