We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Friendly Service”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed with a friend during March 2014 and we enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and we were able to both shower at the same time as we had a shower plus a shower over bath that worked fine when used them at the same time (bonus!). The staff were friendly and very helpful. It's good value for money in a great location with a good pizza/pasta restaurant attached - you get 10% for as a hotel guest. We did the Bidnija horse riding (1 hour for 20 euro) which hotel reception arranged for us. They picked us up and returned us to the hotel for 5 euros. It was a fantastic horse riding excursion with really beautiful horses (used in Game of Thrones) in amongst beautiful rural surroundings - would highly recommend. You can do longer treks if you wish.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 391 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and central location right in the middle of St Julian which is good but as with all of Malta it's densely populated & therefore also a lot of traffic as well. It is only a 2ish star hotel though and the price reflects that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I decided to stay at the Rokna for one night as I had some business to attend to in St. Julians and was not disappointed with choosing this hotel, especially when considering what I paid.

Check-in was smooth with the receptionist on duty being very courteous. Room assigned was on the 2nd floor overlooking Portomaso square and the good sized balcony was a bonus.

Overall it was a good stay too bad it was only for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Ser_Leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was my second visit to Malta, but unfortunately each visit was one day, the first one I stayed at hotel in Sliema which I did not like it, the second one was Rokna hotel, from the first impression I liked it, the receptionists are very wonderful and the waiters are well, they help you as much as they can, the room was big enough for me, my wife and two children and it was clean and the view was good. WiFi is free and the connection is very good.

The restaurant of the hotel serves good food and they give 10% discount for the gusts.

I hoped I would stay longer at this hotel, may be next year in Allah will.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoutazAldeib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just re-booked for this hotel. The hotel is very well located. This is a really friendly family-owned hotel. The rooms were great, clean and well appointed. I needed to do some urgent printing and copying for business purposes and had no problem getting it done by the friendly staff.

As I stated - we are returning. That says it all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callie_van_Heerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was a long time ago when we went to Malta and we stayed here at the Rokna in St Julians. Have to say it was a great little hotel, small but the location is excellent.
Perfect for the early morning jog down throught the middle of St. Julians and very close to lots of nice bakeries, restaurants and of course shops and cafes.
Rokna is perfect if you are on a budget too and really want to explore Malta on good value for money.
Breakfast was good and wholesome and our room was clean with fresh linen. We also had a small balcony where you could look out onto the street. It was great to watch passers-by and to enjoy life on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the front of the building, as then you are guaranteed a balcony where you can look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really sweet little hotel in perfect location. I've just got here but the staff seem lovely and my room is spacious (booked a single but i've got a double bed). Super value for money...... looking forward to my week in Malta now.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulsmith6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spinola Hotel
Spinola Hotel
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#23 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Malta
Holiday Inn Express - Malta
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $41 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing