We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First week February 2017”
other travelers have booked this property
View of Studio Front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Studio Front door
 Relaxing or Sipping a Cool drink in the Garden Shade! in Summer of course!! Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
View of Studio Front door
Relaxing or Sipping a Cool drink in the Garden Shade! in Summer of course!!
Garden
Window View from kitchenette
View from Kitchen
Cooling off after a swim!
newly added Double Bed
Cottage Style kitchenette
shower
kitchenette
Pool
Wardrobe + two drawers/Reading armchair
Desk/Table/two stools
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
198albert...
Santa Maria, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“First week February 2017”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Students studio in St.Julians/Swieqi . Vivienne and husband Joe are warm and friendly Maltese hosts, who wanted to ensure my stay and visit would be to the level desired. They sat with me to learn of my plans for the week, and made suggestions to complement the daily travels. The local bus stop is only a 5 minute walk or so and the studio is close to a major café and restaurant district. It was very easy to be anywhere in a short period of time. Vivienne and Joe did their best each day to help me prepare for the next daily adventure. If I had questions after my day's events, they would take the time to explain or discuss.

The studio is a superb accommodation for the person wishing a great bed, a small kitchen for breakfast or late supper, and room in the bathroom and shower. In the summer I can only assume the pleasure of sitting in the back yard enjoying Maltese sounds and using the pool to refresh and play. I sat in the yard on my last day Saturday and with the sun and warming temperatures felt at ease.

The studio and the hosts together make for an exceptional experience to learn more of the culture, to ensure each day is filled with inspiring adventures, and to recoup with the satisfaction of a wonderful experience. Without a doubt Vivienne and Joe make the guest feel accepted. I place an excellent rating because all aspects for my visit were way above the level I had expected to have.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Dear Albert,
It was truly our pleasure to assist you and delighted that your holiday was such a success! The pleasure was ours! thank you for your kind words!
best regards
Viv and Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Malta experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely holiday. The owners are a very kind, helpful couple with lots of ideas for visiting places and restaurants.
The place is located in a quiet area of St Julians but near the beach, restaurants, bus stops and supermarkets. The fishshop was our favorit and we used the fantastic BBQ (gascooker) to grill the fish.The studio is wel equipped en very clean.
St Julian's is very central, you don't need to hire a car. Buscard for 7 days cost €21 and brings you everywhere in Malta en Gozo.
After visiting great places like Mdina, Valetta, Marsascala you can chill in the beautiful garden with pool.
We shared the garden with the familie but don't worry about your privacy. We had our own area with table, chairs. You only have contact with the family if you want to. We enjoy the discussions with Vivienne, Jo en their sons.
Thank you for the great time in Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kindeness of our hosts,quiet location, pool, BBQ
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments we thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests, we are very happy that we were able to assist you and to get to know you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosliwoj
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location on the island”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We concur with the other reviews: The studio apartment is compact and charming with blue and white Mediterranean decor; it contains everything you might need, and Joe and Vivienne are friendly, welcoming hosts, ensuring you feel part of their close-knit family. The location is perfect - away from the hurly-burly of the tourist resort, but within a few minutes walking distance, or a single stop bus ride. On the main road opposite the street's entrance is the bus stop for several buses, which travel along the coastline to Valletta, allowing you to jump off at each bay or walk the length from St Julians to Sliema, where the boat rides and main store shopping area (all the big name shops) is located. On the same side of the main road you can catch the 222 bus to all the northern coastal resorts and beaches and to the Gozo ferry at Cirkewwa to explore Gozo and Comino. We took the X2 bus from directly outside the airport to St Julian terminus to start our holiday, and bought an unlimited Explore Tallinja bus card just before the airport exit, which we used on the X2 and which allowed us to travel easily around the island very cheaply on the air-conditioned, frequent, excellent bus services. There is parking at the accommodation, and we were going to hire a car, but there is little need to do so, and we enjoyed the freedom and convenience of the card to expore the whole island. Joe and Vivienne are very informative about the sights and attractions, and Joe let us know about a local fiesta and fireworks we would have otherwise missed. Vivienne has also included various leaflets to peruse in the studio, a nice touch.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2016
Thank you Jo very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our studio!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice W
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A hidden gem located in a quiet residential area of St Julians. The studio was well equipped with everything needed for our stay and spotlessly clean. We had the use of a lovely pool and our own area outside with a table, chairs and umbrella so we could eat Al fresco every day.

The studio was located very close to bus stops giving access to Malta and Gozo without the need of a hire car.

The owners were welcoming, a mind of information of places on the islands to visit which without there knowledge we would have been unaware.

All in all a good first visit to malta.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Dear Janice thank you so much for your kind comments, so glad you had an enjoyable experience with us in Malta.... Glad to have been of assistance to you with regards local knowledge!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marta1232...
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a very pleasent stay.

Our hosts were very kind and helpful and more than willing to give tips on where to go, what to see and where to eat. For someone who prefer more privacy, this might not be what you are looking for, but if you want to get a good feeling of Maltese culture this is definitely a good choice.

The place is located within walking distance to the beach, restaurants and bars as well as good connections to the rest of Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindeness and openess of our hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Thank you for your review. Yes One can say that the garden is shared by the family however during the day it is more often than not empty so one can enjoy the pool deck and garden completely and in the evening my husband and I enjoy a glass of wine for half an hour when he comes from work before dinner, so basically that's it.....!!.As owners we have our own little table outside our conservatory so we in no way impose ourselves on our guests (who have their own table and chairs), the garden is big enough (easily fits 6/8 tables) for our guests to remain in their own space and not be disturbed. In your case Marta you and your husband enjoyed socializing with my husband and our friend, as you would join them on our table on most evenings and why not? However I do not wish other guests to think that we will in any way be intruding on their privacy. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Real Maltese Experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely holiday, the studio has everything that you need, including a lovely pool and nice garden to enjoy. Within walking distance to St julian's bay and local shops.
Vivienne and her family make you most welcome.
If you want to experience Maltese life, then this is the place to do it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, hospitalty, garden, cosyness of the studio
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing