We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic”
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #14 of 311 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good food, but the decor in this restaurant is second to none. Absolutely fantastic. Trip advisor needs a 6 for this one! Recommended totally and utterly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Steve S,
Reviews such as these are what we truly strive to achieve. We sincerely appreciate your comments about the food quality and the overall ambience of the restaurant.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the restaurant in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    339
    155
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic occasion”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went there for our first year anniversary. It was indeed the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary as the ambience is perfectly suited.Once you enter the restaurant, you truly feel that you are in a Thai environment. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was super delicious and they have amazing cocktails. We chose the Royal Banquet set menu according to our likes. The starters and the chicken coconut soup were wonderful. I took a very spicy soup and although it was good, I could not eat it all as it was too hot. The main course was very good and the desert consisted of little treats and we loved them. I would recommend this place for any occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abraham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Abraham A,
We do greatly appreciate that you opted to celebrate your 1st anniversary at our Blue Elephant restaurant. We understand that landmark occasions such as this are important nights for our guests and I am truly glad that you enjoyed your evening.
Thank you for your recommendation and I do hope you visit us again soon.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This restaurant is well written about so I don't need to say much; the service is impeccable, the decor intimate, and the food sublime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graziella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Graziella E,
Many thanks for posting such a glowing review. We are always happy to receive such feedback from our clients and we do hope we see you again soon.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We took our friends, who were visiting us in Malta, to the Blue Elephant. We have visited this restaurant numerous times. However on this visit the food was well below average and for the cost, it certainly does not represent value for money, what a shame.

The service however is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fletcher7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Fletcher7_10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your experience. Whilst it’s never pleasant to read comments from dissatisfied guests it is essential information for us to act upon.

Your comments regarding the food quality have been shared with the head chef who will conduct his own investigation into what may have gone wrong.

Thank you once again and please, should you decide to give us a chance to redeem your faith in our food quality, I would greatly appreciate it if you contact me directly to make your booking.
euan.phillips@hilton.com

Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Escape to Thailand with style!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We are so sorry we haven't been to this place before!

The food is divine, the Thai setting absolutely wonderful and the service second to none.

Dining here is an absolute treat!

We went for the set menus - they offer a wide range of little dishes - a real joy for the senses!

All things considered this place is not that expensive. You really get your money's worth.

I will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Afrodeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Afrodeeta,

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable evening at our Blue Elephant restaurant. We aim to achieve this level of satisfaction with all our guests and it’s always great to receive such positive feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing