We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - but doesn't live up to it's 5* Grade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location - but doesn't live up to it's 5* Grade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Ordinary rooms that miss out on the 5* treatment you expect from an International Hotel Brand. Our room had been double booked, and we were offered an alternative room overlooking building works - we complained strongly and a senior member of staff took control, apologised, upgraded our room and sent us a complementary bottle of wine. The staff were OK. Jesmond in the Bar was particularly friendly and took genuine care of his customers. The pool area was busy but the garden area adjacent is quieter and gives great views of Balutta Bay. Some good restaurants in walking distance - Barracuda, Piccolo padre and U Bistrot are all worth a visit. Easy walk into Sliema for the shops, boat trips and the water taxi to beautiful Valletta. Top tips: Make sure you book a room on a high floor (floor 8 and above) with Sea view - otherwise you
run the risk of looking out over the building site next door. Book breakfast as part of a room deal - it's expensive at 17.50 euro.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Little-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Little-Rambler, thank you for your kind comments about the team and especially Jesmond from the KuDeTa Bar. It is however disappointing that your arrival experience was not as expected. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With best regards, Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    830
    322
    104
    57
See reviews for
416
1,123
125
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had an activity to end our football season at two halls and we were satisfied with the hospitality and the environment. I will recommend it if you are going to come to Malta for a holiday.
First class service

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Stewart S, glad that you enjoyed your function with us and thank you for recommending our hotel and the services provided. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great lunch for my daughter's Holy Communion at Le Meridien and thanks to the staff that did the set-up for a cake table as I requested with decorations etc! Also food was delicious, having variety from where we could choose!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorianne1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Dorianne 1302, congratulations on the Holy Communion of your daughter. The team and are delighted to learn that you and the family enjoyed the Sunday lunch. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, be it for another family festivity or just for dinner and / or drinks in any of our restaurants and bars. Best regards, Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Arrived home yesterday promising myself that I would write a review for this hotel. This was our first time in Malta and to be honest we weren't sure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised. As a few previous reviewers have suggested the hotel isn't quite 5* standard but to be honest I don't think you are paying 5* prices either. The location is excellent in that you are equal distance from Sliema in one direction and Spanola Bay and Paceville in the other. There are some excellent restaurants in the area including Wigi's and Pepercornico. Anyway back to the hotel, the breakfast is extensive with an excellent choice of Teas' and a glass or two of fizz. The room was extremely clean with nice fluffy towels. Good size pool area although I do agree with some previous reviewers that there needs to be a way of controlling who can access this area as it did feel that there were people from outside the hotel enjoying the facility. The hotel also has an excellent spa area with indoor pool and well equipped gym. In summary we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view definitely worth it although the rooms overlooking the town did get the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyrn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello kathym13, thank you for your review about your recent stay. It’s nice to read, that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, the breakfast and your room experience. We all are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future. Best regards, Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I booked for 7 nights a family room with seating area
First when I arrived I was asked how many of you staying ? I said 2 people
Then I was given a small double , I went back to the reception to correct the mistake and I was given what I booked family room.
The hotel located in central area facing to the rock sea, no private sandy beach belong to the hotel, be careful before making booking, the swimming pool is on the last floor of the hotel on the roof !!
There is no carpet in all rooms just tiles, they will not change your bed linen until we asked the housekeeping in day 5 to replace the linen !!!!!
The staff are polite but they are very serious no smile :((
The breakfast and the lunch the food in general is not 5 stars food it is just 1 star and is not tasty.
Malta is a beautiful country to visit and we had a nice time there we ate outside every night and there plenty of restaurants near by better than the hotel food so don't take full board option it is not
Worse the money you paying for.
Try the Sunna and the indoor pool & the steam are very nice . But no towels provided there in this area.
At the end the hotel is nice but not 5 stars it is bellow that , there some corners in the hotel still under refurbishment such as around the elevators is some floors.
I will try Raddisson blue saint Gillian next time I visit Malta.
Good luck everybody enjoy the sunny Malta.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear John G,
Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed to read, that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that your feedback will be considered for further improving our product and service.

Best regards,
Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our company had a series of group meetings spanning over 2 weeks in Malta. The hotel were very welcoming and incredibly accommodating to our needs. Any issues that we had were promptly dealt with and resolved. The service was excellent and our team loved the location. The location and the advantage of high speed internet make it a desirable business destination. We'd be very pleased to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSM-Canonical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear MSM-Canonical,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback related to your conference. It was a great pleasure having you and the group staying with us… especially that our Internet solution for you as a group significantly contributed to the success of the conference. The team and I very much appreciate your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked our holiday through Sovereign and stayed here from the 27th May for two weeks.The hotel is advertised as 5 star luxury in the brochure.This may be the case as i have never stayed in a 4 star hotel in Malta but comparing the hotel against other luxury hotels it falls short on service and the standard of the facilities.On arrival at the hotel which was 12.30 at night there was no concierge to help with cases. This may sound at bit picky but this is the standard we have received at other hotels.The reception desk had no one there and we had to wait 5 minutes until someone came.When they did come he must have been the rudest person we have ever encountered at check-in,We complained to the Sovereign rep the next day and she complained to the management for us.We booked an executive room with sea view,remember this hotel does not sit right at the sea front so you will also be looking into the back of apartments.The room was large with a super king double bed with a view over the bay.The bathroom area needs to be freshened up,chipped tiles on the floor and the shower cubicle was needing to re-grouted.The executive room allows you to use the executive lounge for breakfast which is a lot quieter than the main restaurant.You can have soft drinks and coffee all day in the lounge and between 4 and 7 pm alcoholic drinks are served.The service in the lounge was excellent from Monika. We never had any problems with the lifts but some of the floors have still need some renovation work needed at the the lift doors i.e marble tiles to be replaced.The roof top pool i feel was open to abuse from people who did not stay in the hotel as it was easy to get into this area and the staff never controlled it.I feel this area should only be open to guests by using your bed room card to get to the twelve floor or the sliding door at the top.Towels are available at the pool bar.We had to move from the pool twice at 4 pm because weddings were using that area.Overall the staff were nice and helpful except one person.The location of the hotel is excellent.Although i have pointed out a few negatives over all our stay was very enjoyable.I would recommend this hotel but not as 5 star luxury.The staff at the reception during the day were very helpful and efficient.The bar staff at night were very pleasant especially young Ana from Madrid and the bar manager who was very efficient.

Room Tip: Book an Executive room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Robert J, thank you for your review. It is nice to read that Monica from the Club Lounge made you stay significantly better. I am disappointed, especially about your arrival experience and the fact that you experienced twice an early closure of the pool. We are currently completing the marble works in our lift landings, and should you choose to stay with us the next time, you will notice the difference… Kind regards, Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing