We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Start to New Years!”
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #19 of 332 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $177
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hands down THE best service of any restaurant we have ever visited..The Blue Elephant in the Malta Hilton was at first, just a convienient choice after an exhausting day of sightseeing, but such a surprise awaited us! Sam the jolly host made room for us on New Years Weekend in the luxurious Thai jungle setting with waterfall, bridges and impeccable, elegant service. There was something for everyone even if you're not a Thai food fan, and the menu is almost too much to make a choice. Our delightful waitresses, gorgeous and dressed in long gold dresses made excellent suggestions, thank you Urarak and Vanida! So good was the service, food, wine and atmosphere, that we ate in the Blue Elephant again vs venturing out into St Julians! Unheard of for a travel agent not to explore! Matthew, the convivial Manager was friendly and efficient and truly weloming. It was beyond a job of service for this restaurant, I felt they were happy and the food was an incredible pleasure for them to serve and watch us savor it all--kudos to the chef as well. We are sorry not to have you closer--open up in Dublin! Thanks everyone..The American Family living in Dublin..:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Kathleen L,
Receiving reviews like this is what we aim to achieve. We understand that New Year’s Eve is a special occasion for everyone and are very glad that we made this one a night to remember.
From all the team here at the Blue Elephant, thank you and please do pay us a visit on your next trip to Malta.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,030 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

the restaurant is elegant and if it's summer you can book outside which have a wonderful view. the service is silver service and the thai food is excelent.

Thank DanielaMallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear NoAngel208,
We are all very happy that you enjoyed your evening with us and thank you for your kind comments.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just had another fantastic meal in the Blue Elephant. Gorgeous thai food in a wonderful setting, well worth a visit even if you have to sit inside (weather not good enough in December to sit outside unfortunately!). Took my elderly father there and even he enjoyed the food despite not liking "spicy stuff" - the stir fried sirloin with mushrooms, onions and baby sweetcorn was pronounced "really nice".........

Friendly helpful staff who enjoy working there and it shows.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jfd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear jfd40,
Thank you for your repeated patronage and for leaving this review. Our team in the Blue Elephant work extremely hard to provide a total ‘Thai experience’ and recognition like this from our guests makes it all worthwhile.
Be sure to pay us a visit in the summer so you can take advantage of the outside dining area overlooking the marina.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Located near the Hilton hotel. lovely views and inside was the same. Just like the Fulham branch the service is 5 star and food out of this world. Go here and try some Thai Rabbit!

Thank Vshah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Vshah11,
Thank you for taking the time to publish your review of our Blue Elephant restaurant. All the team are delighted that you enjoyed your experience so much and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We love Thai food and I have to say this is the best Thai we have eaten- really authentic, fresh and so flavoursome!! Service is great and the surroundings are absolutely stunning- we were sat next to a waterfeature with carp swimming around- very serene and the cocktails at fab- make sure you get one before dinner !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheDicksons33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear TheDicksons33,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the Blue Elephant. To hear that our food ‘..is the best we have eaten’ is wonderful and your comments will of course be shared with the kitchen team. Our selection of cocktails have many Thai twists to them and between 6.30 -7.30pm ,, 7 days a week,you can take advantage of 2-1 offer on them.
Thank you once again.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing