We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beachy Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Western verandah. The perfect spot to relax!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Western verandah. The perfect spot to relax!
Direct access to the beach
Only 80 meters Dining room and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Western verandah. The perfect spot to relax!
Direct access to the beach
Only 80 meters
Dining room and kitchen
Kitchen
flat screen TV with incorporated DVD player.
Dining and living
Sparkling ! Led lighting to change the mood
Bedroom 1 - King configuration. Soft furnishings may vary.
Bedroom 1 king configuration different time of the day.
rain shower !
eastern deck
Eastern deck perfect to catch the breeze.
Bedroom 2 king configuration
Bedroom 2 - King or twin configuration - here Twin configuration  - view to western deck
Western deck
Sunset view from western deck.The deck was not renovated on this photo.
Tallow beach great for long walks or bicycle rides
Tallow surf ... spot the dolphins
just a small detail
leave your shoes at the door, enjoy
Blood Moon rising on 28th September 2015 on Tallow beach. Glad I witnessed it !
Hi, I love to visit
Heron at Tallow Creek down the nature track
Pelicans and ibis by the creek
Kookaburra silhouette
Common grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Byron Shire, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kurt G
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beachy Retreat”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This bungalo house sits in a gated community at the end of a beach road. It's tastefully decorated and a delightful stay. The two bedrooms are identical and both have on ensuite, very modern bathrooms. Our host, Helene, could not have been more accommodating. She showed us the house, the beach, and even helped us rent bicycles. She was communicative, pleasant, and informative. The house is immaculate and the neighborhood quiet. It's a 15-20 min bike ride or the same with a car to Byron Bay, but there's a small town close by for small eats and a grocery store. The internet is via a hotspot, but works. Be forewarned, you'll get 2 Gigs free, but anything over is addl cost. I would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2017
A note for overseas guests: the Australian internet system is more expensive and less advanced than in comparable countries, especially in country areas. The Telstra 4G mobile device that I provide for my guests ensures fast and reliable access. Usage up to 3 Gb per week is complimentary, but beyond this I ask my guests to cover the expense of their usage (at cost price of $10 per Gb). This is also noted in the description of my listing so should not come at a surprise.
Really pleased that I could contribute to a great stay! It has been a pleasure to welcome you both and wish you all the best.
Hélène
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endmoorti...
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh, tranquil, with thoughtful extras for ease and comfort.”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Kookaburra Cottage is beautifully set amidst coastal bushland. You could spend all day on the back deck. It was so lovely to be there, with glimmerings of lake water through the trees, hearing the sound of the sea a few minutes walk the other way. The cottage has some great amenities, including soft lighting, an outdoor shower for after-beach, and beautiful outdoor furniture on both verandahs that give the place a wonderful indoor-outdoor feel. The local supermarket (5 minutes drive) is gourmet deluxe true to the Byron environ, and there are beautiful walks along the beach and cycle paths. The place was super clean, and Helene a generous and gracious host. We'll be happy to come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2017
It has been a pleasure meeting you and I will be delighted to welcome you again next year. My very best wishes to you. Hélène
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan J
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful beautiful setting close to beach”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My sister and I spent a delightful weekend at Kookaburra. We were met by owner, Helene, who ensured that we had everything we needed and advised on the surroundings. The cottage was spotless; its design is contemporary and relaxed. 2 bedrooms, each with en suite bathroom (shower). Docking station and WiFi were faultless. We spent a lot of time on the western deck overlooking the reserve chatting and enjoying the woodland view and sounds of the birds. During a very heavy storm I was able to curl up on the daybed, snuggled under a blanket, and watch the pouring rain; loved it! You can hear the ocean nearby and we enjoyed morning and evening beach walks.
I would not hesitate to return to this particular beach house on future holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Western deck and day bed; close to beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleV...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“5 STARS - OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Kookaburra Cottage is not only in a gorgeous relaxing bush setting with a short walking track to beautiful Tallow Beach, it is also a stunning property - fully renovated with all the modern amenities. Helene was the perfect host, so accommodating to us meeting us on arrival, showing us through the property and sharing local tips. The property has been furnished with the utmost care, beautiful quality furnishing and many facilities that most holiday rentals do not have. I highly recommend this property - thank you Helene for being so wonderful too. Michelle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful bedrooms and ensuites with door to balcony and view
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
I love my guests to feel well looked after and to be able to contribute to their enjoyment of this beautiful natural setting.
Heartfelt thanks for your kind review and being a perfect guest. I would be delighted to welcome you both anytime. My very warm wishes to you, take good care. Hélène
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brystoner...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than perfect!”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Simply awesome. The only difficulty experienced in 4 nights at the Kookaburra beach cottage was leaving! A beautifully maintained self contained cottage with all of the mod cons, tastefully decorated and you're left wanting for nothing. It's the perfect base to explore Byron Bay and surrounding attractions. Tranquil and peaceful, a stones-throw from the beautiful Tallow beach, it's close enough to town also. You'll receive a warm welcome from the wonderful Helen. Will definitely be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Your positive comments are my best reward. I strive to provide the perfect environment for my guests. A warm thank you to you both for being such appreciative guests of the cottage and its environment and treating it with your care and respect. I am forward to welcoming you next year! My very warm wishes to you both. Hélène
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbozzetto
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The perfect bungalow in the perfect location. Superbly renovated & beautifully decorated, set in a secluded spot between bush & beach, our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.
All our needs were catered for, everything you could want was provided. Close to shops in lovely Suffolk Park & a short drive to Byron Bay.
Helene was a fantastic host. Warm & friendly and at our disposal. We'd recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in Byron Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Qualiti & cleanliness of the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
It is reviews like yours that make all my efforts worthwhile. It was a pleasure to meet you and am looking forward to welcoming you for a longer stay. My heartfelt thanks to you for being such an appreciative and thoughtful guest. Best wishes. Helene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim-Sharo...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Impeccably clean and well presented with all amenities that you need.”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Helene gave us such a warm welcome. The accomodation is in a very secluded and quiet area with front and rear verandas to follow the sun :) It was lovely to breakfast outside and take a very short stroll, less than 2 minutes to the beach. Very well appointed kitchen and bathrooms, all impeccably clean. Can't wait to return for more R & R....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and peace and quiet in comfortable surroundings.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
I am looking forward to welcoming you again as it has been a real pleasure to meet you both. I am glad Kookaburra provided the perfect setting for your holiday. Thank you for leaving the cottage spotless.
Best wishes. Helene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing