We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valentina
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed for five nights in January. Very clean, modern hotel in a quiet side street in Paceville. Service was very good, especially from the bar and front desk. Easy transport connections - Malta has an amazing bus service - 1.50 euro all day for all routes. Paceville and St Julien's is very built up. But get to Mdina (hour on bus) and up to the ferry for Gozo (just over the hour) to visit the smaller island for some countryside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NAllinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,980 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Valentina over Christmas 2013 and enjoyed every minute. The staff are friendly, helpful and courteous, the hotel modern and clean. The weather wasn't great during our visit and St Julian's was a bit too commercialised for our tastes, but staying at the Valentina made up for it, where we felt very welcome and comfortable. Lovely, well appointed rooms with very comfortable beds, which are cleaned to a hight standard daily. A great selection at breakfast, the staff catered to my allergy to dairy by providing soya milk each morning and where also very helpful in providing additional items (such as sliced lemon for tea) when asked. The Avenue restaurant, which is run by the same family deliver room service for free and you get a discount as a hotel guest when you eat there, which was great. There is also a stunning pool and sun terrace on the roof, which we did not get the benefit of using due to the winter weather, but which would be fantastic in warmer months.

Room Tip: The hotel is near a few bars, which can get quite noisy at night, so a room on a higher floor might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenmanghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Excellent in every domain - location, rooms, cleanliness, service, breakfast, value
Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here again.
Nice transfer service by the driver Tyrone, who drove me to the airport for a very early flight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank nathan091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

stayed with friends - hotel was easy to find, with free parking. staff were outstanding - friendly and helpful.
There are no restaurants on site - just breakfast room (pretty good selection) and lobby bar/cafe (the best cocktails made by super bartender, Armando). But this is ok because plenty of restaurants close by (tip: skip sister restaurant, The Avenue, and go straight to Il Piratta - one of the best we had in Malta - went back 2x).
but overall, very good indeed.
Will definitely stay again if i return to Malta.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank linapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been to a conference and it was a perfect choice to stay. Comfortable, clean and nice room, with helpful and kind staff. I recommend to ask for the airport transfer, too, Tyrone, the driver is very kind and it is a very comfortable way to get to the hotel (or back to the airport) quickly. I also enjoyed the breakfasts - and I loved the design of the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zsofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Clean and very well decorated rooms. All staff was very helpfull. The location of the hotel is excellent. Even there is a pub infront of it thanks to soundproofing you wont be disturbed with voice level. Breakfast was excellent too. Im planning to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzgurTetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Like most travelers, I consider Hotel Valentina a great option when staying in Malta.

Good points include:
- Great location, in a pretty quiet street of Paceville, with lots of shops, restaurants and supermarkets nearby
- Nice clean stylish rooms, almost brand new (extension opened in July 2013)
- Great front staff (they helped us organizing a car rental without having to go outside)
- Competitive pricing, especially when reserving for 5 nights or more (15% discount plus free mini bar)
- Fast free wifi
- Free car park
- Rooftop swimming pool (although it was closed when we stayed there)
- Upon arrival we were offered a free cocktail

However there are a few small things that I did not like:
- Upon reservation a deposit was charged on my credit card whereas the reservation confirmation indicated that the full amount was due at check-in
- In the bathroom there is not much space to put your own things and the amenities are limited
- The breakfast buffet could be improved (the orange juice was not that good, the coffee machine is average, the toaster does not work well)

Room Tip: I would advise to ask for a room on the high floor (level 4 minimum) facing the street (Dobbie) in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,400 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentina

Address: Dobbie Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3070, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $92 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valentina 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Valentina a superior boutique hotel situated in the heart of Paceville’s entertainment hub, and just minutes away from two of Malta’s top casinos, public beaches, night clubs and restaurants. The Hotel has a luxuriously finished stylish lobby, reception desk, and an innovative theme bar extending to an entrance terrace, a breakfast hall, and a dedicated marketing and promotion desk. There is also a freshwater swimming pool surrounded by an attractive open air pool deck and an open pool bar. The hotel affords a total of 94 rooms, all of which are designated non-smoking. The Valentina is a gay and lesbian friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentina Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Valentina Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing