We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for me really”
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #14 of 311 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
171 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“not for me really”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The price of this place is really more than I am willing to pay, having said that I have been here 3 times and have little to complain about personally. The staff are good. The food is good, just not amazing which makes the high bill hard to swallow.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear hanamw,

Thank you for your review and repeated patronage. Your positive comments about our team members are much appreciated. Regarding our pricing strategy, whilst we may be in the higher end pricing bracket I do believe that we offer great value for money and do try to create an overall Thai experience in the restaurant.

Thank you once again and I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    339
    155
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely place to eat great food.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very good smell as you enter and a very well presented restaurant. Varied and genuine menu.enjoy this fine experience.several other restaurants within the hotel if you don't love Thai food

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 103DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear 103DavidM,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Blue Elephant restaurant after your recent visit. Your kind comments will be shared with all the team.

Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a luxury”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The whole atmosphere is absolutely fantastic and the food and wine are spectacular as is the setting. A lovely place to go for a special occasion or justa holiday treat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaltaloverTWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear MaltaloverTWells,
Thank you for such a positive review. I am truly glad that you enjoyed your evening so much and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Sicilia, Italy
2 reviews
“Food was amazing, service not so great.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The food and the atmosphere was fantastic. The service was not great, the table next to us that arrived a good 10 min after we did received their beverages first and I feel we weren't given reasonable service because we were not as dressed up.
The prices are a little steep, be very careful when you order a starter, we ordered a starter that had a little bit of everything and when the waitress asked if we wanted it for two we replied yes and then realized later she charged us for two starters. Looking back there was more food on the platter but the waitress should have clarified.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sheila H,
We do greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our Blue Elephant restaurant. It would appear that on this occasion the service level did not reach our usual high standards, for this I apologise. Please rest assured that all our clients are given the same treatment and service. I will discuss your comments with the restaurant manager and corrective actions put in place to ensure that this does not happen again.
I’m pleased to read your comments about the food quality and overall atmosphere in the restaurant.
I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the restaurant and, hopefully, restore your faith the service we offer.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked a table for two online on the restaurant's website and had a reply within minutes from an extremely professional and helpful restaurant manager Mr. Matthew Debono who even had a special desert prepared for us when I told him that it was our wedding anniversary.
The restaurant's decor is first class and well maintained and service is extremely good. Now for the food, which after all is the most important thing for you when you visit any restaurant. This was our first taste of Thai cuisine and the only thing that I did not fancy much was the soup, but that is a question of personal taste. I would also suggest that one chooses one of the set menus, which although not cheap, would be cheaper than ordering many individual items. Our meal for two including two Thai cocktails one bottle of water and a Royal Thai set menu for two came two 117 euros.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lahamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Iahamada,
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts after your recent visit to our Blue Elephant restaurant. We are very lucky to have a team that are truly focused to ensure our guests enjoy the total Thai experience. It’s always great to see any of our team members mentioned by name in such a glowing fashion.

Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing