We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there when there is a wedding/etc !”

The Villa Brasserie
Ranked #46 of 318 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $68
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The 19th Century Villa - The Villa Brasserie, Wine Bar and Terraces is overlooking the picturesque Bay of Balluta, St Julian's Valletta. The Terraces are split into 2 open spaces also ideal for Weddings and Functions. The atmosphere is homely as if you are dining in your own private villa and gardens. It is an uncomplicated and pleasant service with great music. Hope to see you soon
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not go there when there is a wedding/etc !”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked a table for 2 front row on a friday night. Wine and water came promtly on the table.Dinner order was also taken. From then all started to go wrong.Our table had three chairs. One of them was just snatched from our table by a young person slightly drunk who joined a party beside our table.He placed his chair in a way that we had to move our table to get space. That person never ordered anything. After 40 minutes I asked for our food. The waiter had forgotten to deliver it to the kitchen. The restaurant manager came to our table and promised that food would be on the house, because we wanted to leave.It took 1.5 hours before we got our food. When we got our bill,food was not deducted. We pointed that out to the waiter.The waiter reacted with obvious anger and smacked the correct bill on our table when she returned. Tip was not added.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    100
    55
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Was part of the Meridien hotel, now independent. Great location, nice views from the terrace especially if you're seating near the front.
We had a very wobbly table that the young waiter struggled to fix. It was fairly apparent that it was the table itself that was broken and not a wobbly leg. They were fine about it and changed the table. Not sure why they'd used a broken table in the first place.
My starter of red mullet ceviche was very salty as was the accompanying salad. Yes it tasted of the sea but not in a good way.
The other courses were very good especially the suckling pig chops although in my opinion they'd have been improved with the addition of some crispy skin/crackling.
The toilets were via a small lift and weren't particularly pleasant. The Ladies especially were strewed with toilet paper.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We met our friend from Spinola bay and 3 others from the area last Sunday for lunch - we didn't realise that it was Mothering Sunday and that there was a fixed price lunch ( 43 euros) but we booked for anyway and were not disappointed!
The location is fantastic - overlooking the bay. The food was really very good, the best we had in our week in Malta! Our biggest regret was only eating here once!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arundel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
2 reviews
“recommendation by our cab driver”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It is always a risque to find a fine restaurant when you are the first time in a new country. We were lucky to find a very nice cab driver who recommended a fine restaurant in Saint Julien. It is called The Villa, the location is superbe with a terrasse overlooking the beautiful bay and the gothic church. The service was fantastic, the staff made us feel very important and the place is very romantick. It made it speciale because we were on our honeymoon. The fish was very fresh and presented in a very nice way, everything was perfect and the dessert was mouth watring. We enjoyed the meal so much that we went again another three times. We wish to thank our driver from Platinum Cabs for recommending this restaurant, we will come again certainly on our next holiday! We give it 5 stars!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartineL465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best in St Julians”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am suprised to see that this is only rated 17th in St Julians- the others must be fake!
Excellent food- a wide variety making it difficult to make a decision. Portions also large. The rissoto I ordered with fungi was great, although a little rich for me- something to do with the large portion that I was determined to finish as it was so nice.
Service excellent and able to cope with a large group.
A tip that if you have a large party try and get a private front room which has spectacular view over St Julian's and a nice big square table.
An added advantage for the area is parking in the hotel. Parking is always a problem in St Julians.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villa Brasserie also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Villa Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing