We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Setting”
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #19 of 327 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $177
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Within the Hilton Hotel in St Julian's Malta, this restaurant is elegantly furnished in traditional Asian Style. The food and service is very good and helpful. If you get a seat on the patio you have a wonderful view of the Marina, so it has a really nice setting. It's a wee bit pricey and I think you are paying for where you are rather than the food. The food is good though and well worth a visit.

Thank Ewen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Ewen A,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to our Blue Elephant restaurant.
I’m glad that, overall, you enjoyed your evening with us. As mentioned previously we do employ a full time team of Thai chefs in the kitchen to ensure we maintain the authenticity of each and every dish that we serve. I have noted your comments about our pricing, we do continually monitor and compare our prices with other local restaurants of similar quality and we do offer a couple of very competitively priced banquet menus as well, giving our customers the opportunity to sample a large number of dishes in one evening.
Thank you once again and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Blue Elephant again in the future
Kind regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 865 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at The Blue Elephant and it was fabulous. We started with cocktails, which were beautifully made and we then chose to have the Bangkok Symphony Menu. 5 tasty starters, all exquisite, followed by a lovely spicy soup and 5 main courses, including a gorgeous Lamb dish, with Pad Thai and sticky rice. As if that wasn't enough, a lovely bowl of fresh fruit, cream and ice cream to end! The staff are excellent, the food just delicious and the setting perfect. A very enjoyable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jadnams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Jadnams,
Thank you very much for kindly reviewing our Blue Elephant restaurant. I am really happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your evening with us and that the team looked after you so well.
Our set menus do offer great value for money and the opportunity for our guests to sample a wide selection of dishes and I’m very glad you took the opportunity to try one of them.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

my husband and i loved it here the food was lovely and you get plenty, if there was any complaint that would be the price a bit on the expensive side but worth the experience and lovely food.

Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear dawn s,
Thank you for your great feedback. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us at the Blue Elephant. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is not the first time we have been to this restaurant, it has always been a great success for us to celebrate. The food was mouth watering ,the service was amazing,price reasonable.Even a birthday song was sung to me . We can assure you , you ll see us very soon again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank victoriabuttigieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear victoriabuttigieg,
I am very happy that our Blue Elephant team made your birthday so memorable and we greatly appreciate you entrusting us with such a special celebration.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Though personally I found it quite expensive, it was a great evening with the most relaxing atmosphere. With the Thai decor and the yacht marine surrounding me, the evening was blissful. The service was excellent, with the best approach to the clients. The food was delicious too. All in all, in my opinion, the Blue Elephant is one restaurant that everyone should visit while in Malta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elysia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Lys27,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to our Blue Elephant restaurant. I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed yourself whilst here and sincerely appreciate your recommendation.
Kind regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing