We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always consistently great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #13 of 306 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always consistently great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This has got to be one of my favourite restaurants of all time! I have eaten here several times and I keep going back because the atmosphere is so special, service is perfect, the food is authentic and having been to thailand several times I can honestly say that this is so close to what you would eat in thailand.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    329
    151
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Blue Elephant has a wonderful theme and great selection of food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We thought the food was great, we have eaten at the a
London branch before, and the quality is similar. The Mai tai wasn't the best and the glass size was tiny- but apart from that great service
- we would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ems2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Special something”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a reservation and upon arriving were given option of seating both inside and outside. We chose the air conditioned interior which is decorated like a small corner of a village.

The service was brilliant and a big well done to all the staff is a must who attended to our every needs. For first timers I should point out to take note of the elephants on the menu. The more elephants you have on the dish, the hotter it gets! I chose a mildly spiced rabbit main which was heavenly, a mix of coconut, curry and a total feast for the palate.

Would definitely suggest the place. Central, Service, Selection were all optimal

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a total surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We visited the Blue Elephant in May - it is located in the very plush Hilton development and was a total revelation - a little (well, quite big!) piece of Thailand in Malta. The restaurant is huge, but is divided into smaller, more romantic sections. Food and staff were excellent, and although the food was expensive it was absolutely worth it. I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion - and a walk around the Hilton complex, with its other restaurants, bars and massive yachts is also pleasant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Whilst the food is on the expensive side, it is of high quality and therefore probably worth the cost.

However watch out for the drinks which are at 5 star hotel prices, meaning that you'll end up paying approximately twice as much for local wines & beers as most other restaurants reviewed on this site.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank APW186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing