We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Fawlty Towers....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Bracknell Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A visit to Legoland and a car breaking down meant the great RAC put us up at this hotel for one night. The room - large family -was great, clean, quiet - we were on the top floor- that's the good bit!! The rest of our stay was hilarious - although the hotel have very keen staff, it does seem to lack overall on the floor management - I'm particularly referring to the restaurant. From waiting an hour for our dinner- by this time the kids had chosen and finished theirs from the kids buffet ( we couldn't make them wait any more) , requesting our drinks three times, the wrong meals being brought to the table next to us ( also waited longer than us), the staff were flailing helplessly and apologetically to run this restaurant - nobody in charge!!! There was a wedding on - but the Rest was half full..... So that was dinner. Then breakfast... Half hour wait to get in, buffet station empty of milk, most cereal and juices- I had to ask to get them replenished, then no coffee, but toast arrived without asking....lovely but no butter.....then cornflake container came off holder and as I caught it the whole lot tipped on to me and the floor - by this time we've named this place Fawlty Towers - we are laughing so much as are all the other guests..and so it went on...finishing with the wall lamp in our bedroom swinging to an upside down position on its own accord - classic!! Stay here again - eh no. This hotel is trying so hard to be 4* - and the management really need to stay here and see it for what it is. I have no doubt if they repositioned this hotel, and with the right team leading on ground it could be good! But for the moment even Basil would be an improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieXxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 543 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

was not as good as the last visit. almost felt like a factory line being ushered to our table for breakfast, the quality of breakfast has also gone down. my son, a fanatical bacon roll lover was not impressed with the quality of the bacon, not crispy and very fatty with loads of rind. tv in room doesn't work and the serviceman had to travel from some distance, chose not to wait and went without, but still no apology for the lack of service. not impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mseet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a LEGOLAND break, on arrival the reception staff were polite and friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and well appointed.

The breakfast was ok, as there were feeding the masses of families going to LEGOLAND.

The only criticism is that the rooms should have better sound proofing. You could hear neighbours conversations and when you have noisy neighbours it is unbearable. Also there was a wedding on in the hotel and we could here the disco on the 2nd Floor.

Whilst the staff arranged for the bass to be turned down at 10pm, by 11pm it was back on full.

Overall a good trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a Legoland deal and business trip.

Room was a suite with own kitchen, etc. though we 'only' booked a normal double and three singles for children, 4, 6 and 8. Hugely family friendly and helpfull, friendly staff to grown ups also.

It's a four star hotel people and as such some reviews may be harsher, expecting more. I do reasonable amount of business travel as a Chartered Engineer and it's one of the nicest places I've stayed!

1  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 on a Legoland break, enjoyed our stay food was lovely but a bit of a wait to get it however kids could eat straight away from the buffet. Only downfall was the kids weren't that comfy on the camp beds & the room was a bit cramped however it wasn't a problem as it was just a base after all. Staff were really friendly. Would stay again if visiting Legoland.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Hotel was GREAT. We used this as our overnight stay whilst at Legoland. Yes We agree with the reveiws stating the family rooms are small but the cleanliness/service and general hospitality was very very good. Better than that of a Holiday Inn/ Travelodge. Restaurant very very Good and NOT to expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewer about the family rooms . These are normal double bed rooms with 2 camp beds added to room a family of four which then gives you no room to manoeuvre about the rrom . Fortunately with 2 long days planned at legoland all we wnated to do was get to bed .We opted to eat out each night as even with kids eating free we felt the £19.95 for a adult was too much.
Breakfast the first morning was dreadful as all the toast was cold as were the croissants, the juices were watered down and the cooked breakfast was also cold . I will say breakfast improved the following two mornings as everything was much hotter ( although the juices were still watered down) .
We were given the option to pay £5 for the car park park as we were led to believe it wa £6 for over a set number of hours . What we found is that you are not charged after 20:00 and the time only starts again at around 06:00 the following morning so it was in fact cheaper to pay the car park rate . The Hotel do not tell you this so must be making money out of everyone

For some reason when the room was cleaned they kept removing 2 towels so we only had 2 between 4 . We even left the towels on the towel rail so they could get down on the washing and be kinder to the environment but they still kept replacing the towels. Obviously the cleaners had not read the guidelines left in the room . Considering the overall price we paid and 2 days entry at legoland i would stay again but onlt because you do not have tospend much time in the crampt room

Room Tip: Look for deals at restaurants nearby as you can eat out cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennyr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracknell
1.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,123 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bracknell Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
1,136 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bracknell Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Bracknell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Bracknell Hotel

Address: Charles Square, Bracknell RG12 1DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bracknell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bracknell
Price Range: $81 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange Bracknell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in the city center, adjacent to Charles Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Bracknell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Bracknell
Bracknell Grange Hotel
Grange Bracknell Hotel Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing