We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location on Malta”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“The best location on Malta”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I used to live on Malta in 2004, I have been there 4 times after. And I believe that the hotel has the best location on Malta. It is located In Pacheville, in heart of nightlife, surrounded by restaurants, shops. Supermarket (one of the biggest and best on Malta) is across the road, sea is 200 meters far, the large shopping centre (working until 22:00) is within 300 meters. Fast-food and night clubs are 300 meters away. Despite of that the hotel is quiet and comfortable. Hotel has view to Portomaso Tower, the only skyscraper at Malta and Hilton hotel.

Someone thinks that being at Malta you should live in Valletta since it is a capital. But there is absolutely nothing to do at Valletta after 20:00! The city is good for a day trip, but you won't find evening entertainment there. There is no beach also. From Pacheville you may reach Valletta by bus or taxi. For example we usually walk from Pacheville to Sliema and back by foot.

Do not expect 5 star room (you should go to Hilton than), but the room has everything the traveler needs. There are a fridge (remember, you have a supermarket across the road with plenty of wine, drinks and food), an air condition, a free Wi-Fi internet, a TV set with international channels. Some rooms have very nice balconies with tables and chairs for relaxing wine-sitting at evenings. Laundry service is also available on a very reasonable price.

Good pizzeria is located on the ground floor of the hotel. They use a real oven stoked up with firewood to make pizza. The breakfast was normal. I cannot say it was rich, but it wasn't meagre also.

The staff was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed for 7 nights in total, but in the middle of our stay we went to Gozo for a weekend stay. The hotel owner was kind enough to store our luggage during a weekend we have been at Gozo. Moreover we arrive to Malta 1 day later because of flight cancellation. The owner didn't charge us for that night! That does him credit.

My advise to stay at this hotel, rent a car and explore Malta by car. Don't forget to make a Gozo trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    156
    79
    19
    19
See reviews for
32
129
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We were booked at the Rokna while waiting for our room at another hotel to become available. The staff is friendly, the rooms are modest but clean and the breakfast is put on nicely. We got a good deal on the room, and the location is great (near bus, supermarket, nightlife, restaurants). My only gripe is that when we notified them we were staying just two nights, they moved us to an inferior room the second night. I guess this is because someone who was going to be staying longer got prioritized. The first room we stayed in was fine enough (one of those with balcony), but the next room was smaller, had no balcony and the a/c didn't work. We would've said something, but we were checking out the next day. The staff was friendly and accomodating. All in all, I would recommend the hotel as a good value and just caution about asking for a room with a balcony as these seem to have better a/c units, tvs, etc.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

After reading other reviews of this hotel, I chose and I am happy that it was a positive experience for the money paid. A drawback is the noise, unless one is a bit higher up. There is free internet but one has to go to the ground floor to really have a continuous access. Very near the sea and good location but a bit away from Valetta, capital. Taxi fares are exorbitant in Malta! So look at where you want to go first and then choose a hotel as there are many and many there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Rokna in Saint Julian's. It's well situated for the nightlife in Paceville, though not so close that the noise from the clubs keep you awake. We did find the level of street noise on Friday and Saturday nights is far greater than other nights and might disturb your sleep occasionally, especially the hot-rod cars that drive by!
The interior of the hotel is a little hostel like, but clean and simply furnished. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, but they do provide you with a fridge for a cold drink. The TV carries the local channels and an occasional English speaking one (BBC News, BBC Enterntainment, History Channel, etc). The breakfast is a simple affair of toast and jams or cheeses/ham with fruit juices and an apple or orange, but is is sufficient to get you going. They make an excellent pizza which is more than enough for one (my wife and I shared one), so do try the restaurant in the evening.
If you want an inexpensive base in St. Julian, you can't go far wrong with the Rokna. I would be happy to use it again.
P.S. A beach at St. George's Bay is a 10 minute walk away (turn left at the bottom of the street) and internet access is now totally free!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PathManSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel is great value for money.
Located in St Julians it is ideally located for nightlife of Paceville, bus stop to other towns is around the corner and a beautiful marina accross the road.
The rooms are basic - tiled floor, small shower room but confortable. Balcony on rooms on first floor. Roomshad a fridge which was useful for drinks etc.
It appears to be a family run hotel and the staff were most helpful. Adviced us where to go and things to do.
Breakfast was very nice. Restaurant in the hotel was amazing.
Would highly recomend St Julians as a holiday location and Rokna as a place to stay

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in March. The hotel is simple and fairly basic, but more than makes up for it with the excellent service from the owners and their staff. Nothing was too much bother, always with a smile.
We where given a 1st floor room on arrival, even though has asked for a high floor room, but no problem, so were very surprised the next morning to be offered an exchange to not only the top floor, but given a self catering apartment, which was much quieter and with a balcony as well.
The breakfast are basic, cereals, toast, ham and cheese, tea, coffee , various fruit juices and some cakes, but more than adequate to set you up for the day.
The area is very, very busy Thurs/Fri and Saturday nights, from around 8pm till dawn, so well catered for if you like partying, but not too bad if you are an older couple like us.
Very easy walking distances to most areas, and even easier catching the busses, or tour rides. We hired a car from the airport, with the only problem being finding a parking spot due to the amount of traffic, but there is an underground car park opposite which is only a max of 5 euros for 12 hours.
This was our first time to malta, but look forward to going back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parickbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I'm glad I've chosen Rokna for my couple of days stay in St. Julian's/Paceville. Mostly because of its excellent price performance ratio and for the very friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel enjoys a great location, withing easy walking distance to everything in Paceville (including a small bus terminal stop), good soundproof windows (better be closed because of the traffic), a nice balcony (not in all floors), an airconditioning that works, wireless Internet, a small satellite TV and a fridge. The room was pretty quiet, once the windows were closed.

The hotel runs a pizzeria restaurant, and there is a supermarket store across the street (remember, the fridge ?). Nice, served continental breakfast is included in the room price. The WIFI is not free but is very reasonably prices (8 EURO for unlimited use throughout the stay). As mentioned before, the staff is very friendly and approachable. The room was pretty clean by mediterranean standards, and seemed quite practically laid out (with an adequate wardrobe, a small desk and light-proof courtains).

On the downside (although this was not a problem for me), the hotel expected upfront payment upon checkin. The lift was rather tiny but nevetheless, somehow I never had to wait for it long.

All in all, I'd gladly stay there again and I'd recommend it to the others who value the practical side more than any extra frills.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Property: Rokna
Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing