We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break at Le Meridien”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short break at Le Meridien”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was uncertain when I booked this hotel after reading some of the Tripadvisor reviews, so I was pleasantly surprised on our arrival.
You could be put off by arriving at the main entrance which appears to be behind the main building on the 3rd floor but the reception is light and attractive and is manned by very welcoming staff.
Our room was on the 10th floor, had a sea view that overlooked the bay. The room was large and well equipped and had a king size bed.
Currently if you want to use the in-room tea or coffee facilities you have to ring reception to provide hot water as the kettles have been withdrawn. There can be a delay in this service.
We used room service for a late night snack which was promptly delivered and well presented.
There are 4 lifts (elevators)which are being replaced / refurbished and therefore the two that operational struggle to cope with peak-time capacity especially at weekend breakfast time.
The selection on offer for breakfast was varied and well presented and the waiting staff were attentive to our needs.
We had a meal in the 2nd floor dining area which did not match the 5 star rating of the hotel.
We were, overall, generally impressed and hope to return in the future

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameswithssue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments and ratings regarding your stay at our property.

The entire comment has been forwarded to the whole team with a particular reference to our Food and Beverage manager.

Once again, thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa.

Feel free to contact me directly by email (available on our official website) should have any further feedback.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    882
    340
    108
    57
See reviews for
445
1,198
134
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mosta, Malta
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Valentine's dinner was fantastic
Beutiful room with a breathtaking view especially at night
good food , good service,
quiet area but not far from night life spots.
I have to agree with some comments re half of the lifts not working, but on the other hand, I understand that if maintenance needs to be done it has to be during the low season.

great offer on the whole

JM

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team I thank you for the positive comments about your experience at our property.

As you accurately outlined we do have exceptional sea view rooms. Furthermore, our central location makes it easy for each guest to go around Malta and makes the most out of their trip.

All of us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Everything went well in fact it was magical :) Food was amazing, set up and decorations were absolutely fantastic. My dream wedding came true :) An intimate wedding which was professionally prepared, special thanks to you and the amazing staff involved during my special day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the whole team at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa, I congratulate you on your wedding.

I am delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations on your special day. The entire comment has been forwarded to the whole team with a particular reference to our Events and Banqueting departments.

Once again, thank you and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property.

Yours sincerely,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

i went to the hotel for me was a horrible experience to end up half of my stay Waiting for the lift ! everybody knows that during a day a tourist goes to breakfast goes to the gym goes to the spa goes to the pool goes to dinner , out etc if you count all these and spend 30 min waiting for the lift you will conclude in a damn waiting experience ! re staff is great , food ,tidy etc is one of d best . but staying in the 10th floor with a really slow lift and just 2 available .....

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I would like to personally apologize for the issues that you have encountered during your stay at our property.

With regards to the lifts, please note that Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa has a total of four lifts. Since we do take our guests’ comments seriously we took the decision of renovating our lifts with the latest technology available. I do want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that was caused because of this upgrade.

Should you have any further feedback, feel free to contact me directly via email (available on our official website)

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

After booking a weekend break for Valentine's Day, I was disgusted with the overall lack of caring with most of the staff. The Good: The restaurant was an amazing experience, the selection of food was astounding and the service of the restaurant is what kept me from storming out of the hotel even though I paid for 2 nights.
The bad: the lifts were not working! Which meant that we had to climb 11 stories up and down every time we needed to go out of the hotel or to talk to reception. The wifi, even though it was paid for it apon arrival, needed a 30 euro deposit to use which doesn't make sense as it's not something you can take home with you, which is the reason one would need to make a deposit. When I asked the can put the deposit on the room and save me 11 flights of stairs to put money down, they just said "no".
Going to the spa was no picnic either as when I asked them for a robe they told me that I have to bring them down from my room, which meant 11 flights again. After pleading my "stairs" case they said there was nothing they can do. After storming and finding no slippers with the robes I went back down (gotta love those 11 storeys) and asked for slippers and told me "that I need to get them from the room"... At this point I was furious and they finally gave me slippers. I'm still staying here at the moment for one more night just because they breakfast is really good. Over all... Just a shame that no one really cares!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloydhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with other fellow travelers.

First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of the whole team for not meeting your expectations.

With regards to the lifts, may I highlight that we are currently in the process of upgrading two out of the four lifts that we have onsite with the latest available technology in the hospitality industry. I do want to sincerely apologize that this has caused an inconvenience during your stay with us.

Regarding the internet, please accept my apology on behalf of the front office team for the miscommunication that you have encountered since a pre-authorization was required for the use of the internet in the room.

On other hand, I do want to show appreciation for the positive comments that you have provided us and other fellow travelers with regards to our Scirocco Restaurant, the quality of the food offered and our food & beverage service.

Once again I thank you for your review and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

In short: a disappointingly beautiful hotel let down by cold reception staff, erratic food service and a building site just next door.

We stayed over for one night after a Valentine's dinner. I opted for a room upgrade with wifi and seaview, and that turned out to be a mistake.

I could understand that actually getting to the room was challenging, because the lifts were being replaced an only two were in service. I could also live with the fact that there was no kettle in the room because they were being replaced due to safety reasons. But the cold, clinical manner in which we were processed on checking in was not really acceptable. I passed a comment about it, but I got absolutely no response.

The next morning it became obvious that our upgraded room was actually next door to a building site with the boom of a large crane literally meters away from the balcony and workmen below doing their thing. Unfortunately we could not use the balcony and enjoy the view, or even open the door because of the noise and dust.

Having breakfast at 9am also turned out to be an unfortunate choice, especially if you wanted cooked breakfast. For some reason anyone who wanted eggs had to wait while each guest got their serving cooked individually by one chef. Average waiting time was about 20-25 minutes. I am no expert at food and beverage management but it is pretty obvious that they got the logistics wrong on that one. A guest The waiting staff was friendly, but very obviously under pressure and lacking experience in some cases.

On checkout I told the receptionist that I wanted to complain about the unreasonable "room upgrade" and the poor service at breakfast, but the fellow was only interested in my credit card details. I had to repeat my complaint three times. In the end I asked him if he understood that I was making a formal complaint - at which point he called the duty manager.

At that point the damage was done and the duty manager could only apologise and promise that we would hear from them this week.

Room Tip: Beware of the construction site to the east of the hotel. Get a room as far away as possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I would like to personally apologize for the shortcomings that you have encountered during your stay with us.

I do hope that the follow up from our side with regards to the issues you felt necessary to outline was up to your satisfaction.

Should you have any further feedback, feel free to contact me directly via email which is available on our official website.

Kind regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingli, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a one day business meeting in the board room and also lunch.
All the facilities used were up to standard.
Also the food was very good although the the portion was small.

Service was excellent and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive feedback and ratings.

The comment has been forwarded to the entire team with particular reference to our Food and Beverage Manager.

Should you wish to provide me with further information, feel free to contact me directly by email (available on our official website).

Kind regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing