We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place was really really really the worst place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dragonara Apartments
Reviewed August 27, 2013

i have stayed in some clapped out rooms before but i have never experienced the complete chaos that was dragonara. The address on the booking form was wrong and it took nearly two hours to find where they were located. Had to go to level four to get the confirmation then down to level three to get the keys...the room was disgusting. i dont think the floor had been cleaned as you could feel the grit. The sheets had dirt and dust on them too. Nothing in the kitchen worked, the power would trip if you tried to use the oven, toaster etc. Luckily the fridge worked so u could drink your fears away. the nightclub underneath was a pleasure to listen to and although my friend and i like a good party it was just too much when ur hung over. No Wifi even though they tell you its on in the common areas. if u need to use it go to the pub underneath its a wifi spot. if u have unfortunately booked and not done your research before hand i can only suggest a good stiff drink and dont look at the other nice apartments that are in the area as feelings of jealousy will arise. oh yeah and from reading the other comments relating to the fire safety i can report the fire extinguishers that are supposedly meant to be installed must still be being serviced and the manager must check on the progress on these as i think he had dropped them off in 2009 in an earlier complaint.

Room Tip: a cardboard box on the beach is a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Whiterhino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were supposed to meet the manager for the keys and he didn't appear until 19.30. Then he had threatening attitude saying that if we don't like it, we could go out and look for another place, just because i asked if there were clean towels and bed sheets. Very very noisy. The bathtub was full of water for 2 hours everytime someone had a quick shower.
They don't have what they offer. NO WIFI, NO SERVICES, NO POOL NOT EVEN A RECEPCIONIST.
The Cleaning woman cleans every 3 days, but she is very nice. Maybe the only good thing in dragonara appartments.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The guardian was a Walrus with the intelligence of an ant, he arrived to the hole called "hall" after an hour and he gave us the keys and no other indication. Insects of all species running on the floor, furniture that survived the IIWW by miracle, clubs pumping music all day and night long, permanent smell of fried chicken (which wasnt that bad and it's also very cheap) were just few of the hellish characteristics of this place. Doesn't deserve a single cent.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percochino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just stayed at dragonara apartments and overall I would say its perfect for young travellers- ideally what you need if you don't plan to spend days or long periods of times in your hotel. Service was very bad at reception however housekeeping were lovely and exceptionally helpful especially regarding information about where we could use a pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charl-raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 5 nights. For what we were paying for (which was pretty damn cheap) we weren't expecting much so if you do choose to stay here because it's cheap you need to know that the air cons are just there for display, the sinks clog, the area is noisy and there may be a cockroach or two running around.

Location wise I think it would have been more convenient to stay in Silema. But it would probably be more expensive. They do provide quite a lot of towels which was great because we had enough to bring to the beach and still have clean ones to use for showering. Out of the 5 nights there our room was cleaned once and they pretty much ignored the clogged up sink.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oneadventureatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

For the price, the place cannot be beat. If you need a place to stay for a few nights in Malta this place is great. Granted our toilet was kind of busted, light in one of the rooms didnt work, and there is pretty much no receptionist at this place. However, it was ONLY 8 euro per person per night, clean, and spacious. the price cannot be beat and when we stayed it was clean. It IS loud, because it is right next the bars and clubs. But if you are looking to save money and only are staying for a few nights, this place is ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seetheworld979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

App. are located in the centar of night life in St. Juliens, close to very good restaurants. We stayed for four days, rooms were clean,you get towels.It has kitchen but we didnt use it. It is very spaceus with basic facilites.Bad thing is noise from the clubs during the night and construction works in the morning, but you can easy handle it with ear plugs. Appartement cost only 4,5 euros per persn for the night so who cares about little noise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gogaCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boho Hostel
Boho Hostel
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Onyx Apartments
Onyx Apartments
#6 of 32 in Saint Julian's
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Malti
Hostel Malti
#5 of 32 in Saint Julian's
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empire Studios
Empire Studios
#19 of 32 in Saint Julian's
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonara Apartments

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3181, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $18 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonara Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dragonara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonara Apartments Hotel Saint Julian`s
Dragonara Apartments Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing