We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, but far from 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all let me say that the location of the hotel was excellent, and for that reason alone I would consider checking in. But if it it luxury you are looking for, this hotel was sadly lacking.

Front desk staff were helpful in allowing us to check in early as we had a very early morning flight and were tired from travelling and arranged for our luggage to be sent up. The room smelt of damp, which was particularly strong in the bathroom, perhaps due to a drainage problem, and also the view on the balcony was of a car park and crane! So we decided to go back to reception and ask about upgrading to a sea view room, which was a reasonable extra 20euros a night.

Staff were helpful in getting our luggage moved, and as the room was not yet ready allowed us to shower and freshen up in the original room given to us - which we thought was great service.

New room was lovely with magnificent views of Balluta Bay and the church, perfect as during our first two nights there we were able to watch a magnificent fireworks, as part of a local fiesta, from our balcony. The front desk member who showed us the room was great in telling us about the local area and advising us about when to go to certain places to avoid crowds. All seemed well.

Quiet location with great local bus links to every part of the island (use cheap, local Arriva buses who serve all the same places as the tourist bus but at a fraction of the cost). You can pick up the local bus tourist leaflet with all the routes at the information centre or at main bus stations eg in Valletta. I was surprised that the concierge failed to mention the local buses as a way of transport to us, only handing us a tourist bus leaflet or suggesting we hire a car.

So why three stars? For the 5 star claim, and price we paid, this certainly wasn't on par with other 5 star hotels. But it could so easily be if it didn't fall down on such basic, simple things you expect as standard of even a 3 star hotel!

Housekeeping wasn't great - the cups/mugs wouldn't always be replaced/washed, milk and tea bags not always replaced, the free bottle of mineral water left in rooms each day would be sporadic, one day it would be left the next forgotten (although when I did point this out on our last day, the service desk sent one up within 20 minutes), we saw the same large piece of dust in the middle of the floor for four days, so I have to assume it wasn't always hoovered/moped! Such basic things you would expect of a luxury hotel. 5 star touches such a card to tell you the next day's weather or even simply replacing bathroom products everyday are so easy, but unfortunately lacking.

Also one day we signed up to their 'make a greener choice' plea, which stated that to be greener we wouldn't mind if our linens or towels weren't changed the next day. But what we didn't realise is that this would mean no housekeeping at all! Someone came in to leave us water (hurrah! They remembered), but the bed was left unmade and the overflowing rubbish at the bin wasn't even removed. This would have taken all of two minutes! So in our opinion, it wasn't so much a greener choice, which would be about not running the washing machine every day for every room, but about having one less room to clean for the hotel! And for the poxy five euro discount it gives you at certain restaurants, or extra points, it really isn't worth it! Having a clean room is worth more than that! These are the things which prevent it from being a luxury hotel.

And the automatic fridges in rooms are just a bad idea! You get charged for even picking something up. One shelf at least should be left clear so you can at least refrigerate water in such hot weather.

And the lifts - which all hotel guests we met complained about - were so painfully slow and there just wasn't enough of them for a hotel of this size!! Give yourself ten minutes extra whenever you want to go anywhere especially during busy times like breakfast or lunchtimes as they would be so frightfully slow and packed!!!

The spa area was nice, but the changing rooms themselves awful! No products like you'd expect of a luxury hotel, unwelcoming looking showers, soaking wet floors which weren't regularly moped - this all let the spa area down! We preferred to go back to our room to shower after swimming! Much cleaner and nice! The pool on the top floor was nice, too, but small and it gets very busy so we preferred the indoor one on the third floor.

Another gripe was we were signed up to the SPG rewards club without asking to do so on check in (which we only found out when we asked to join!), and charged a UNICEF donation of a few euros without ever agreeing to it which we noticed upon check out. We paid the donation anyway as I really didn't want to cause a scene about a few euros, and the money was for charity, but it is the principle of the matter! You should have a choice!

When we enquired about booking dinner at a local restaurant one evening, the front desk member said we would have to wait until 8am the next day as the concierge finished at 8pm. We were going on an early morning trip so were leaving the hotel before 8! The staff member could easily have made a quick phone call to help us out- as you'd expect in a luxury hotel! In the end we used the wifi in the lobby to book it online ourselves.

I have to say though, one positive, was that I was sent a lovely birthday cake up to the room - which was very thoughtful. This is why i found the hotel so frustrating - good on so many levels such as the thoughtful cake, but unfortunately frustratingly lacking on basics (such as asking if we'd had a pleasant stay upon check out!). If we didn't have the magnificent sea view, I think we would've found it a lot more frustrating.

Room Tip: Sea view room will make all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very good hotel, contributing to a great impression for our first trip to Malta/St.Julian. Recommended.
- on a positive side: excellent sized room, great / efficient service, a particular positive feedback for Andre (DeCarlo) and Mario (Bugeja) - excellent manners, useful advises, an asset to your establishment.Also Packy from Spa, a good impression. Great Maltese evening and the "Happy hour" initiative.Good/tasty portions in the roof restaurant.
- minuses: slow lifts, main/huge issue. Read about this subject in the previous reviews, the replacement of the lifts will improve the overall impression of the hotel. Some things were not provided in the room (slippers,soap),over-used items (towel and bathrobe).The toilet push button,leaking.
- Side note: very much appreciated the botle of wine and little sweets, an extra reason for a return, for our future anniversaries.
Thank you & our regards,
Marian M.&L.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view well worth. Choose top floors better, if available/possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to hear that in general you found the services and product on offer up to your expectations and I can assure you that your comments in relation to the housekeeping points have been addressed with our rooms division department. In relation to the lift, we do recognize that a number of our guests find them slow. As you very well indicated after reading one of my previous responses on the subject the hotel will be replacing these lifts in the very near future. We most certainly take the constructive comments raised by our guests seriously and we will continue to invest in our product so as to enable us to offer the experiences our guests expect from us.

While thanking you once again for sharing your comments, we do look forward to having the possibility of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Celebrated our first wedding anniversary in style! Thanks to all the staff especially to Antonella from reservations on the excellent treatment and great customer services towards my wife and I. We definitely recommend this Hotel to those that would like to indulge themselves in such a luxurious hotel! well done keep it up!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petershoults007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

May I first of all congratulate you on your first wedding anniversary and thank you wholeheartedly for sharing your experiences from such a memorable occasion.

I am pleased that our hotel and our associates have been instrumental in providing you with the experience and the memory you wanted to have of such an important day.

Thank you once again for sharing this with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Le Meridien
Arrived on a Saturday in February and apart from short wait to check in all seemed ok. Room 728
We arranged through the hotel for a taxi to collect us from the airport for a fixed fee of 21 euro.
Our return trip to airport we used the public bus number X2 which comes every 30 minutes from just outside the hotel and is only 2.20 euros one way and takes about 1hr.

First night we struggled with numerous thing, bed sheets had several holes and tear in them, sensor was flashing on and off and red and green and another control was also flashing. Also the pillows were in a poor condition, they appeared to be very old and when you lay your head down on them you hit the mattress as there was no support, I ended up rolling up a towel to use as a pillow. Not what you’d expect from a 5 star hotel.

One thing you need to get used to when staying here is the church bells from the church across the road, they chime different tunes every 15 minutes, if you are a light sleeper go in winter when you can have the windows closed or choose another hotel.

We spoke with Reception 9am Sunday about the ripped bedding, flashing lights and pillows and were told they would be dealt with immediately. It was a little disappointing to find that when we returned at 4.30 nothing had been done and when we spoke to Reception again we were simply told “the message had been passed on”. Apart from a couple of extra old pillows added to our room not much else was done.
On the plus side the room was clean and spacious.
Bathroom had bath with shower and in next small room was a seperate toilet.

The hotel pool in the basement was nice, seemed clean and the pool was warm, not very big but nice to relax in, you can collect towels on arrival and use the steam room or sauna (when they were working). It also has a beauty salon and gym but we didn't use these.

We didn’t try the bar or restaurant so unable to comment. The staff seemed friendly enough, one evening when my partner arrived back from dinner he had a sore throat and asked for some hot water, lemon and honey which they rustled up for him so that was good of them.

The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk from a supermarket so if you need supplies its handy for that, it is also about 10 minute walk along the sidewalk next to the sea until you hit a few restaurants and a mc donalds, another 5-10 minute walk up a slight hill you will be in Paciville where if you look you will find bars open til late and things a little more lively.
If you head out the hotel in the other direction you head towards Silema, this is a fair walk but if you have time on your hands then strolling along the sidewalk next to the sea is a nice thing to do.

We did the open top tour bus whilst we were in Malta, we got 2 day pass for both buses and it included a boat trip and a trip on a small vintage bus, it seemed good way to see the island, we went in February so weather was reasonable and place wasn’t too busy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from church bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pleasant Hotel in lovely little bay with a fantastic view from the seaward facing rooms! Pool Bar on the roof very nice - food in the eveings was great. Resturant on 2nd floor buffet every night but a different themed menu which made a change. Good for breakfast too.
Bar on 3rd floor ok - big no atmosphere.
Desk staff were very helpful and the concierge was positively amazing - very knowledgable and very helpful but the rest of the service was patchy - fanstastic on one occasion and wait 40 minutes for a salad the next (while tables that arrived after you were served with more complex dishes which maybe indicates these were pre-prepared and the salad wasn't?)
Very good price though...
The Club was ok - small but comfy....

Room Tip: It has to be sea-facing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay overall at our hotel and that the choice of food was to your liking. I am also delighted to see that you took full advantage of our view from our sea-facing rooms.

In regards to your order, I do apologise for the inconvenience and I can assure you that your comments have been taken up with our Food and Beverage department.

I would like to thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you at Le Méridien St Julian’s again soon.

Yours Sincerely


Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fab location. Rooms are a really decent size, lovely robes, lots of towels and toiletries. We had a side room so a sea view once on the balcony. Air con works well but a bit noisy.
Main problem was no fridge in the room, if we wanted to use the TINY mini bar fridge it cost 5euro a day which is a total rip off. There was an ice machine at the end of the corridor but nowhere to get cold water. We had to constantly buy bottled water which I suppose is their aim but I expect to be able to get water from a machine or at the very least store bottles in my own room fridge! It feels a bit like being ripped off considering how much we paid for the room.
Beware we did buy a large orange juice from the bar once, it was 8 euros!! For an orange!
Rooftop pool was pretty small for the size of the hotel but the spa pool makes up for this.
Hotel bar is badly planned as none of the outdoor sofas or seats face outwards towards the beautiful sea views, they're blocked by plants and rails even if you do turn yourself around, bit of a waste considering the fab location.
All in all a good stay, nice service but it could be perfect with little extras considered. In USA hotels even budget ones you get water machines and iced water to help yourself to.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at Le Meridien St. Julians.

I am pleased to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the hotel's unique location. As regards to your comments regarding the Mini Bar, this service is provided by a third party, however the hotel has arrangements with the provider for an empty shelf to be available for our clients to place their items complimentary. The charge that you are referring to is intended for clients that would like the entire mini bar emptied out. As regards to the comment in relation to having machines for complimentary water, while we do appreciate that this may well be the custom in US properties, unfortunately it is not common practice throughout Europe. The hotel does on the other hand provide complimentary bottles of water daily to our guests.

While I would like to sincerely thank you for your contribution, I do hope to have the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel overlooks the beautiful Balluta Bay with its imposing church and row of old one storey houses. The location is perfect, walking distance from many restaurants, the major entertainment spots and shopping areas, while still in a very quiet location. One can also go for a long walk or early morning jog on the promenade. Alternatively, you can sit on the terrace or the lobby and just watch life go by while enjoying some good coffee and a delicious piece of cake.

The hotel is very modern and the amenities are great. The conference centre is very smart and has a good choice of small meeting rooms and larger spaces. The catering was also very good and we were offered several options. The spa feels like a piece of heaven with an endless list of treatments and is perfect to unwind after a stressful day, while the gym is compact but still sufficient to keep you in shape throughout your stay. They also offer a great variety of Les Mills classes available throughout the day. And finally, Mario, the concierge, deserves a special mention. He was always ready with a smile and went out of his way to help, always up to date with local events and great tips with respect to restaurants and entertainment spots.

Room Tip: A sea view room with terrace will permit you to enjoy the stunning views of the bay, especially at s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed both the product and the services that we offer. I am also pleased to hear that our associates have positively contributed towards this enjoyment.

While thanking you once again for your great contribution, we do look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,597 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: $120 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing