We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a good stay at this hotel - definitely worth signing up for Starwood membership before going as you get lots of benefits. Roof top pool was a nice area to relax in and entrance to executive lounge (via Starwood membership) meant we could enjoy complimentary drinks and canapés each evening before heading out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marmitemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    830
    322
    104
    57
See reviews for
416
1,122
125
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The service is fantastic here and the rooms have some amazing views of the city. The location is nice for an evening stroll and there are plenty of drinking holes, restaurants and local attractions within walking distance. The hotel taxis are very knowledgeable and I even booked one for a couple of hours to take me around the city. I was upgraded to a suite upon check in and was amazed at how much space I had when I opened the door to my room. It's like having my own apartment in Malta. The staff here are so friendly and the SPG Platinum Perks are exactly what I would expect from top SPG properties. I was greeted with a tray of sweets, a bottle of wine and several bottles of water. The executive lounge is small but offers some great outdoor seating which I took advantage of. The staff there were very friendly and attentive. There is a happy hour for SPG Platinum members with drinks and a small tray of selective snacks between 4PM and 7PM. The spa here also exceeded my expectations in terms of service offerings. I didn't take advantage of it but it offers some of the most diverse assortment of spa treatments that I have seen at an SPG property. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of choices but can be a bit chaotic in terms of trying to find items and navigating through large crowds of people during busier rush hours. The beds are a bit firm. I don't think they have the Sweet Sleepers or Westin Heavenly beds here but other than that, I would come back to this property in a heartbeat! This property truly embodies the SPG brand of service to the fullest.

Room Tip: Get a view facing the sea! Take the Maltaexpress bus to the property after landing. It's only 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iambigbrother2
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for m fiancée's birthday as a surprise. I got a great deal on Lastminute.com that only entitled me to a car park view (back of hotel) but they accommodated my request for a sea view which was so kind.

The rooms seemed a little dated but lovely shower and bath and a nice comfortable bed.

They had a great package for €25 which included Sparkling Wine and Petite Fours which was a lovely birthday surprise for my fiancée! I emailed in advance for this.

The airport bus drops outside the hotel (x2) which seems to be the cheapest way of getting here!

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as we thought it was quite expensive (€18) but if you book for 3 days it's €15 per day. It looked like a typical hotel breakfast buffet.

There is a great restaurant called U Bistrot at the front of the hotel, but it don't think it is connected to the hotel. It is highly recommended.

The staff are friendly and lovely, and the bar has a nice ambiance.

The indoor pool was lovely but the rooftop pool was too cold even in the 30*c heat. The bar up here has some lovely views of St Julian's Bay.

I really would return to this hotel, so lovely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iambigbrother2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
913 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

my partner and i returned to malta after visiting 30 years ago. decided on meridien for its location. hotel staff helpful and efficient. room very spacious clean , housekeeping staff do a wonderful job. spa and gym busy when using them , due to the dull weather on the 1st few days of our holidays, pool area very clean but when the sun does shine be there early for a bed. breakfast was good, well done anthony for staying calm when cooking for some very very rude guests, where do peoples manners go to when eating????? couldnt believe how many guests took food items out of restaraunt may be for lunch ???? i dont know. maybe they dont get out and away to often. waiting staff very attentive and friendly. and all foods replenished quickly, good variety and quality, but not all hot breakfast items as hot as they could be, you often find this tho with buffet style. there is a queueing system, well i think there was but as i said some very rude guests didnt feel the need to. close by to bars and restaurants. location great. due to late flight home the rate to keep the room on was 59euros till 6pm which was great and made our finale day very relaxing. would return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Le Meridien for 13 nights in room 735, great view of Balluta Bay, hotel room was lovely, spacious and very clean, air conditioner cooled the room really well, great hospitality all around. Where the hotel is situated is just right as you are not in the hustle and bustle of Paceville. Mario the concierge bend backwards to help us, a great asset to the hotel! I would rate this hotel 5 star no problem and I sure know a good hotel when I see one as I have been to a lot of hotels around the world! We will be back and so glad we stayed at yr hotel, keep up the good work, till we see you again in the near future!

Room Tip: Room 735 you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from staying at Le Meridien in St Juliens and would advise anyone staying there in the near future that if they are allocated room 414 they check that a new bed has been installed.
We arrived on the 8th October 2013, and the first night I did not sleep as every time I moved in the bed it creaked, squeaked and groaned. I reported this to reception and they said they would look into this. On our return from a day out we were informed by reception that we needed to be there to show their maintenance man the problem. When he arrived I showed him the problem and after investigation found that the base of the bed was broken.
Note the double beds are just 2 singles pushed together.
They had no spare rooms to move us to so a repair had to be made which consisted of a duvet and two boards which are normally used for people with back problems, I thought this was a temporary measure untuil a new bed or room could be provided but it remained like this for the week and no one at the hotel enquired whether I was sleeping alright.
The bedroom was very stark with very little storage for clothes. Just a wardrobe and 3 shelves in the wardrobe. No chest of draws.
Although the toilet was separate from the bathroom which is quite a good idea it had no hand basin so I hope housekeeping clean the handles each day!!!
I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the quality of the restaurant.
I did use the bar and the service was friendly but slow and the barman had no idea how to make a marguerite, it was so bad I had to send it back and the bar manager had to make it for me.
Public areas needed cleaning the table tops in the lounge by reception were dirty at 10.00 am in the morning.
Bedroom skirting was in poor condition.
Changing facilities in the Spa looked in need of complete refurbishment
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel.
The best thing about the hotel were the staff on the concierge desk who were friendly, helpful and informative.
Would I stay again, No.

Room Tip: Unless room 414 has new bed avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Noarlunga, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here four nights in a twin room! One of the best hotels I've stayed in, clean, comfortable and modern! We were on bed and breakfast which was delicious! Had a wide variety including custom made omlettes and fresh doughnuts!! Good location near plenty of restaurants to go to in the evening! Bus stop is really close to the hotel and we found it easy to get around the island (Blue Grotto, Valetta etc). Would def recommend this hotel and would stay again! ( I work in the travel industry so can't really comment if its good value but I would pay to go back here!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing