We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for vegetarians”
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #15 of 318 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
Berrynarbor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great for vegetarians”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Dined here recently with my daughter who is a vegetarian. She had been getting rather fed up with a diet of mostly pasta or pizza and was very pleased to see a menu with 2 sides of suitable food. We went for the vegetarian set menu (for 2 or more people) and it was delicious. There were a lot of variety of flavours and more than enough to eat, it was a real treat, I did not miss meat at all.
We ate on the outdoor terrace, which has lovely views over the marina. The staff were delightful. We will visit again when we return to Malta.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    349
    158
    55
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This was an excellent meal with attentive service.
We had Massaman curry and Prawn curry as our main course which we really enjoyed.
You need to book if you wish to sit on the outside terrace.
To keep the price down suggest you just have water and it also helps you to enjoy the flavours.
We had a gin and tonic prior to the maln which makes up for it.
Part of the Hilton hotel but has a separate entrance.
We are staying in the Hilton
Hope this helps.
Enjoy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ManxManandWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This restaurant is a go-to place in Malta. I have visited Malta several times and gone to the Blue Elephant at least five times.

The first comment about this restaurant is simply that it is beautiful. The inside seating area is amazing with a stream running through the centre and koi carp swimming next to the tables. The outside seating area looks out over the Portomaso marina and is complete with a pagoda-style construction to sit under. It is the perfect restaurant to go to on a date or for a special occasion.

The food is also always fantastic. The menu is extensive and it is hard to narrow down what to have. Last week, members of my party had the Grouper Red Curry, Prawn Yellow Curry and various stirfrys - all of which were excellent. The only criticism is that the spice levels are defined by the number of 'elephants' there are next to each meal on the menu - these are often way off and a 2 elephant dish can be spicier than a 3 elephant dish, which left some members of my party surprised.

The starters are also excellent, particularly the plum paper prawns.

It is also always nice to see such friendly, attentive staff.

All in all, it is one of my highlights of a trip to Malta and I could not recommend the whole experience of great food, service and beautiful decor highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Re: Wedding Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is the best restaurant within the Hiton Hotel complex, and one of the nicest restaurants to have a special wedding anniversary meal. there is an extensive menu, and we sampled some of the best Thai food that we have ever eaten. Excellent staff & service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amstrads7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent celebration of the stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location with a perfect view on the bay. Excellent food and service. Very impressive, great place to celebrate!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing