We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely area beautiful views - basic accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Tamborine B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely area beautiful views - basic accomodation”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for the Australia Day weekend 2013. It wasn't busy as a lot of people had cancelled. Accommodations are acceptable for the price but would have liked breakfast included. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at the motel. Air-conditioning took a while to work out. The next morning the power went out and the generator kicked in. However, it didn't last for long and so we left earlier than we were going to as it was miserable and raining outside. We would like to go back for another stay when the weather was better. I would be happy to recommend this place but warn that it had just basic facilities. Our room had a spa which we didn't use. Just taking a shower was a bit perilous and the water sprayed onto the floor. It dried quickly enough but if you are a bit middled aged it could be dangerous. The gardens are lovely and it was such a pity that it was raining. There is a separate laundry area which is great if you are staying for longer than a couple of days.

Room Tip: We had the room next to reception so only had one neighbour. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    21
    13
    28
See reviews for
37
51
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a great drive down the range from mt tamborine to the bearded dragon tavern. What a great tavern it is we were welcome by a very friendly barmen who was very helpful and happy. So was the restaurant staff. The lunch was good food and very filling. There was so much to look at all the things that were collected over the year. Then to our surprise there was a reptile show the talk was great and very helpful, the kids really got into it and it was FREE how good is that. Then there was other animals to feed as well. It was a highlight of the day going to the bearded dragon hotel. Put it on you list of things to do take the kids as well. Will be going back for a girls weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Myself and my partner booked this motel before seeing the below reviews so were extremely worried about how our weekend would turn out but it was proved that you shouldn't go by other peoples views, the motel had a great atmosphere with friendly helpful staff, and the food was fantastic with the best Caesar Salad I have had in a long time.The motel hadn't received our booking from the website we booked on but again were very accommodating and nothing was a problem.The property is out in the country and was so relaxing and peaceful.If you don't expect a five star resort for the fantastic price this motel has to offer then I recommend you try it. We will definetly be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had two nights at the Bearded Dragon (3 and 4 November 2012). Obviously "Boutique" means something else in Queensland. The room was average and when we booked in there were damp towels from the previous occupants hanging on the back of the bathroom door. Around 1pm on the 4th I asked reception if the room was going to be serviced and was informed that this is a COMPLIMENTARY service which occurs on each third day and that if I had read the compendium in the room I would have been aware of this. On checking the compendium I found that additonal conditions are imposed on you after check-in. These are room service (if required prior to the third day) $30.00; change of towels $10.00; replacement catering pack (4 coffee sachets, 4 tea bags, 4 sugars) $3.00. I have strong views on the ethics of this but wonder if it is legal to impose additional conditions without disclosing them at the time the booking is made. The airconditioning even when turned down to the lowest temp of 16 degrees only worked as a fan and did not cool the room. Our room cost $179.00 per night - breakfast is extra with continental costing $16.00. There must be better options in the area and it would pay to check them out.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tamborine hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We called ahead to make sure we could check in early as we had a wedding and assured we could. When we arrived the grumpy girl on the desk said we had to wait in our car for 30 mins as the room wasn't ready. No apologies. Forget having a sleep in as people talk loudly outside your room from 7am and the blinds don't close properly so you are woken at first light. Not worth the money. Go up the mountain and stay somewhere better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BrisTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benowa, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Party of 5 for lunch. We arrived at noon on Tuesday and was only one other table at the restaurant with a party of 2 adults and 2 children.

3 people ordered the Caesar Salad, they had to check if they had enough lettuce! What the heck, it is a Tuesday, early in lunch service and they have to check that they have lettuce? They had enough for 2 Caesar Salads. One party had to change their order.

After 40 minutes we checked on our order and were told "It is coming", asked when we were told "they are being plated now". That was obviously a lie as it took 53 minutes from order to delivery, I am glad they weren't busy and I didn't have to get back to work!

The chicken parma for $26.90 - holy moly it would want to be good - unfortunately it was not, it was small and soggy and the chips were cold. I ordered a steak special from the Specials board @ $32. Medium well please. Sadly the steak was rare at best and uneatable. Chips were soggy from the blood coming out of the steak (what is it with putting other food on top of chips in Australia these days, don't they have big enough plates?).

We spoke to the wait staff about the situation and she said she was sorry. Asked for the Manager as we could tell she didn't give a toss. She said she was the Manager! There was no remorse, no offer of compensation, no regrets from her. Our friends drop $200 twice a month there or USED to, they won't be back and neither will we!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmbroseChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

HORRENDOUS DONT EVEN BOTHER!!!!! Last night we went there for the first time to celebrate my partners fathers day dinner with the family. The service was terrible!! No one came to greet us or take us to sit at our table so we were left meandering around to find where they dine. The table they finally seated us at was unstable, had hair on it and the cutlery was dirty!! The menu had only a few choices and 20 minutes later they decided to take our order!! The calamari was over cooked and the chips were cold, the "tender rib eye fillet" burgers had a tough piece of rump steak in them, my partner had the rib eye fillet with surf and turf which consisted of a piece of rump steak covered in sauce and tough as boot leather, fish and chips were re-fried, dry and gluey!! When questioning the waitress on the meat she returned from the chef and said "it's rib eye, he's been serving it day!" we then asked her to take it back as it was not edible and she returned to say "I'm really sorry but he has told just now that he ran out of rib eye and only had rump left, so yeah it's rump, but sorry" um... I wouldn't pay $32 for rump so why not say anything? We then asked for a refund when she offered us half back and once we went to the counter to retrieve our poor investment the bartender started giving us attitude and blamed it on the chef saying he's a "temp chef" and it's "not our fault you wanted rib eye " When we hadnt even said anything to her we just wanted to leave! What a joke!! To all the travelers and people who pass by KEEP DRIVING-there are beautiful restaurants only an extra 5 mins toward tamborine for the same price and cheaper!! Its such a shame as it was a very warm and homely establishment but unfortunately with poor food and customer service it ruined our night - we left hungry and furious. We thought it would be great from all the recommendations we had heard.. Years ago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foodiekat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamborine
14.1 mi away
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
5.0 mi away
Clandulla Cottages, Beaudesert
3.6 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
11.4 mi away
Annalee Motel
Annalee Motel
#2 of 3 in Beaudesert
34 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel

Property: The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel
Address: Lot 2 Tamborine Mountain Road, Tamborine, Queensland 4270, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing