We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrid rooms and disgusting food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horrid rooms and disgusting food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The First room was absolutely awful with a horrible, horrible bathroom. Heavily stained toilet & hose over bath for a shower. Also woken up by building works early Saturday morning as they are extending the hotel. After two nights I complained and got upgraded to a "superior room" in a newly built section of the hotel which was much better. However, like the first room, the very narrow single bed was very hard with a tiny lower sheet rather than a fitted sheet. This meant I kept waking up lying on the mattress as the lower sheet was far to easy to move. The new air conditioning unit was also very, very loud with a bright display that kept me awake at night. So that was turned off at the mains and I slept with the window open. Bathroom had small shower cubicle and cheap taps which were already so corroded that the popup plug did not work. What is the point of saving £10 on a set of taps when you need to replace them after 12 months??? However the room did have an amazing balcony which was very large although the balustrade was already loose and will doubtless cause an accident one day. I was there half board, but the food was awful so ended up eating out all the time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    221
    244
    137
    166
See reviews for
73
315
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Kreuznach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

“The hotel was dirty, i.e. hair on the floor, no towels in the room, bedspread with revolting spots on the bed. The window in the room opened to an air shaft and was covered only with a sheer curtain without normal drapery.

The table on the balcony was covered with glass stains from previous guests (these were evident upon my arrival!), and the chairs on the balcony were extremely dusty and dirty. The air conditioner in the living area (kitchen and living room) was covered with black mould in the corners and the dirty condensation water dropped onto the kitchen cabinets. There was mould on the rim of the shower, the drain was filthy and an older deposit or remains of something indescribable was on the bathmat. The refrigerator finally worked after I searched the entire room for the fuse box (which was outside!). And, by the way, the refrigerator was not even cleaned prior to my arrival. I cleaned it myself with a mixture of Sagrotan and mouthwash.

The hotel was extremely loud. Every night there were loud shouts from parties being held in the rooms – and that every night! It was simply not possible to sleep here!

The rooms were “cleaned“ from early morning through the afternoon. The trash bags were deposited all over the hallway and many of the various cleaning carts remained in the halls until evening. It was often necessary to clear a path through the trash to get to the elevator. The dirt that accumulated in the halls due to the nightly parties also remained until evening.

I checked in on Saturday. I got towels on Monday. However, they were either torn, had holes in them or were dirty. To top it off, the hair from the previous user was still found in these “clean” towels. The room was “cleaned” starting on Monday, but the hairs that were on the floor remained on the floor – moved from one place to another – the entire week. And, to my complete revulsion, the dirty water from “cleaning” the room was poured into the kitchen sink without rinsing and cleaning the sink afterwards, resulting in a truly disgusting layer of dirt in the kitchen sink. Needless to say, I did not use this sink during my stay at all.

At breakfast, the places that had been used by other guests were “cleaned up”, but the fork from the previous guest was first fleetingly checked and then simply laid back onto the table to be used by the next guest.

Finally, it seemed that the hotel personnel were unable to issue an invoice, even though it was requested a number of times. It was only after my third complaint and the threat that I would come back every hour on the hour until an invoice was issued that I ultimately received one.

Room Tip: Ein guter Tipp für die richtige Zimmerwahl: Suchen Sie ein anderes Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianneSt_Julains, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I was truly surprised when reading the said letter of complaint. Booking for Dr. Lauber was made for a single room and a sea view apartment was allocated to her which usually to her which usually is booked at a supplement.

Please note that all arrivals are checked by the Housekeeper and unless the receptionists receive a confirmation from her that the room is ready to be allocated, the clients are not given the room. The sheer curtain which is being mentioned is a lace curtain. Be informed that this apartment forms part of a new building which we recently bought and has been interconnected with the hotel. A designer has been employed to furnish the rooms. Since the balcony overlooks the road it may possibly be the case that some dust could have been seen on the balcony chairs but this certainly does not mean that the balcony had been left unclean.

On checking the records it was noted that various maids cleaned Dr Lauber's room. One of the maids who cleaned her room three times is one of our best employees and we never received any complaints.

Signage in the hotel lift and the information directory left in every room clearly states that the refrigerator is at a charge. When clients ask us to hire it our maintenance man switches on the fuse. On checking Dr. Lauber's bill it resulted that there wasn't charge for this.

Regarding noises in the corridors, please note that at night we employ two security personnel to supervise the hotel and if any disturbance is incurred the said personnel warn the guests concerned. Dr. Lauber did not bring any disturbance she incurred to our attention. I am sure that if she did, our staff would have stopped the inconvenience immediately.

Maids start cleanign the rooms at 09.00 am and finish at 16.00. Corridors are cleaned at 15.30 and the maids make sure that all cleaning trolleys are placed in their respective rooms. Trash bags ae cleanred from the corridor just before lunch break at 12.30 and after cleaning the corridor at 15.45. Moreover our night manager checks the corridors when he starts his shift and if anything is left iti is removed.

Whislt checking the kitchen sink there is no sign that dirty water is being thrown in the sink. If it was the case the drains would block and the sink drain would be black and not as white as new.

The receptionsists confirmed that one night Dr. Lauber asked the receptionist about the towels. New clean towels were taken to her room. Towels and bathmats are change every three months. Laundry is cleaned in the hotel laundry which is equipped with industrial machines and driers to meet for the demand when th hotel has full occupancy.

The invoice which is beinf refered to, refers to the services of a taxi. The invoice has been posted. Ultimately please note that during Dr. Lauber's stay we had full occupancy and we did not receive any complaints. In September we hosted a Health Minister who attended the Who RC62 conference. Head Receptionists clearly remembers Ms. Lauber as a a very nice person who never complained at the reception desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The room offered on arrival was turned down flat!. The floor had not been swept, there was chewing gum on the bedside mats. No water in the toilet cistern, which was hanging off the wall.
The air conditioner sounded like a Speedway Motorcycle.
Very disgruntled staff eventually found us another room which was in much better condition. However, on the fourth night we found it infested with cockroaches!
The telephone in the room did not work. When a friend called, reception said we were not registered.
Breakfast every day consisted of watery beans, rubbery eggs and tinned sausages.
"Free Toiletries", one tiny bar of soap, and toilet rolls were only replenished on request.
The worst Hotel in Malta in my IMHO

Room Tip: Dont even try!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megthedog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here as a group at the beginning of October and if you only need a bed for the night with no other requirments its the place for you.But if you expect the standards required for a 3 star hotel you will be very dissapointed.
Rooms. Small, not that clean,shower and loo pressure non exsistant,air conditioning that just blows the air around you doesnt cool and on one of our three days the maids "forgot" to clean the room or change the towels.
Restaurant. We only tried breakfast. Poor. Cold. Cheap and not cheerful.
Pools. Out of commision and sight until next year.
Staff. Although polite and appear to be helpful, there is simply too much wrong for them to cope.
Clientele. The reason for my title is that management have obviously decided that there is more profit from scores of students booked in and running riot through the hotel. They were loud ,boisterous and ill disciplined. We witnessed the police in the hotel each night we where there, dealing with some problem or another.
And finally. The reception will require a 30 euro deposit per head on check in, which when you check out and you wait for 20 mins for someone to report that you have been a good boy and not wrecked your room , they will return to you. This is a lot up front if a family for example booked here.
All in all I was very dissapointed with this hotel. Please, if your over 21 ,book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merseymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Once you enter the hotel lobby you start to smell the desinfection liquid. The smell makes me sick. No children`s room, no gym. Pool is under repair. No breakfast included in the price. All rooms outside 6th floor very noisy. One can hear everything from the corridor. No free internet. There is a lot of construction work going on. No shampoo in the rooms. Worn out beds. Stone floors with no carpets. Hot water is occational. It is cheap so you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Take a room from the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in July for work. Every single night I had to call reception to complain about noise. This was largely people running up and down corridors shouting and/or talking loudly; people banging doors and moving furniture. The walls are so thin that you feel like they are in the room with you. The A/C is really ineffective and the whole place desperately needs a refurb. The staff were really friendly and courteous. It's a shame the building doesn't live up to their standards.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AcademicTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

we stay there last year hotel is clean staff nice food ok its a 3 stars so you dont expect a palace so no suprises good value for money very good location beautiful viev on ocean a and casino

Room Tip: we choose a 3rd floor stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#14 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Property: Alexandra Hotel Malta
Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing