We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

The Golden Retriever
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Bracknell
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Golden Retriever in Bracknell is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food was,at best average,"sorry we have run out of vegetables!!!!!
Service,what there was of it was well below average,Prices where OK ish
will not be calling again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickrowlerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    255
    155
    90
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Have just returned from Sunday Lunch at The Golden Retriever. Superb! The service was exellent and so was the Roast Beef. We were too full to eat a desert. We were pleased that we booked on line, as the restaurant was absolutely full. There were many well behaved children there. The Restaurant caters well for them. The Manager is charming and very welcoming and always working hard to make the customers' visit a happy and memorable one. We will return next week for another excellent meal at a very reasanoble cost. We often drop in for a post-shopping drink. I reccomend the coffee!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHthesecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
260 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great english pub!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

It is far, but worth to visit. Good food, Quite busy always. The food and the service was very good. Deco was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Chef Needed!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

the food was less than average and so was the service. I tried one of the specials of the week and it was awful. It had alcohol in the gravy but did not mention on the board! I had only 3 pieces of meat in the pie!! No joke. Peas were cold!

I shall never eat there again. I keep going back thinking it may have improved but no more!

Drinks are very expensive too so will not be going there for drinks either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nutan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Room for improvement'”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Chose this pub because it was central to everyone. Decor good and the menu a good selection for everyone. Had booked table on the internet and received confirmation via email and text message very impressed with this. There were 5 people in our party and we all arrived separately and when we went to go to our table we were told it was not ready yet it had to be cleaned and relaid, slightly annoyed as we had booked. One of the party ordered duck and then told that there was none left. Food was ok however I felt the price was expensive considering this is only a pub and a chain at that. Service was slow and staff were not over friendly, but when it came to 10.30 they were wanting as gone and asked if we wanted the bill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Retriever also viewed

Bracknell, Berkshire
Winkfield, Bracknell
 
Binfield, Berkshire
Bracknell, Berkshire
 
Bracknell, Berkshire
 

Been to The Golden Retriever? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing