We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

The Golden Retriever
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Bracknell
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Golden Retriever in Bracknell is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Bracknell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Been here about five times for small family meals. It's the same drill. Busy and not at all interested staff. The bar staff ignore you and the waiting staff seem overworked. Last visit despite booking we waited over 30 mins for a table. When the meals came out, the roasts were missing items and my gammon came complete with undercooked chips. Frankly, this is a chain and this is not very good. Loads to choose from in this region. I'd only go if it absolutely have too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    269
    158
    91
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I want it to be so much better”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been eating and drinking at the Retriever since it was opened. In my opinion the food has steadily gone down hill. Looking at the menu, I think they offer far too many options to be able to maintain high standards. It's a shame as it's a lovely pub with good real ales and a great atmosphere. The staff are great too. Can be frustrating on busy nights as they don't take bookings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good family pub”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for family Boxing Day meal. High standard pub food and the venue also offers a relaxing atmosphere for a nice drink. Good family pub that we go to a few times a month

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing...”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I ordered 'Seared King Scallops, with pea puree, black pudding, crisp chorizo and tomato gazpacho dressing' as a starter for £6.75. Instead of 'King Scallops' I was served one scallop chopped into tiny pieces, plus a few prawns on the black pudding . It seemed to me that they had run out of scallops and scraped something together with the prawns. It would have been nice if I'd been asked if I'd like to change my order perhaps? The waitress claimed this dish was always served with prawns.. - strange they were not listed on the menu then! The hot parts of the starter were luke warm at best - very disappointing.

My main was 'Forestiere Guinea Fowl' - the 'Forestiere' sauce tasted like a well known brand of condensed mushroom soup - very unexciting. My friends fish pie looked dried out.

The bar staff were polite, the serving staff acceptable, the guy who appeared to be the manager seemed to be going out of his way to avoid eye contact with us altogether!

It's several years since my last visit to the Golden Retreiver - I shall not be bothering again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average food & service but still a homely pub”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food is different to your avergae pub menu, something different. Service can take a while as they're always busy. They also tend to run out of things on the menu, like Sunday roast (on a Sunday?) or vegetables or evern coffee? Bit odd. Staff are always friendly & accommodating. However, there was a leak from one of the bathrooms upstairs which was dripping into a bucket in the dinning room right near our table...talk bout disgusting.

Not aimed at couples, more of a family & friends atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahHarrisWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Retriever also viewed

Bracknell, Berkshire
Bracknell, Berkshire
 
Winkfield, Bracknell
Binfield, Berkshire
 
Bracknell, Berkshire
Bracknell, Berkshire
 

Been to The Golden Retriever? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing