We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food, but understaffed”

Sir Alex Bar. Restaurant. Lounge
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fast Food, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK food, but understaffed”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went for lunch, and it really seemed like the staff were having trouble coping. The bar wasn't even full! We ordered three meals but only got two, had to ask repeatedly before the rest of the food was brought out with no apology or explanation. The chicken burgers were great but the pizza was cold. There's a lovely view of the harbour though, and the drinks are fantastic, so maybe just skip the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    4
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rubbish cocktails”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

under this restaurant is the Sir Alex beach club. Sea front position and nice seating. We wanted pina collada and when they arrived we were asked to pay immediately. The cocktails were rubbish, should be creamy but used coconut sirrup, pinapple didn't taste like juice and don't know what the spirit was. Served in a simple table glass with a straw. Had a few sips and it was bad to drink, asked waitresse about lack of cream and she went away but never came back. We left the drinks virtually untouched, if you go there get a beer, for me it was a quick waste of money and left a bad taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nairb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent Seaside bar/cafe”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a wonderful tuna sandwich lunch and the best beer during our four day stay. Very helpful staff and excelllent views of the sea and harbour

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank redroserambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
2 reviews
“The best bar in Malta”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited the Sir Alex bar on a walk down in to Selima the staff there are really friendly .we order a pint a smoothie an a Sir Alex pizza which was very tasty , on a other time we called in my husband was wearing a Man u top an one of the owners gave him one of there sir alexs cap to go with it lovely place an lovely people to hope you enjoy it as much as we did

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turkey2011024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“fab food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Called here after a walk from sliema to St juliens and back.
Only had salad but it was plenty full with fresh ingiedients.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Lovely views of the harbour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank annandtony_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Alex Bar. Restaurant. Lounge also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing