We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of Waterbiscuit

Waterbiscuit
Ranked #19 of 312 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Waterbiscuit offers a gastronomic experience to delight all with a charming and contemporary atmosphere and enthusiastically accomplished cuisine. Chef de Cuisine James Oakley crafts creative ever-enhanced dining using the freshest Mediterranean ingredients all combined innovatively and inventively, available daily for dinner. Meanwhile at the Waterbiscuit Bar healthy breakfasts, lunches and dinners may be enjoyed throughout the day, though ultimately guests come for the cocktails and every creation seeks to exceed the wildest expectations. Aiding all is a singular design concept making Waterbiscuit the most glamorous address on the Maltese Islands, whether for a business meeting, casual dining or evening social gathering.
Pieta, Malta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We treated some very special friends to dinner and we were definitely not disappointed. I was impressed with the service as well as the food. I definitely recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucienS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at Waterbiscuit, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful meal at Waterbiscuit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
social@intercontinental.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    139
    46
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A great dining experience. Food was excellent (Paccheri with chicken confit, mushrooms and pancetta, café au lait is one of the best dishes I've eaten in a long time) A bid well done to the chef!

The Assistant Manager Gabor is a star, knowledgable, smart, attentive and just adds that little extra to the overall great experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewchado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at Waterbiscuit, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful meal at Waterbiscuit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
social@intercontinental.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“what is the fuss all about?”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to eat recently at this restaurant, atmosphere was too minimalistic and not very romantic (could use some modern paintings on walls). Basically i preferred the decor of the old restaurant (Eastern Breeze). Staff is extremely attentive and i had some of the best service in my life, but this is as far as it goes. Took some starters, which were quite bland. As main we took beef which was cooked to perfection, but that is as far as it goes. Basically, restaurant is not worth fussing over and for the price it is not good value for money. Basically, what is being done/served can easily be replicated in other very good restaurants at a fraction of the price. Finally, Eden super bowl opposite is too bright to even have a remotely romantic experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AND170282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at Waterbiscuit, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you found our staff to be highly attentive and that your beef was cooked to perfection.

We appreciate your views on the restaurant and your advice on how we can improve its performance and ambiance, we will take your recommendations under serious consideration.

We do hope you have the opportunity to return in the future and perhaps we may improve your opinion of us.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
social@intercontinental.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic, top drawer!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Where do I even begin? The service? The Atmosphere? The whole package offered by waterbiscuit is incredible, the food is devine, the service is super, and for the quality received, the money is definitely worth it!

Eggs Benedict are always super, the veal carpaccio is exquisite along with the other starters (been at least 6 times so have tried alot of different things). The Angus burger is to die for, salads are great and the pork cheeks simply melt in your mouth.

nothing more i can say, definitely my favourite restaurant in malta! 10/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBorg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at Waterbiscuit, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful meal at Waterbiscuit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
social@intercontinental.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went for the first time to this new restaurant with 8 friends of mine. I really liked the decor, there are few restaurants in Malta with such a modern interior. We tried the set menu and it was just delicious, the sea bass was the best fish I ever had in Malta. Service and prices are really good as well. I strongly recommend this place to everyone. Only negative thing is that its too close to Paceville so its too easy to go for drinks after as well :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebsson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at Waterbiscuit, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful meal at Waterbiscuit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
social@intercontinental.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterbiscuit also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Waterbiscuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing