We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Portomaso Marina

Portomaso Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is an interesting marina as it is almost closed in. It's surrounded on three sides by the Hilton Hotel, various restaurants and expensive apartments. It's jammed packed with expensive yachts moored up near the restaurants but if you walk round it past the Hilton you come to a place where you can walk right out to the sea or sit and watch children being taught to sail small yachts. We saw about 10 little yachts being towed out to sea by a couple of motor boats and later on when we were coming back from Sliemma the children were still out there sailing together.

It's an ideal spot for eating out as the steps down to the Marina have several restaurants spread out on either side so that you pass different ones on different levels. There is a huge variety to choose from: Italian, Japanese, American, Brazilian, Chinese, Pizza, Fish - can't remember them all but I think there are about 10 different ones so it's a really good place to go if you can't decide what to eat. If you're full up and can't make it back up the steps, don't panic, there's a lift to help you out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    216
    60
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Average food, below average staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to this Cafe purely for the wifi, as we was staying at the Hilton.
The Staff seemed friendly, but in an empty Cafe it was extremely slow trying to get a member of staff to take your order, on one particular night I had two female staff arguing about tables and tips, and litterally nearly coming to blows..even to the point that for 10 mins I was trying to settle my bill, but was ignored.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank magoo29272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr. York, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Portomaso Marina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

A lovely, scenic place to sit and have a drink, snack or meal. Always something to watch out on the water or on the walkways...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marinas are always marinas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Perfect for an evening stroll. After looking at the boats you can get a drink or a meal at plenty restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl-Henric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Dont make a special trip there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We purposefully went looking for this as had read some good reviews. We could see the Hilton from our Hotel so just headed in that general direction.

It was easy to find, we went down some stairs that took us into the marina. It was very small and quiet. The boats were pretty impressive and we took some good pictures. There were a couple of restaurants that were pretty quiet, though given the time of the year I’m not surprised.

If you are walking in the general direction its worth a look but I would not make a special trip there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BamMargera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portomaso Marina also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Portomaso Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing