We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Relaxed Ambience”
Review of Shakinah

Shakinah
Ranked #90 of 334 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 2 Hours Free Parking at the Meridien included. Shakinah presents Indian cuisine in an interesting selection of exquisitely prepared, colourful, individual yet separate dishes.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant, small but nicely decorated with a really relaxed feel. The staff are friendly and welcoming.

It offers a mix of Indian and Arabic food - we selected Arabic dishes which were really delicious. We started with Poppadoms with a mix of humus, mango chutney and sliced olives ... an unusual mix but it worked for us.

In terms of price, the dishes were reasonable and good value for money. It is a welcome alternative to the ubiquitous Pizza/Pasta restaurants in the area and I would definitely recommend it.


Thank ERYC_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for leaving your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your first time at Shakinah and we hope to have around again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 287 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant during the Festival and had a wonderful meal. Cosy atmosphere with attentive service. There was a wide choice across the menu, showcasing several different cultures. Plenty of vegetarian choices on the menu. A really pleasant evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bridgette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Bridgette,

We are glad that you have enjoyed our vegetarian dishes on the menu and we thank you for joining us for dinner during your stay. We will be expanding our vegetarian selection soon and we hope that you get a chance to try our new dishes next time you come by.

Kindest Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times with my partner and the food is always fantastic. Very very tasty. The staff are friendly the atmosphere is great and the restaurant is lovely inside. Always go here when we are in St Julians. Thanks Shakinah for the delicious food :) Can't wait to come back next year.

Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Joseph,

We are very happy that you and your partner enjoy coming Shakinah whenever you visit, we hope to see you soon and we look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I don't know where to start really as the (stale) poppodums were served with jam like mango chutney, tasteless yoghurt and sliced olives?
Samosas akin to a Cornish pasty.
Chicken vindaloo, the sauce was lovely but chicken was tasteless. Our beef dish was tough and totally tasteless. Pilau rice flavoursome, pick out tons of whole spices first please! And since when has a Raita had red pepper in it?
The staff were lovely, restaurant decor and cleanliness all get top marks.

Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Samantha,

We appreciate your honest feedback and we are displeased to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, we will take your thoughts into consideration and we hope to welcome you back to a better experience should you wish to visit Shakinah again.

Kind Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Having read the reviews was really looking forward to eating at Shakinah's and am glad to say it lived up to expectation. We ordered a mix of Indian and Arabic main dishes and they were great, of the starters the onion bhaji was average but the samosa more than made up for that slight disappointment. Can't leave a review without mentioning the exceptional service, which was friendly and attentive - we've come to expect this in Malta, everywhere we have been so far, but even by the high local standards, this was above and beyond. Fantastic experience overall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ajaz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Ajaz,

We were pleased to have you at Shakinah and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Malta, we would like to thank you for leaving your feedback and we hope to have you over again if you visit the island again.

Kindest Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakinah also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Shakinah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing