We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a nice place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Hanau, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband, mother in law and I just spend 4/6 nights at Juliani, it's very convinient to get around Malta by bus, lots of bars and restaurants close by.

The staff is real nice and helps you out everyway the can, our rooms were clean and well maintained, mother had a side view of Spinola Bay ours was out back into a small road, so no noise even with the window open.

We certainly would stay there again, sitting out front in the morning sun with a view of Spinola Bay and all the other things going on was so nice and relaxing but not boring.

Room Tip: 704 side view of Spinola Bay small balcony. 707 out to the back, no view but quite at night, 2 balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    337
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
137
803
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed 1st to 6th April on a B&B basis
This lovely boutique hotel is well located at the end of Spinola Bay, St Julians. Our room was very nice, clean and overlooking the bay with its brightly coloured boats. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the world go by.
Our room had good noise insulation, blocking out the traffic noise at night. Don't make the mistake of leaving the balcony door open at night or you'll be kept awake by late-night revelers & squealing tyres as they take the sharp bend at the end of the bay.
The hotel has two lifts covering all floors.
All sockets were UK 13amp sockets.
The free WiFi worked well within the hotel confines. Reception provided the necessary User Name & Password, so there was some security control.
All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
The weather was not warm enough to use of the pool on the rooftop but it was a good location to enjoy the sun and views. Breakfast choices are extensive & well presented.
When you leave the hotel front, turn left and after a few minutes’, walk up a ramp to the Scotts Supermarket. It has most things you may want.
The bus stop across the road was ideal for the must do trip to Valletta – bus 12 or 13, stay on till you reach the bus station terminus. It’s a very interesting ride all around the bay inlets. We did the ‘Malta Experience@ and the WW1 & 11 museum. Both were very good. As you would expect there are numerous Cafes and restaurants in Valletta. We would not recommend the Cafe Royale near bus terminus and City Gate. Coffee poor, savory snacks not nice, cakes passable. Single toilet upstairs nasty!
Also from the same bus stop you can catch the ‘Hop – on – Off’ tours of Malta and Gozo. We did the North and South tours. They were both very good.
There are lots of very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, if you plan to eat in the evening i would recommend pre booking for the restaurants we used – see below.
We used the following: Wigi’s Kitchen, Gululu, Zeri’s (twice), Caffe Bocconcino. All were very good and lived up to their Tripadvisor ratings.
We also had 1927 Cuisines next door to the hotel on our list but forgot to book!

Room Tip: Go for the front sea view room 801
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimlad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The positive reviews attracted us and we stayed here for six nights late March/early April in a junior suite which coincided with a holiday weekend. St Julian's is just down the road from Placeville which is where many nightclubs are located. No issues the first night but the second night, Friday, the noise from cars and people leaving the clubs went on until 06:00am. Ear plugs solved the problem for the rest of the long weekend and peace resumed on Tuesday night. Our room was also starting to look tired - scuffed paint, cracked basin & tiles, a shower head that took maintenance two attempts to resolve, dusty balcony furniture. However the view and location are excellent with many restaurants nearby. We stayed room only as we only tend to have a coffee and croissant for breakfast and the 14 euros per person for breakfast option when we booked seemed excessive.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view & balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarloafView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had an excellent stay for a long weekend in March at the Juliani. The room was a good size, clean and well set out, the view from this non-upgraded room was good if you stepped onto the tiny-stand-up-only balcony but I never expected more. Just a word about parking, whilst it advertises as having a car park there are in fact only 7 spaces and you need to be good at 48-point turns to get in or out (hire a small car!); I'm not sure there would be anywhere nearby to park if it were full.

Didn't eat evening meals at the Hotel as there were so many restaurants within 2 minutes stroll, but the breakfasts were buffet style with plenty of choices and excellent coffee.

The staff were helpful and attentive, sorted out a booking issue with Expedia without fuss. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDub_JDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel
We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel in 6 months and as last year, it was perfect. From day one (booking) to check out, we could not have asked for a better experience. Last time we had a sea view room which was excellent this time as it was only a 4 day break we decided to have a standard double room, but were not disappointed, the room was to the back of the hotel and had a large balcony at the back and a window to the front which overlooked the harbour. The room was large and spacious with the most comfortable bed, with fresh, crisp, white bed linen. The bathroom was immaculate with complimentary shower gels, and shampoo/conditioners which were replenished each time they were running low. The rooms are also equipped with a complimentary hospitably tray with tea/coffee, or if you wanted something stronger there always the mini bar which was realistically priced. There was also a large flat screen TV and DVD player.
The staff where exceptional they were friendly, helpful and efficient.
The breakfast was very good you were offered coffee/tea and juice on arrival which were both of a very high quality, my husband thought that the cappuccino was one of the best he had tasted. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was all labelled, there was a full English (the eggs were scrambled but you could ask for boiled, poached, fried or an omelette, there were cakes & pastries, along with, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses hams.
Location
The hotel is set in a perfect lactation in the heart of St. Julians overlooking the picturesque harbour with plenty of bars and restaurants on your doorstep. We bought a 7 day bus ticket outside the airport on arrival for 6.50 euros and toured the island using it. We were very impressed (or lucky) as we never had to wait more than 3 minutes for bus, the bus stop is literally outside of the hotel.

I cannot rave enough about this hotel and our stay was faultless.

Thank you to everyone at the Juliani for making our stay perfect and looking forward to our next visit in September

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Flowerpot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Such a beautiful and friendly place to stay. Staff were very helpful and soon knew our names and would greet us when leaving and entering the building. I would highly reccomend a sea view balcony room, the room was beautiful and very clean due to being cleaned twice a day! Whilist on holiday it was my birthday the staff put a cake and card in my room and even the cleaners said happy birthday, I was also given a birthday drink and chocolates with my meal. Such a friendly place. I often found tat the hotel was very quiet we sometimes thought we were the only customers there, never had to battle for a sun chair or for a table, never disturbed by noise. And what was even more perfect was that McDonald's was right next door, you would expect it to smell however it didnt at all and it was lovely to go have a quick cheap McDonald's for a snack and not walk miles, we even brought it back and sat on our balcony and ate it watching the view. Can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyleigh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Really lovely hotel, serving proper coffee at breakfast. The hotel has a drive-in garage very close to the lift within the hotel, making it easy to get in and out with equipment. Great views across the bay from the more expensive (massive) front rooms, but the smaller economy rooms were fine too. Helpful staff, good wifi, and lovely breakfasts. Definitely would use again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t0mh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing