We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks lots of boxes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Ticks lots of boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really good value (I was out of season, though). Convenient - lots quick buses to Valletta or Gozo cinema, hotels, nightclubs, restaurants...Convenient location = bit of noise, didn't bother me, asked for a high floor. Breakfast food adequate, dinner available nice pizza resto on ground floor. Above all, for standardised 3-star hotel the staff were all charming and I met lots of them. Felt very secure, too

Room Tip: High up as possible (although tiny lift, I found it quaint)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    151
    73
    16
    15
See reviews for
31
120
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the Rokna in October and was pleasantly surprised as it is a 3 star.
The good points:-
Location - perfect as there is so much going on.
Room - we were given a very large room (a double and twins) and it was just the 2 of us.
Staff - very friendly and very helpful both in hotel and restaurant.

The not so good points:-
Room - shower head does not stay up so you have to hold it.
Cleanliness - found tiny ants on beds.
Lift - smallest lift ever, barely get three people in and defintely not a wheelchair, we struggled with a pram.

I would still stay there again and would definitely recommend their restaurant, value for money and great food. I will do a separate review on the restaurant.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor following other reviews so would recommend that, we had room 127 on 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juv18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

nice central hotel for a one night stay, but room was a bit noisy next to street and bathroom very small. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

After spending a few days in Valletta we wanted a few easy days in St Julian's. That exactly what we got staying in the Rokna hotel. We were given a choice of rooms and although I asked to be near a lift as I have difficulty walking we had no problems getting around the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and let me leave the wheelchair in the reception area which was a nice touch. The room was clean, large and tidy. What's more the location is great. Not far from the bus stop and Spinola bay and right round the corner from the restaurants and bars of Paceville. Far enough away not to have a problem with noise though! I'd not hesitate to recommend staying here if you are holidaying in St Julian's. As the bus stop is not far It's not too hard to get to Valletta either. Oh and the pizzas in the restaurant are pretty good too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

On arrival, my single room via booking.com was a double, well twin mattresses pushed together. A little annoying when it splits, but better than a single.
Room was on 4th floor, no noise issues like some.
View of Hilton tower and Porto maso was great.
Room was clean and added bonus in price of a safe, air con and remotes for tv as some Maltese hotels charge for these.
Maid service daily, another bonus as clean towels daily. Thank you

Staff were attentive and polite.

My wife's family are Maltese and we come over regular several times a year. I dive the islands regular so use a number of hotels and this one is one of the best in the area for a certain budget.

Breakfast was the usual cereals, bread and cheese you get. Functional to set you up for the day. Coffee was 'real' not like some places using machines that make an awful cup.

From reception staff to room, maintenance and breakfast staff. All were polite. A nice change as some have been so rude in the past and dismissive even.

Clean rooms
No noisy building work.
I can honestly recommend the hotel and will return myself if the price comes in right.


Thank you Rokna

Oh, only let down was being forgotten by restaurant staff one night. But treated as seperate with a review for the restaurant. :-(
Sorry! But that's what we look at... Reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padimsddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just came back from St Julian where we stayed 8 nights in Hotel Rokna. At first we got a room on the first floor and we found it little bit noisy because of the street in front of the hotel. They were very nice and helpful at the reception, they promised us to change it next day. We got a room with balcony on the second floor, which was much nicer and less noisy.
The family which runs the hotel is very nice and helpful, nothing is too much for them. The rooms had excellent air-conditioning, safe, TV, fridge and hair dryer. The towels were changed every day and the room was always clean. If you need an umbrella or ironing board they give you free of charge. Beach towels are EUR 1 for all your stay. In the lobby there are lots of information leaflets about Malta and also they can organize taxi pick-ups and round-trips on the islands.
The pizza restaurant is the oldest in Malta and one of the most famous. We ate four times there and food was always excellent and the waiters most friendly and talkative. Breakfast was adequate, fruit juices (4 kind), milk, tea (yogi tea's good selection), 5 kind of Musli, sweet pastry, 3-4 kind of bread, toasted as well if you want, cheese, ham, salami, apple, orange, 4 kind of jam, butter. On the third day they already knew what we drink and when they saw us, they brought it already.
Location is great, small sandy beach is just 5 min. walk, bus stop to Valletta, Golden Bay, Mosta 1 min., Cafe's, restaurant's all around, supermarket 20 meters away. Even a church and a small chapel to pray is on the opposite side of the street.
The only downside is the noise from the street in front of the hotel, but you can get used to it, night is relatively good, can be loud music from cars sometimes. It is a lively place, not a quiet relaxing one.
Overall experience was excellent,we would highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: If you want less noise, choose from the third floor and above, if you want balcony make sure you res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutemwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs u.k
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights from 13th Sept 2012 after moving from a bad apartment.First of all massive thanks to Fiona who sorted us out with a really nice 2 bed apartment on the 4th floor. It was lovely and clean,very spacious, great balcony with great views.Very useful fridge,hob,kettle and free electronic safe. The friendliness of the Maltese is legendary,but this hotel more than lives up to expectations,all the staff go out of their way to make you so welcome.We have stayed in lots of hotels in Malta(including the Hilton) and wouldn't hesitate in booking this hotel next year.Location is excellent,short walk to beach,marina and fishing harbour.Really nice restuarants all around-we were spoilt for choice!

Room Tip: 2nd and 4th floor corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#13 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Property: Rokna
Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing