We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the cheapest - but definitely worth it”

The Villa Brasserie
Ranked #51 of 307 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $68
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The 19th Century Villa - The Villa Brasserie, Wine Bar and Terraces is overlooking the picturesque Bay of Balluta, St Julian's Valletta. The Terraces are split into 2 open spaces also ideal for Weddings and Functions. The atmosphere is homely as if you are dining in your own private villa and gardens. It is an uncomplicated and pleasant service with great music. Hope to see you soon
Devon, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest - but definitely worth it”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were here to celebrate a 'special' birthday, and were not disappointed.
Despite it being pretty busy (including a large group who were also celebrating a birthday (?)) service was friendly and prompt, and the food excellent.
Though we were outside we did not have any views as such but the tables are fairly well spaced and the general atmosphere was friendly.
Would recommend this for a special occasion, especially as it seemed to be able to house large groups and was also popular with the locals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    98
    53
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab fab fab”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We recently had our wedding on the small terrace for 14 people.
The service was excellent, the meal was described as "the best they have had since being in Malta" and it couldn't have been a better day.

Staff are excellent and all communication was very efficient.

Cannot recommend enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKegbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The old Villa and Balluta Bay as backdrop has seen many a happy couple tying the knot here. The brasserie offer outstanding food in a lovely setting. We choose this as our last night meal on holiday and it did not disappoint. A large selection of wine always helps..You are also slightly elevated with a great view of the bay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida, Malta
2 reviews
“A great wedding venue :)”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We got married this June and had a sit down dinner of approx. 130. Everyone complimented us on the good food and service. Staff was attentive and very efficient. The ambience is amazing and ideal for pictures. Thanks a lot to Chris, Rachel and Michelle for the assistance. It was much more than I expected, I will never forget our wedding day

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzie8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its not fancy. Its like anynother LeMeridien or other hotel restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Evening with friends. Long waiting time and poor service. Felt like we were forgotten.
The food was bland, luke warm and not exciting at all. The dish that should contain hazelnuts did not even have a trace of hazelnuts. The dish with pulled beef must have been micro wave heated. When the food was finished we entered the vacuum stage. No waiter did clean the table for 30 minutes. Then another 15 minutes to be able tomget the bill. Location and view is nice but that does not compensate for the very poor service and food. There are many nice restaurants to choose from, so why eat at a hotel?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aircooled_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villa Brasserie also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Villa Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing