We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem of a hotel right in the centre of everything in St Julians” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel right in the centre of everything in St Julians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went to this hotel for the Christmas period and we feel that it was worth the visit. The room had a excellent sea view, which is something I would advise to book as the view is really nice and to wake up with the sun coming straight through the room is really nice. Breakfast is varied and nice. The only criticism is that the pastries were dry for my liking. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also big enough. I would just advise a mat in the bath when you are taking a shower as it is quite slippery. During the whole stay, the staff was friendly and efficient.
During my stay, I experienced a problem in Zest restaurant and I reported the matter to the hotel. I must say that they dealt with the matter in an extremely professional manner. This I must thank personally the general manager for dealing with. I would certainly visit this hotel again and would highly recommended for those seeking a smaller hotel in St. Julians.

Room Tip: Front sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    337
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
137
803
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
129 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

After reading rave reviews on both TA and LonelyPlanet, we just had to book a stay at Juliani. And boy, are we glad we did; easily one of the best hotel experiences we've had. Reasonable rates, especially with breakfast, free wifi and a complimentary airport pick-up. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful: they guided us with bus routes, recommended places to see and eat at, booked car rental, and were generally super accommodating. The location of the hotel is lovely: right in front of Spinola Bay with marvelous views; a bus stop at the doorstep whisks you away to Valetta and other destinations swiftly - although you can walk the lovely 25-minute promenade walk to the Sliemma ferries too. There's a fun bar right next door, and a short walk up you can find the very happening area of Paceville. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. Room was super comfortable with a lovely outdoor deck and another window that gave us a view over the bay. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful. All round perfect experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Juliani twice now and I am still just as impressed as the first time. The rooms are always very clean and sanitary as well as the rest if the hotel. It has the perfect location, just walking distance from Paceville, and if you like a bit longer walk Sliema. The breakfast in the cafe is wonderful along with the wonderful food served at the in hotel restaurant Zest. What really brought me back though was the staff. I have never experienced such a helpful and genuinely nice group of people in any of my travels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Malta!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peyton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor ratings, and it was everything we expected, and so much more. On arriving, we used the taxi service that the hotel offered, and were very pleased with it. The driver told us a lot about Malta, and it happened that we arrived on a day that they had the local Festa celebrations, and thus, we had to enter through backdoor. Thank God we used the hotel's car service, otherwise we would have been lost!

The reception at the hotel was very friendly. As we arrived early, we were given the opportunity to leave our bags in the luggage room while we go out. We returned to the hotel at the given time, and were offered a lovely welcome drink (it was Kinnie, I believe) while the lady at the reception checked us in.

Our room was lovely. Even though I was disappointed before our trip that we couldn't get a room with a balcony, this basic room was totally fabulous. I bet the ones with balcony are just mind-blowing! A plate full of fruits was waiting for us when we entered our room. The AC was excellent, and the whole hotel had well-working ACs, which was a wonderful relief when returning to the hotel from our daily trips in the heat. Beds were extremely comfortable. Bathrooms convenient and big enough. The room itself was bigger than I expected. There was enough space for clothes, bathrobes were waiting for us, and the room also had a nice lcd tv with lots of chanel options. The room was decorated in a lovely aqua decor, as was the whole hotel.. turquoise everywhere! I loved it. The room was cleaned well every day, and towels were replaced with clean ones, if we wished so.

The hotel has a roof top pool. We didn't use it, but went up there one evening to see it and the views. It appeared that the roof top also had a restaurant in the evenings, but they had a set menu and required to be pre-booked.

There is a lovely cafe at the lobby area. I fell in love with their tea. We also bought some snacks on the first night at the hotel's stand outside (for the Festa celebrations), and they were delicious. The hotel restaurant, Zest, serves excellent food. We ate there once during our stay. The dishes are abundant and tasty. Lots of variety to choose from. We ate a 3 course dinner, but it ended up being 5 course since they brought in courses before starters and after deserts. We were so stuffed! They also served really good Maltese wine, which I unfortunately wasn't able to find anywhere else to take home with me.

The staff in all the hotel premises were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, and we will highly recommend it to all our friends, and if we ever return to Malta, we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whippo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Reception staff were simply excellent and could not have been more helpful. We stayed in room 701 overlooking the bay and the view was beautiful. The Zest restaurant at the hotel had a varied menu, food was well cooked and the service was very attentive. Breakfast was a bit pricey if you just wanted cereal and some fruit and the 'lighter' breakfast consisted of coffee, fresh orange juice, one very, very small croissant and a variety of cakes so we had our healthy breakfast elsewhere. Some reviews have said the location can be noisy but we had no problems and the whole area had a nice buzz about it with some good restaurants.

We used the SMS hopper bus service from the airport but frankly I thought they were disorganised and relied on the customer to find out where the bus was and when it might arrive. The local bus service operates from just outside the airport and drops you off about two minutes from the hotel so we'll opt for that next time.

We'll definitely be returning to Malta and will stay at Hotel Juliani again.

Room Tip: Room 701 has a nice view and the location is excellent with the local bus service stopping two minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Choes this hotel based on Tripadvisor recommendations and was not disappointed. Location is fabulous overlooking Spinola bay. Bus stop opposite hotel with transport links all over the island. Would recommend the sight-seeing tour if only to get a feel for and see the whole island as it is tempting to stay in and around Spinola bay! Staff are excellent, very courteous and professional but also friendly. Free high-speed wifi throughout hotel. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds. Breakfast is excellent with really good coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Small but well-appointed rooftop pool area. Excellent restaurants nearby. Special mentions to Meat and Co, Dolce Vita(although a little pricier) and Zeris in nearby Portmaso, a five minute walk around the corner. I have eaten in the hotels own restaurant Zest and it is also really good-popular with locals as well as tourists. The hotel staff also recommend Barracuda around the corner in Balluta Bay and having eaten here on a previous trip I can also recommend it. All in all this is an excellent hotel with plenty of choice for eating out within walking distance!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Livesfortheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed there 9 days. Lovely little hotel! The best staff in the reception I have ever met during 400+ trips. They were so helpful! Ilham - can't forget her beautiful smile when she met us - the welcome drink was not even necessary after that :) Caroline - she's simply the best, Sasha - so helpful, did a great job giving directions, and when internet connection was once lost in the entire area due to heavy rain, he offered a replacement laptop with local card; Alfred and Robert - thanks for your friendship again. The cleaning personel also very friendly and they like to communicate a lot. This makes you feel at home throughout entire stay. I can not empasize enough the staff input into the perfection of this hotel. The management should be proud of them. Btw, I was absent-minded, and as usual left my charger in the room on the day of departure, now I have it again - the staff did the best to post it to my address free of charge.
Great place to stay! Recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite and do not regret a second about it. The view of the Spinola bay is go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonas08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing