We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 and a half weeks and all I can say is FANTASTIC! The rooms were all you needed, clean, air conditioned. the location is in the heart of Malta, the streets are filled with resturants, nightlife, transport, shopping facilities, beaches. Reception was very very helpful and made you feel so welcome. I needed an extra night before heading to the airport a few days after my stay and they easily booked me a large apartment room even though all the other rooms were booked out for the same smaller room price! Being back in Australia I have been recommending the Rokna to everyone. I will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeanDebattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 389 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stood there for 2 weeks and everything was fine. The staff is friendly and always ready to help. There is IR Rokna restaurant downstairs - their pizzas are the best we've eaten. WiFi covers all the hotel, free and fast. Rooms are simple furnished but clean and have everything you need for a simple stay.

A St. George's bay sandbeach is 10 min walk, Paceville is 5 min walk, the bus stop is on the nearest road crossing. A large foodstore is on the opposite side of the road.

Don't trust Google Maps as they show the wrong location on the map, Rokna hotel is close to Portomaso tower, on the opposite side of the road.

Room Tip: If you like to spend evenings on the balcony - be sure you've ordered it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee_hamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel itself is lovely, the staff friendly, the service great, the prices extremely competitive... Unfortunately non of this can compensate for the fact that the hotel is located right next to the city's biggest roundabout in the busy entertainment district. Sleeping on a weekend is quite simply impossibly, even with earplugs - and I'm afraid the opportunity to get some sleep is what I am looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed for a week on first floor, hotel is clean and reasonable enough but I couldn't really get excited about it. The room was ok and had a fridge it was basic accommodation. The bathroom was tiny with a large boiler overhanging the small bath. The safe is a small one - not for laptops and the tv was small but did have a few English speaking channels. The hotel doesn't have a bar but you can get a drink from the restaurant downstairs but not ideal. The reception staff were all very friendly. The hotel position is well located near to many bars and restaurants but the big problem we had was the noise, especially weekends, the Maltese youth like driving round St Julians with cars come mobile discos large bore noisy exhausts and noisy motor bikes at 2, 3 and 4 O'clock in the morning they seem intent in keeping everyone awake until the early hours. We took ear plugs and used them every night- they really helped and I recommend that it should be a must for you to take them too.
There's a little bar - the sun in splendour just next but 3 which is well worth a visit, then just a bit further is Cork's Irish bar - a great pub where the food is very good, the best we had ribs, steak and pizza all very good indeed. Portions in all the restaurants are on the large size. Don't bother going to hard rock cafe- not a good experience. St Julians is a great place and a short walk from Sliema or longer walk to Valletta. I would recommend the Rokna except for the noisy location, it's fine if you're fit and young enough to still party to 4 in the morn ! But if you like to sleep then maybe try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANCHESTERTOM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

If you are like us and like to be out and about all day and have several nearby choices of restaurants, bars etc with the convenience of a supermarket down the street then I can't recommend the Rokna highly enough. There is even a Casino nearby but the Rokna is no gamble. The staff are extremely helpful and will assist with any questions you have, all at a great rate. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

In the heart of the city and neighbours with the Hilton Hotel, Rokna is well placed to access all parts of the city and southern reaches of Malta. I had the single room, which at first glance is very nicely presented. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are clean and appear well maintained. On a tight budget, the Hotel will suit most pockets at 35 euros per night for the single. Plenty of bars resturants to choose from and vibrant nightlife, I ate out at 3am in the morning after clubbing. On the down side the rooms are showing there age and the decor looking worn in places, hence the 3 star, i also found the beds not that comfortable for long term stay of more than a week. Don't let that stop you though!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

A great value for money hotel with lovely staff. They were always ready to lend any assistance. The attached restaurant (run by the same family who owns/runs the hotel) is also a great little place to eat. It's a no frills hotel, but it's clean and offers anything a traveller would need. It's located in a great spot too. Only a short walk to shops, nightclubs, bars and many restaurants, as well as of course the water.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Bug0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#23 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spinola Hotel
Spinola Hotel
#16 of 33 in Saint Julian's
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Malta
Holiday Inn Express - Malta
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $39 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing