We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seems very popular Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hideout - CLOSED

The Hideout
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seems very popular Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We ate in this restaurant, and it was beautiful, lovely ambience and the food was very good served piping hot as it should be, we all had different starters and raved about each one, mains were varied with authentic dishes and again very high standard fresh and tasty. Will definitely be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    42
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great home cooked thai dish for lunch for under a fiver. Blazing fire today. Looking good after a Declutter. Also sells cask real ale.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
390 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very good lunchtime food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have eaten here twice at lunchtime and the food is very good. There is a limited menu but a good choice across a variety of dishes that cater for those who like spicy food but also cover those who like milder food.
The speed of service is good and the quality is excellent. It is also great value for money.
In terms of location The Hideout is not the easiest place to find being tucked away down an unmade road but well worth making the effort.
I haven't been there in the evening but friends I ate with have and said it is very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely food, staff and setting, would defiantly go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

More people need to know about this restaurant. The food is lovely especially the weeping tiger. Service was excellent and staff very welcoming. I do think the toilets could do with refurbishing though, they looked quite old and not the cleanest. All in all my husband and I had had a lovely evening and will definitely be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_t2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, Hants
Level Contributor
139 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very good - enjoyed it a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Once we found it (None of the other reviews, mention just how FAR into the forest this is), we found the car park and the converted bungalow eventually and had no trouble parking.
We dined on a cold Tuesday evening in November and had not booked but that wasn't a problem as they were not overly busy.
I must mention, we travelled here specifically to eat here, based on the Trip Advisor reviews and more specifically to try their Weeping Tiger dish.
After eventually choosing a suitable wine for the meal (The lovely owner, now knows that Egg's are used in the filtration process of some red wines) we ordered food as follows.
Mixed seafood Tempura - large portion and all except the squid was lovely.
Tom Yum Gai - VERY fresh tasting - will ask for Thai Hot next time
Beef Salad - Came dressed with mint which my partner hates so only had a little - nice
King Prawns with peppers n garlic - Lovely & well cooked
Panang Curry - Nice well cooked chicken - sauce a little loose?
Egg Fried Rice - good
Weeping Tiger - Stunning!!! - Worth the journey alone

Note to oneself - Next visit ask for soup to be Thai Hot as I love it REALLY hot - Order 12 x Weeping Tiger dishes per person! Only joking. Best value dish on the menu Loved it!

Service was good throughout - Decor was refreshing and welcoming

Note to owner - fit lock to gents WC as its broken/missing - and NEVER let that chef that cooks the steak dish leave or have a holiday!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitewizard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hideout also viewed

Winkfield, Bracknell
Bracknell, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing