We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellness hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wellness hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

It is a well serviced hotel, with free parking, free wifi. The wellness is really well equipped with hamam, sauna and indoor pool. There is also an outdoor pool with a sun terrace. The staff is professional and very helpful. The design of the hotel is a bit unusual, especally the elevators can give a hedache... Now there are constructions right nex door, but they finish early and don't start before 9, so it is not too much disturbing.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Imre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Imre V,

Thank you for the positive feedback that you have provided us with.

As accurately commented our members of staff do their very best to be as helpful as possible when assisting our valued guests.

All of us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa are looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    860
    334
    105
    57
See reviews for
431
1,167
128
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good location close to bus stations. Big and Clean rooms, (extra payment for sea view), very nice breakfast and dinner as we'll (good variety and quality). One evening at dinner, we arrived at 20:30 and we had to ask for main course refreshment since it was pure empty buffet - we waited 30 minutes !
Also, critical issue with the hotel new elevator system. Poor availability of only two elevators (you can wait 10-15 minutes and you get error massage from the elevator system).
Also, unfinished constructions at the elevators lobbies and at the roof entrance were the pool is located.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Ezra A,

Thank you for the positive ratings regarding your latest stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

Please accept my apology for the inconveniences that you have encountered with regards to one of our food and beverage venues and the upgrade of our lift system. I have personally communicated your kind comments with the respective head of departments.

Thank you once again, we all look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

For excellent views, very comfortable rooms and pleasant, attentive, accommodating and hard working staff, then the Le Meridien would be hard to beat. We stayed at the end of March on half board where not all the hotels facilities were available, but still had an enjoyable holiday.
The food and service in the Sirocco Buffet Restaurant was excellent, with Chefs on hand to assist you on a superb food selection, covering dishes from a wide variety of countries. You will not be disappointed with the choice and quality. A special thank you to Silvia, Christina and Danaris who very friendly and professional, a true credit to a well run hotel. After all it is the staff that make a good hotel. One night we also tried the a la carte restaurant for a change, where the service and cuisine was exceptional. If the Maltese wine is to your taste then you will find these very reasonably priced at about 10 euros per bottle. If you prefer a change from the hotel then there are quite a number of bars and restaurants very close by as the hotel is in quite a vibrant location. Buffet breakfast had a good range of hot and cold food, but do be prepared to be patient for the 'omelet man'.
The bedrooms are very well appointed, with large screen TV's, with limited English channels, but do you go away on holiday to watch TV? Our deluxe/sea view room (728) had a spacious en suite bathroom, mini bar and balcony in addition to the usual facilities. The bed was quite firm, but we prefer this type. Each day the bedroom was cleaned to a high standard.
The hotel in general has a relaxing atmosphere, but guests should be aware that there is some external building work currently due to the hotels expansion. This didn't really effect our stay too much as some other reports may suggest.
Overall a very, very pleasant stay in a well run hotel.


This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a deluxe sea view room to attain an exceptional view of the bay. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rods350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Rods350,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that our food and beverage services, the location of the property and our rooms were up to your satisfaction. I do want to thank you further for pointing out the members of staff that have contributed in making your stay an excellent one.

With regards to the construction site, please note that this building does not belong to Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa however I sincerely apologize if such construction works have caused an inconvenience while staying with us.

Kindest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Large rooms and beautiful. The pool and spa are excellent and are available during convenient hours to ten at night. Good breakfast, rich and contains a variety of products. There is a problem with the elevators since - 2 of 4 renovating and renovations took half a year, but it probably will end sometime.
The hotel is located near a bus stop. Casinos, restaurants and the seafront promenade within walking distance.
The rooms are cleaned superficially and if u not remove the sheets from the bed, the maids did not replace them even for a week (the hotel call it the 'green way')

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are more expensive. Pity to pay that. In any case we come to visit and walk an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank אברהם פ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Abraham p,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

I want to thank you once again for highlighting the prominent location of our property.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel has a great position with sea view rooms benefiting from a beautiful bay view . Hotel is within walking distance from excellent restaurants in St julians as well as St George's Bay. The buffet restaurant has a very good selection of food to meet most tastes and there is a good bar menu as well . Spa is peaceful and treatments well.
The front desk staff however excelled themselves with a friendly professional and attentive level of service that is highly commendable .
The additional cost of executive sea view rooms is well worth the additional expense .
finally the 3rd floor tea shop is wonderful with a range of teas that will delight the senses and the knowledge passion and guidance of the owners has to be experienced . Wonderful

Room Tip: I stayed in a sea view room, 939 which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpruchnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Mpruchnie,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

It is a true pleasure to read that our facilities and customer service have exceeded your expectations. The review has been communicated with the whole team with a particular reference to our front office associates.

All of us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa are looking forward to welcoming you back amongst us in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Just came back from my cousin's hen night at KuDeTa Lounge Bar and I must say that the experience was an excellent one. Food was delicious and we were served free flowing wine and drinks all night long with the waiter tending to our needs and making sure that our glasses were always full. I must also praise the waitress Monica who was very nice to all of us and helped us enjoy the night even more. Overall, a very positive experience; well done to all the staff!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Margre908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Margre908,

Thank you for the ratings and wonderful comments regarding your experience at Ku Dé Ta bar. It is a pleasure to read that our food and beverage services were up to your satisfaction.

I have personally communicated the entire review with all of our Ku Dé Ta associates and they were delighted to read such a positive comment.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Firstly the positives - warm hand towel on arrival and excellent reception team for whom nothing was too much trouble. The spa and indoor pool were pleasant but rather small for such a large hotel - eg jacuzzi barely fits 4 adults. The waitresses at breakfast were very friendly and our rooms were spotlessly clean.

So - what wasn't to love? Unfortunately the hotel was let down by a number of issues that individually may have been acceptable but when taken together made the experience disappointing. Firstly the breakfast - although a plentiful buffet it was served in a charmless room which was incredibly noisy and, when busy felt more like a school canteen than 5 star hotel restaurant. During our stay the rooftop pool and terrace were closed for refurbishment and half the lifts were closed (they are, to be fair, trying to renovate them to improve the speed/service) leading to frequent queues. The Air Con was set to 'winter' mode (and could/would not be changed) throughout the hotel meaning it *heats* the rooms and does not cool them! This despite the evenings being rather warm - opening the balcony door wasn't much help as we overlooked a carpark that was noisy late at night and early in the morning.

On our final night we wanted to try dessert and coffee in the lounge area - only to find the majority closed to residents due to 2 parties. We found a spot in the lobby only to be advised we should sit at the bar to be served - eventually we did get a so so coffee brought to us. Compare this to when we popped in to the Hilton for a coffee during the day and we're served attentively receiving biscuits and water automatically with our coffee - nothing was too much trouble and the setting and view far superior.

Overall my advice would be to try elsewhere if you're looking for a special stay or a true 5 star experience - if you just want somewhere that is perfectly sufficient but, in large parts, somewhat lacklustre: Le Meridien may be OK for you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Love_flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Love_Flying,

Thank you for your review and for the issues that you felt necessary to highlight regarding your stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

I do sincerely apologize on behalf of the whole team that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay with us.

With regards to the décor of the breakfast room, I do personally apologize that this was not up to your satisfaction and have hindered yourself from having an excellent experience.

Regarding the roof pool terrace, may I highlight that our roof pool access was closed for minor renovations. Since we do seriously take into consideration the health and safety of our in-house guests, the area was closed off for a short period of time. However we did offer an alternative for our guests, one of our top floor terraces overlooking Balluta Bay was set-up with sun loungers for any guest that wanted to take the most out of the Maltese sun. I further apologize that this minor uplift has caused an inconvenience to your self.

I do hope that such an experience will not hinder you from returning to Le Méridien St. Julians Hotel and Spa. Should you have any further feedback, feel free to contact me directly by email which is available on our official website.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,949 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing