We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Opfikon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel Bar”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Positive:
- comfortable seating
- excellent wine list and great choices
- breathtaking wine cellar: it was a central glass piece in the middle of the hotel lobby where 2 artists were lifted in the aire to go and get your bottle. great entertainment!!!

Negative:
- some wine might be slighlty over-priced but worth it

NA: I have not tried the rooms so I can't review them

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. It is good to see that we also have non-residential guests that take the time and comment on this site. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and that you also liked the Wine Angels.

Thank you once again and we hope you will be back again.

Kind regards,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    965
    256
    77
    42
See reviews for
325
615
262
968
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

As an airport hotel, the Radisson is above average in terms of comfort and service and those with early morning connections or who are more comfortable staying near the airport while they are in transit should find a lot to like here. I have no hesitation recommending the hotel for those travelers. A brief escalator ride connects the hotel to the airport and there is a convenient place to drop off or pick up a luggage cart for your time in the airport. There is also a small but well-provisioned Co-op market a 2 minute walk from the escalator, which means you have access to snacks, prepared foods, drinks, chocolates, etc., if you would prefer not to pay hotel prices. My room was bright and spacious with a strong internet signal, large Sony Bravia tv with nearly 10 English language channels both entertainment and news, and I found beds to be particularly comfortable, although some guests may find them a touch soft. All of these things make it one of the nicer airport hotels in which I have ever stayed. The comfortable rooms were accented by cheerful and ruthlessly efficient staff who made dealing with hotel easy and problem-free.

Zurich is routinely ranked as one of the most expensive cities in the world. It can be very difficult to find a solid hotel in the 120-200 CHF range (130-220 USD). As such, some travelers might decide to stay here in order to visit the City Center. Those guests should know that the 20-minute taxi ride into town costs between 50-60 CHF (55-66 USD). Guests can catch an S-Bahn (commuter train) from the airport to the center of town, which takes about the same twenty minutes and is much, much cheaper. These trains run every half an hour, which is a mixed blessing as after a long day of walking around Zurich, I am not always in the mood to wait another 20-30 minutes for the train.

There were some small negatives during my stay, which distracted from the helpfulness of the staff and the comfort of the rooms. First, I found the breakfast to be below average in terms of both taste and selection when compared to other Radisson hotels. I really did not enjoy my breakfast. The one highlight would have been the omelet station but this was left unattended for all but the last five minutes of my breakfast after I had already chosen other (regrettable) options. While servers were friendly, they could clearly see me waiting around the omelet station but did not offer to help or get the chef. Eggs were cold, croissants doughy and unpleasant and even though it was included free in my room rate I chose not to go back for the second day of my stay.

Additionally, the property is showing some minor age wear some paint was chipped in my bedroom and some stains were on the leather desktop. These problems are easily corrected. The overall cleanness of the room and particuarly the bathroom was good.

Other than these small issues, I had a very enjoyable stay and think the hotel has a great staff and strong potential in Zurich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twainandwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time and posting such detailed feedback on this site. Being an airport hotel, it is important that our guests have easy access both to the city and the airport. There are also some trains which run more frequently than every 30minutes. There are also trams one can take to the city center.

Thank you also for your comment regarding the breakfast - I have forwarded this onto the responsible department. We endeavour for this to not happen in future as we strive to satisfy our guests to 100%.

Thanks once again for your honest feedback and we would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any queries that might arise.

Best wishes and thank you,
Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

use this hotel quite often when I am in transit ZRH or have an early morning flight. Sleep quality if great and the breakfast quality more so. My request for rooms on the outside and with walk in showers has been recorded and always met. Nicely appointed modern rooms with free high speed internet. The bar is truly unique - the acrobatic girls make it happen.

Room Tip: if you want natural light. ask for rooms on the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great you continuously enjoy your time with us - we could not ask for more than satisfied customers!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future and that you had a safe trip back.

Kind regards,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel located within the airport terminal, which makes it well connected to arrival and departure halls. Rooms are recently renovated, with neat bathroom featuring a shower-in-a-tub which should better be replaced by a large shower cabin. The tub is too small to relaly enjoy a bath, and the added shower is not very comfortable. The bed is very comfortable, wit a firm mattress. Television screen is large with direct access to TV-channels. large windows to the outside, but well insulated. Completely sound-proof, don't expect to hear any airplane, and very good heating. Room well designed overall. Room service diner and breakfast is efficient and tasty, alhough a bit expensive.
To recommend if you have a late arrival flight and a full day conference, or an early flight.
The hotel location makes it possible to wake up 90 min prior to departure.

Room Tip: All hotel is sound-proof, no need to get rooms on specific sides to be quiet. If you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry67200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are glad you took advantage of our proximity to the airport, a definite plus knowing it only takes a few minutes to the check-in counter. We are also glad you got to try our restaurant facilities. Thank you for your comment regarding the bathroom - we take our guests feedback seriously and will discuss this matter further.

We hope you had a good trip back. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

For me THE top business Hotel. Excellent service, nice rooms, good restaurants and nice bar. Perfectly situated, for checkin you only heve to cross the road.

I use this hotel as "gold standard" when rating other business class hotels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment on this site. We are very happy you had such a good experience and enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is appreciated by many guests - we are glad you benefited from this as well.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future and wish you well.

Yours sincerely,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you're into modern design, particularly the Swiss version, this is your hotel. Design prevails everywhere. When you settle in to your room, you'll notice that the architects decided that the bathroom needed a window between the shower and the sleeping area. Ok, but if modesty is any sort of an issue, this isn't going to work for you. There are frosted stripes in the window, creating a sort of peek-a-boo effect. Clearly previous guests have objected, because a sign offers a curtain if you desire. We did, and the maid appeared right away with a quick install curtain. Problem solved.

Another curiosity of this (and many other) Swiss hotels is the use of glass to separate about half the shower from rest of the bathroom, leaving the remaining space open. This creates a challenge for the shower-er to avoid flooding the bathroom - not always easy when you've got shampoo in your eyes.

A surprising feature of the Radisson Blu is how quiet it is for an airport hotel. If there are airplanes taking off and landing nearby, you'd never know it.

Other reviews have mentioned the lobby wine tower, a plexiglass structure four stories high where wine is stored - think an inverted wine cellar. Each evening, a nubile young lady in a trapeze outfit flies around pulling bottles from the heights and bringing them down. The evening we watched, she seemed to be just moving and dusting the bottles. This isn't something you're going to see in just any old hotel.

The hotel has all the other typical traits of a Swiss hotel - well run, spanking clean, friendly staff, high prices, and small-ish rooms (the latter two by US standards in any case). The Radisson Blu's location in Zurich Airport is a big convenience for air travelers arriving late and dog tired or leaving early (or for folks who are just airport freaks). There is excellent access to the city of Zurich by tram (slower but scenic) or train, and via the latter to the rest of Switzerland. The airport is chock full of eating establishments and grocery stores, so you're not forced to eat at the hotel's restaurants - although we did and it was quite good.

I don't want this review to sound too negative - I've been to Switzerland many times and I love the place. Swiss hotels are almost always a treat (except for the shower thing). The Radisson Blu is a Swiss hotel you won't quickly forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchBroadCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very detailed and also interesting review and feedback. We are happy our guests take their time to write on this page and share their thoughts and experiences with fellow travellers - so thank you very much.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the service we offered. We hope you had a safe trip back and we would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best wishes and thank you once again,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel as I was flying out the next day. The hotel is just 5 min walk form the airport/terminal and you do not have to exist the airport in order to get in the hotel. Rooms are spacious enough for this type of the hotel, clean. Service is excellent. Restaurants are nice with great food and selection of wine (they even put a show for guest at the wine bar). Prices are bit to high (standard room was cca 250 euros per night). Great thing is the late check-out. My flight was around 6 pm and I stayed in my room untill 4 pm. You can do check-in at the hotel - this is done by friendly staff at the bussines lounge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinaMSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Blu-Zurich, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. It is great to receive reviews from satisfied guests, we could not wish for more. We are glad you enjoyed our proximity to the hotel - a plus many guests definitely benefit from.

We hope you had a safe trip back and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Knechtli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opfikon
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.2 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#4 of 10 in Opfikon
2,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
5.0 mi away
Zurich Marriott Hotel
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 138 in Zurich
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Address: Zurich Airport, Opfikon, Zurich 8058, Switzerland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Opfikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Opfikon
#1 Business Hotel in Opfikon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Opfikon
#2 Green Hotel in Opfikon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Opfikon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport is located just a few steps away from the arrival and departure areas of Zurich Airport. This enables the guest to be at the check-in area within minutes. Guests can also benefit from 69 parking spaces with direct access to the 8th floor. The Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport provides its guests 4018m2 of meeting and event space consisting of 52 Meeting and Board Rooms spread over three floors. The hotel offers Switzerland's most comprehensive range of services for multi-day conventions and conferences, as well as for smaller meetings lasting from a few hours up to a whole day. The hotel's largest room - ballroom - 'Zurich', located on the first floor with an area of 800m2, can be divided into four sections and can host up to 600 people. The spacious foyer has a spectacular view overlooking the Wine Tower.Modern hotel design in a class of its own, in the styles 'Chic', 'Fresh' and 'At Home' offered by the 330 hotel guest rooms which include the six one-bedroom 'Charme' suites and the spacious presidential suite.A spectacular highlight in the atrium lobby is the 16-meter high Wine Tower itself, which can be stocked with up to 4000 bottles of wine and champagne. All meeting delegates and hotel residents enjoy free high speed internet access in the whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Rezidor, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport Hotel Opfikon
zürich Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing