We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience ever!!!”
Review of Sardinella

Sardinella
Ranked #105 of 312 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible experience ever!!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for two on a Wednesday night. The place was not full and we arrived at 730pm. We were made to wait 15mins to be seated eventhough we booked. It was already bas because they gave seats to 2 people who did not book. It took 10mins to give us the menu and take our order. We waited and after 30mins the appetisers were still not served so we decided to walk out of the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Creme_johnbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    178
    103
    54
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Vast choice, outdoor seating”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I like this place... Menu has been extended from the first time that I'v been here... Usual food pasta, pizza, grill but with some unusual ingredients... Prices are normal for the area varying from 8-12 Euro for main plates unless you're having meat which is a little more. I like the outdoor seating which although overlooks a main road its nice to be in the sunshine in their little terrace. Only dissapointment is that the food that I ordered came to be a little different from that described on the menu.. Although I still liked it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexiaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Experience, however the Menu down grades it”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I visited Sardinella on a Friday evening for Dinner. The place was not empty in fact it had quite a lot of people seated outside. I have nothing to complain about the service nor the food, in fact the food was very delicious and was served on time. However I would like to point out that what this restaurant needs is a nicely branded and stylized menu. The menu they currently have downgrades this restaurant which in my opinion should be given much more credit as it properly deserves. The wine menu was just a compilation or white printed paper in a folder. The plastic was even deforming out of shape due to the regular use of the menus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsce0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with good choice”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant has a lovely menu and I think I just made the mistake of ordering the wrong dish. My companions had a burger and a goat's cheese ravioli dish whereas I had the rabbit ravioli. The filling was a lovely flavour, but only when you separated it from the overpowering sage flavour of the sauce. It was a bit much and I think the rabbit was spoilt. However, the chocolate fudge cake I had for dessert was very nice, as was the glass of wine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gregtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb Pasta”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

we ate here on three evenings whilst in St Julians and the pasta dishes were superb. My wife noted that her dish on the second occasion was a little light on the mushrooms. She mentioned this to the staff who were most apologetic and provided free deserts in compensation. Service for us was excellent, even with a party of 24 at one long table, being catered for. Best pasta in St Julians bay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardinella also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Sardinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing