We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no one at reception upon arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Tamborine B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My partner and I booked a standard room online as a last minute get away however upon our arrival in the evening we were a bit surprised. The security alarm was on and had been on for more than the 30 minutes we spent looking for someone to check us in.

There was no answer at the reception, or at the bottle shop where the buzzer had been locked away so we couldn't buzz to notify them of our arrival, after numerous attempts at phone calls (which all ended in message bank) and Wotif unable to get through we ended up leaving very unhappy and having to find alternative accommodation which was another 1 hr drive.

I couldn't possibly recommend this place to anyone, absolutely disgusting customer service (mind you I have worked in the hotel industry for several years and do not know how a business like this could still be running). Avoid At All Costs

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hayley782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 134 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed here for anniversary. Room overpriced. Pre-paid extra $20 per person for buffet breakfast upgrade from continental one - was told by disinterested bar staff that the fly blown stale bread, canned apricots and cereal constituted the hot buffet! Took multiple attempts to explain this and almost causing a scene to get the stubborn and not so switched on girl to contact a manager. Witnessed other guests experiencing probs also. Very disappointing - avoid if possible.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brisdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I found it's very old and dated. Even no reception upon arrival. Had to ask around and finally found a lady in the bottle shop. It's not romantic at all. Very expensive regarding the accommodation quality. The photos are very cheating and I would stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coldrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We decided to visit this lodge as part of theLiving deal. We were promised a romantic spa package which we are still waiting and a free gift! In addition we were told that beer tasting would be available?
The room was very average as well.
The food was nice and teh best thing there!
We gave the manager a chance to respond to our email of complaint and still waiting for our gifts......
For the price it is totally overvalued and way too pricey.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zainabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had friends visiting from overseas and spent a lovely day at Mount Tamborine. We saw the Bearded Dragon online and it looked like a great place so we decided to take our friends here for lunch. The seating area inside had no air conditioning and was stifling hot so we had to sit on some very uncomfortable seats outside. The bar staff who took our order were friendly enough but the waitresses were uninterested and looked like they didn't want to be there. Despite ordering all the meals at the same time, our meals arrived 15 minutes before our friends. Ours were luke warm and our friends were stone cold and had to be returned to the kitchen. We thought we were just unlucky until we saw ALL the other customers in the place returning their meals too. Every single table returned their meal - not a good sign. Our meals were mediocre and definitely not worth the money. Restrooms were totally disgusting, very dirty and the floors were sticky and dirty. Extremely disappointed and will definitely not be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank jag35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We booked at the Bearded Dragon as part of an on line deal. On arrival there was no one at reception and we were directed to the hotel bottle shop. The young woman there had no clue as to what to do and had me standing waiting for 20 minutes while she tried to sort herself out. She was unaware of the provisions of the inter net deal. During our 2 day stay reception was never attended and all enquiries were through bottle shop. None of the attendants were remotely switched on nor really interested in helping. At the hotel bar/restaurant, the staff were of the same calibre as mentioned before. The restaurant food was very expensive and of mediocre quality. If you wanted a drink with your restaurant meal you were told "you will have to get it yourself from the bar". Service was poor throughout. As an extra, we were entertained by three mice running around the restaurant floor. Our advice: STAY AWAY AT ALL COST. The special deal we had was attractive in print but in reality it was about the worst motel/restaurant experience in 30 years. Regards, Brian Swift

Room Tip: Anywhere else but the Bearded Dragon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brianswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Close to scenic areas of Mount Tamborine, nice pub and outside seating area.
I booked weekday rates at $99 and was very happy with room, spotless clean,
aircon and large bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel

Address: Lot 2 Tamborine Mountain Road, Tamborine, Queensland 4270, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tamborine
Price Range: $100 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Bearded Dragon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing